Synchrony Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Synchrony President & CEO Margaret M. Keane (no image)
Margaret M. Keane
506 Ratings
  1. "Not one of my favorite places to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Engineer in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home. Pay was competitive. Change freeze from mid Nov to Early Jan reduced workload slightly during the holiday season.

    Cons

    1. Synchrony IT is offshoring TOO MANY JOBS. 2. Way too many hours. Very common to work 40 hrs on dayshift and another 10-20 at night doing changes or change/troubleshooting support. Week after week. 3. I left after 1 year because I hated it so much. Culture not a fit. 4. No uniformity of strict change management between departments. Eg...Server team changed stuff on the fly with almost no oversight while Network teams had their changes reviewed scrupulously. Then when stuff broke Network team blamed when it was ALWAYS the server(or application) teams at the root of the problem. 5. If you are an independent thinker youre not going to like working at Synchrony. If you like being blamed for the problems of other teams, and then required to locate the sources of the problems they caused(of course ALWAYS without root access), under the gun when stuff is broken at 5AM and they start business at 6AM, you will love being a Network Engineer at Synchrony.

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2020-02-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture with great expectations along with solid compensation"

    5.0
     

    I have been working at Synchrony

    Pros

    Great Leadership Respectable compensation Challenging bonus Solid medical Free company car

    Cons

    Peers can be childish but that’s with any sales organization.

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2020-01-12
  3. "Customer Service Representative"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO, weekly pay, ability to change schedule

    Cons

    Pay, limited off phone time, management, inconsistent HR policies

    Synchrony2020-01-28
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible Business Practices"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Alpharetta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can't think of any. I was employed

    Cons

    Where does one begin. Asks for way too much and the compensation isn't sufficient for what is required. No flexibility. Like most,company extremely top heavy with senior management receiving mid to upper six figure salaries. Concerned more with ranking highest on great places to work rather than BEING a great place to work. Huge disconnect between management and employees who actually do the work. More concerned with "appearances" than realities. Moves entire departments from.site to sure with no regard as to how those changes will affect employees. Does not stick to promises made. Follow through horrible. All in all NOT a great place to work unless one is senior manager, ( CEO, VP, SVP,EVP). CEO dumped over 126k in stock collecting over $4 million all the while they were shutting down entire departments. These appears to be common practices with this company. Spends more $ on handing out tshirts and tumblers and handing out pizza as opposed to simply paying employees a living wage and bragging about how they're a $6 billion dollar company. Easy to be that when senior execs only people enjoying huge salaries. Was not a pleasant experience to work there at all.

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2020-01-22
  5. "Excellent benefits, good pay , lousy advancement structure"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    15.00 an hour plus shift diff, overtime opportunities , friendly/human upper management ,benefits are great ! If you can get it they have a small number of work at home reps

    Cons

    Repetative task is an understatement, same calls all day talking to people that lack basic math skills :: which would be fine;except they have a time based advancement structure in place before you can post out( roughly 6-9 months and after your hired-on what ever skills you bring from elsewhere no longer count towards your competancy), they have "volunteer" groups you are told you'll need to join so you can hobnob else you wont be promoted,unlike upper management;floor managers will speak to you like a child ( some exceptions). But!!!!! even still nicest call center environment I've seen, just flawed.

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2020-01-25
  6. "Customer service representative"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, ambience, executive support , best transport

    Cons

    No cons, the work, place is great , and great opportunity, for freshers

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2020-01-06
  7. "Great Place To Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent Culture and Values Great Business Leader in Andy Ponneri Great Work Life Balance Promotes Diversity Excellent in Corporate Social Responsibility Engagement Networks Multiple Job Enrichment Opportunities Great Benefits

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Synchrony2020-01-04
  8. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tactical Operation Senior Analyst in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good environment to work Good values at work Great engagements

    Cons

    No such cons, however I know it's always developing so things do get sort out

    Synchrony2020-01-04
  9. "Senior analyst"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great places to work from home feeling

    Cons

    To get the money to pay for the email

    Synchrony2019-12-27
  10. "Not a bad place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Fraud Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are amazing,Management isn’t bad as long as you are hitting the numbers

    Cons

    If you like call center jobs with stiff metrics then this may be a pro

    Synchrony2019-12-26
Found 782 reviews