Sytner Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sytner Reviews

Updated 22 February 2019
144 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sytner Chief Executive Officer Darren Edwards
Darren Edwards
100 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "They really do push for colleagues to experience a good work life balance and working hours are very fair" (in 6 reviews)

  • "Really is the best company to work for" (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "I can’t think of any cons, it’s a great company" (in 6 reviews)

  • "No cons that I have experienced" (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "One Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GENERAL SALES MANAGER in Sheffield, England
    Current Employee - GENERAL SALES MANAGER in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sytner full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    One team ethos promoted right from the top! Fantastic!!

    Cons

    Internal DMS system could be more user friendly - Very minor 'issue'


  2. Helpful (1)

    "A proper company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MINI Sales in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Current Employee - MINI Sales in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sytner full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great training , genuine care for employees , opportunities, pay,conditions,colleague support , benefits .

    Cons

    It’s challenging but rewarding . Very few if any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing .

    Sytner Response

    13 Feb 2019 – Sytner HR Team

    Thank you for your review. We are continuously trying to improve the way we function and what we can do to keep our team happy. We try and do this by firstly putting colleagues at the heart of... More

  3. "Trying to be the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sytner full-time

    Pros

    Paid well, good prospects for development & good perks

    Cons

    Can seem like you're just a number

    Advice to Management

    Invest time in all of the team


  4. "Great first months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sytner full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I started a few months ago and am really enjoying working at Sytner. The company is fast-paced, but rewarding.
    They deserve the high accolades they've received.

    Cons

    No cons that I have experienced

    Sytner Response

    13 Feb 2019 – Sytner HR Team

    Thank you for taking time to leave this review. It is part of our commitments to ‘work together’ and as a company, we are proud of all of our colleagues, who work together to make each day a success.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing start to the company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sytner full-time

    Pros

    I've recently joined Sytner Group having very little experience in the industry and from the first phone call I received after I applied for the role, my experience has been extremely positive. The interview process was great and I was made to feel part of the team even though I hadn't got the job! My first day I was greeted with a bottle of champagne and lunch. I've attended a few days in head office for training and a great insight into the business and what is really good to see is so many people promoted from within - even the directors started off at the bottom of the ladder and have grown within.

    Cons

    None so far and long may that continue

    Advice to Management

    Always keep looking for marginal gains against external industries

    Sytner Response

    22 Jan 2019 – Sytner HR Team

    Hi, thank you for your positive feedback! I am very glad to read that you find the company ‘always tries to promote from within’. This ties in with how we have made it a recent focal point in our... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sytner full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    All staff are very friendly and approachable which makes coming to work a pleasure. They really do push for colleagues to experience a good work life balance and working hours are very fair. The One Team ethos really shows through as colleagues are always put first and changes are put in place to make your working life easier where possible. I've received constant support from other colleagues and management since starting with Sytner and look forward to my future with the company!

    Cons

    None that I can think of so far

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    Sytner Response

    22 Jan 2019 – Sytner HR Team

    We are continuously trying to improve the way we function and what we can do to keep our team happy. We try and do this by firstly putting colleagues at the heart of anything and everything we do, as... More


  7. "Really is the best company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Birmingham, England
    Current Employee - Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sytner full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I started as a trainee, knowing absolutely nothing about the industry, within 6 years I'm a departmental manager thanks to the training and help from the people around me. The leaders of the company really do take into consideration the welfare of colleagues and have a forward thinking mentality to maintain our position at the forefront of the motor industry.

    Cons

    every job has cons, some days can be challenging with customers/targets etc. but that's the working world and some people are quick to jump ship when the pressure is on as opposed to learning how to overcome challenges

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!!

    Sytner Response

    15 Jan 2019 – Sytner HR Team

    We strongly value our colleagues, so the fact that you have been with the company for 6+ years and don’t regard any other automotive company as highly as Sytner, is testament to that. I hope we can... More

  8. "Best Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Divisional Manager in Wakefield, England
    Current Employee - Divisional Manager in Wakefield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sytner full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    They offer the best training in the industry.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Sytner Response

    22 Jan 2019 – Sytner HR Team

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review!


  9. "The only vehicle franchise to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Nottingham, England
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sytner full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I have worked for other vehicle franchises with serious problems within their business and lack of customer respect.

    Cons

    Long hours, weekend work and a competitive trade. Worth the time and effort if you have what it takes.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t lose sight of the end goal which is delighting customers. Cutbacks, shortcuts and cheap wins will only make us like the rest.


  10. "Best Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sheffield, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sytner full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great company to work for, the best company I have worked for within the motor trade without a doubt.

    Cons

    No downside to working here.

    Sytner Response

    15 Jan 2019 – Sytner HR Team

    Thank you for your feedback, I am very glad to read that you regard Sytner as 'the best company to have worked for within the motor trade'.