Synchrony "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Synchrony Employee Reviews about "call center"

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Synchrony President & CEO Margaret M. Keane (no image)
Margaret M. Keane
495 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Mental health is a huge part of working in a call center(in 22 reviews)

  • "No cons so far except the timings for work and leaves methods(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call center"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to Work Indeed!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Frontline Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Everyone I've worked with has been willing to help you grow. Fun Activities on site for reps.

    Cons

    No cons! As you'd expect in any call center, you have to follow policy. If you do, you will enjoy opportunity.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for always having an open door!

    Synchrony2019-11-21
  2. Helpful (3)

    "You do not want to work here as a CSR (Customer Service Rep). If you work here, go for a management job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Please do not believe the commercials. The only people who may be happy working here are managers. Any positive reviews were written by management to make it look like working here is great. When the company employees receive the "Great Places To Work" email survey, management forces the employees to take the survey together as a group with the managers to ensure the answers are positive.

    Cons

    • If you are one minute late, you will not meet schedule adherence and will be marked negatively. • If you have to go into Personal Aux to go use the bathroom, because you’ve been holding your pee and it’s still an hour until your next break, you will not meet schedule adherence and will be marked negatively. • If you were about to log out to go to break, lunch or leave for the day and you get the beep... indicating a caller is on the line and the call gets complicated and runs over, you have to stay and assist no matter how long it takes and no matter how it may negatively impact your schedule adherence and/or your personal schedule. • If you have something come up unexpected, and you have personal business hours but your “unexpected occurrence” isn’t on Synchrony’s approved list of items, then you can’t use your Personal Business time. • If you have a family emergency and you’re on the floor/taking calls, your loved ones cannot get a hold of you. You’ll have to wait until your break, lunch and/or end of shift before you can speak with your family. No cell phones are allowed while you're at your desk taking calls. • All your calls are recorded and you're being graded based on software that is not 100% reliable. Workstation (the software/program) glitches, shuts down, freezes and overall does not always perform the way it’s supposed to and yet the call center associates metrics and jobs are dependent upon it. If something’s off with Workstation and it messes up the call center associate, the call center associate is in jeopardy vs. management looking further into Workstation and what may be wrong with it. • Management shares that a Customer Service Representative is not here to help customers but to get them off the phone as quickly as possible. We are not here to help but to do what we can to ensure they don’t call again. • Your call time is supposed to be 3 mins or less per call. Going through training doesn’t truly represent what will happen on the floor. It’s understood that you can’t train on every single item that may occur but being told that you’ll mainly be taking payments and waiving late fees is false. Most people call because something out of the norm is going on and they need help. So most calls are not simple which means your call time will typically be long. • Important updates that involve changes in processes are sent via email and then the Customer Service Representative is expected to read these communications and keep up to date while continuing to take calls and always be up to date on what’s changed. Sometimes the changes are a little complex and additional training would be beneficial. Sometimes there’s off phone training but most of the times there’s not. • Taking verbal abuse from customers and having to remain calm and being forced to read from a script or potentially face termination if you allow your feelings (that are rightly felt when someone is treating you like dirt) to get the best of the situation. • Customer Service Reps are expected to be IT experts but are not paid extra for it. Each client should have a Digital Tech team but they don't. Customer Service Reps are supposed to have low call times and yet when someone calls and needs someone to hold their hand as they try to register their card, or set up Auto Pay, or is having overall IT related issues with an App or with getting into their account…the Customer Service Representative is stuck on the call until the customer gets access. You cannot have low call times and help people with IT and online/eservice matters. • Dealing with Multi Client Schedule Bid process. Upon being hired, you don’t really get to pick a schedule that truly works for you; you have to select from what’s available. When you get that schedule, it is not permanent. During the Multi-Client Schedule Bid time, every person is ranked and depending on your rank order, you are scheduled to select from an entire new list of schedules (your current schedule may not be on the new schedule bid list) and by the time you get to select, what’s left may not work for you. If you have to make it work, you’ll have to rearrange your childcare, any scheduled doctor’s appointments, etc. If you can’t make it work, you have to resign and it’s a great way for them not to have to perform layoffs and potentially be on the line for any earned unemployment benefits.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There's a quote that reads, "Treat your employees the way you want them to treat your customers." Management needs to put this in practice as it relates to how they treat their Customer Service Representative employees. Customer Service Representatives are the face of the company and take all manner of abuse from customers every single day. Stop treating your Customer Service Representatives like little... children who can't be trusted. Start showing your Customer Service Representatives respect and treat them like trusted adults.

    Show More
    Synchrony2019-10-13
  3. "Overall good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Account Manager in Kettering, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are unbeatable. My healthcare deductible was $800 and even before it was met, my policy paid for most of my care. The pay is decent. They used to do monthly bonuses but that went away at the beginning of 2019. They averaged your 2018 bonuses and added that into your base pay. So instead of making $15.50, my pay bumped to $17.50/hr. Onsite gym, cafeteria, marketplace, break rooms, vending machines, etc. You... have to have a badge to get into the building so I felt safe while at work. Management is nice and approachable. Ample time off. So many committees to join. You can tell they actually care about your personal growth. Tuition reimbursement.

    Show More

    Cons

    It’s a call center, so the work is very dull and repetitive. You will deal with unhappy customers on a daily basis. As an account manager, part of my job was to take the escalated calls. This is more of my personal experience, but the sick time policy needs to be changed. You get paid for sick days, but there are certain “triggers” (hours) that you hit and that results in corrective action. I get sick a lot, so... I was put on corrective action quite a few times for it. I wish I could have the option to take unpaid sick time and not get in trouble for it. Synchrony has been rated a Great Place to Work for the past couple of years and it’s true, but that initiative is pushed on us too much. Around the time of year that we take the survey it’s all you hear about from management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to promote from within

    Synchrony2019-03-29
  4. "A great call center experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections Representative in Canton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits and retirement options. Great pay. Lots of PTO and other various time off availability and instant approval by system entry. Great work atmosphere and employee engagement. Multiple opportunities to advance or learn skills to advance your career within the company. Management is kind and listens to what you have to say.

    Cons

    The phones can be stressful at times dealing with negative people. Mental health is a huge part of working in a call center.

    Synchrony2019-02-22
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Above all else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Altamonte Springs, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you have any experience at all working in call centers, Synchrony is heads above anyplace out there. The list goes on from environment, benefits, pay scale, hours, time off, flexibility, activities at work, cafeteria on site, parking, security at night, training that goes above and beyond, break rooms with free beverages, great people to work with and management that works with you. Yes, there are metrics but... how else can a call center environment monitor your progress. As long as you are striving and doing your best, that's all they ask of you. I am not management and this opinion is strickly my own. Try a few of the other centers and come back to Synchrony.

    Show More

    Cons

    The information needed to succeed in the job is or can be pretty demanding depending on what contract you are working on but there is availability to move around to other contracts after time spent with the company. The other con goes along with working in a call center which is nights and weekends but again, the opportunity exists to change schedules, days off and weekends after having been employed with them... for a time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. I think most of management is trying very hard to help their teams and I personally think if you give respect, you get respect. Most of management is well-rounded, experienced, efficient and have worked up through the ranks so they know what the employee is dealing with.

    Synchrony2018-10-31
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Dont believe the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Inclusive with lots of events for employee engagement.

    Cons

    EXTREMELY LOW PAY! I'm not sure what all of these other reviewers are talking about, but 13.25 an hour is not decent pay. It is insulting pay for the amount of stress their customer engagement specialists (aka call center employees) have to deal with. They give "bonuses" sure, but they are only $25 for each metric, which can total about $200 max. That is laughable. I have been in call centers where the calls were... not even CLOSE to as stressful as these calls are and they bonused they employees out with over a thousand dollars a month (and yes it was a private company-non-collection call center). They ask for too much and offer too little in return. I cannot even enjoy the employee engagement activities because I think how all of the money they spend to look good could actually go to paying their people better. Also, dont even think about getting a promotion unless you are willing to jump through hoops or possible move your entire family across country.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay a living wage. I'm sure if we climbed the rung the CEO is making a proper salary with a hefty bonus. Your customer service people ARE your company. Recognize that and fix things.

    Synchrony2018-08-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Document control representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Document Control Specialist in Altamonte Springs, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company, work life balance, great benefits. Great management.

    Cons

    The new recovery building is nothing like the call center. Complete disregard for work need. The rule of thumb for the recovery management staff is, if you are salary, you don't have to work, dont.

    Advice to Management

    Know what your team does, so you can be relevant.

    Synchrony2018-03-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Escalation Desk Merchant Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Escalation Desk Merchant Services in Kettering, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Long term potential to eventually gain a living wage and good benefits.

    Cons

    It takes 10 years to make a living wage there. The Frontline management are equivalent to fast food managers. Upper management including up to the VP are employees that have been around for 20 years and have no other real experience in the workforce and work their way up to those positions whether they're competent or not. For the last 3 or 4 years 24/7 they are running recruitment ads on broadcast TV in Dayton... Ohio to stem the lost due to attrition. They hire it $12 an hour that's about half of what a living wage is. After 18 years I left a $26.40 an hour. That sounds pretty good but you have to go through 18 years of eating poop to get there. Like most companies HR is there only to protect the companies interest and management,... nothing else. It's a call center America's new Sweatshop what do you expect?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Good luck. You need it

    Synchrony2018-04-12
  9. "Would recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Representative in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Clients can get on your nerves working st a call center

    Advice to Management

    Don't micromanage employees to the point that it affects actual work from having to sit down and talk about things that don't really make a difference in performance stats

    Synchrony2018-01-29
  10. "Sr. Commercial Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, Training, and Employee Investing

    Cons

    Call center atmosphere, highly stressful, quick decision turn around, and regulations.

    Synchrony2018-01-29
Found 22 reviews