T J Morris Retail Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

T J Morris Retail Assistant Reviews

Updated 5 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
14%
Recommend to a Friend
14%
Approve of CEO
T J Morris CEO Tom Morris
Tom Morris
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Retail Store Assistant 

      I have been working at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Staff and Managers were great and really helpful. I was allowed to choose how many hours I wanted to work.

      Cons

      Some days could be repetitive.

      T J Morris2019-06-05
    • "okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Retail Store Assistant in Loughborough, England

        I have been working at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Can be good depending on mangers

        Cons

        Never leave on time, normal to do hours of overtime

        Advice to Management

        Employ more staff

        T J Morris2019-05-16
      • Helpful (2)

        "I'm still in therapy"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Truro, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Some of my coworkers were good.

        Cons

        Some of my coworkers were not so good. Also the job was insanely stressful, the managers never listened, and the pay was terrible.

        T J Morris2019-03-05
      • Helpful (2)

        "bad job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Merry Hill, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at T J Morris part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        floor staff are nice and hardworking

        Cons

        management are too busy gossiping to assist

        Advice to Management

        give staff more help

        T J Morris2018-03-30
      • Helpful (1)

        "Home Bargains"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Hull, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at T J Morris for more than 8 years

        Pros

        I enjoyed the work and getting to learn new skills. I also enjoyed meeting new customers and helping them to find products they needed

        Cons

        The shop could get really busy sometimes and I would sometimes feel over- whelmed. Management could have got more involved in the work process.

        Advice to Management

        Get more involved in the process of day to day running of the store. That would be a great help when it was busy.

        T J Morris2017-04-04
      • "Retail Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Bedford, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at T J Morris part-time

        Pros

        Get up to date with Stocktake. Why can't the company use handheld machines to scan and count the stock?????? This will save a lot of time. The current method is very Old Fashion and time consuming!!!!!!! And boring!!!!!!

        Cons

        Some managers and Area Managers have no people Skill. Respect in the work place is important. When the shop is open to customers, managers need to learn how to speak to staff in front of customers!!!!!!!!

        Advice to Management

        Gain people Skills and have a Heart!!!!!

        T J Morris2017-04-10
      • "Absolute awful place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Waltham Abbey, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at T J Morris for less than a year

        Pros

        10% discount, plenty of uniform , that is all I can actually think of. Nothing else comes to mind so I will leave it there!

        Cons

        Long hours and no breaks, treated poorly by management, wages not always right felt isolated.

        Advice to Management

        Treat people like people and not like robots!

        T J Morris2016-10-15
      • Helpful (9)

        "BAD Company to work for . . . ."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Bishop Auckland, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great work colleagues . . . without them, I would never have lasted the 8 month I worked there!

        Cons

        Oh Dear . . . The list is endless! Where do I start? You get treated like something the cat dragged in . . . spoke to like something you just trod in . . . not to mention getting told off for talking whilst you work! Basically, if you want to be treated like you're still in primary school . . . then this is definitely the place for you! Rotas being constantly changed without letting you know . . . hey if you want a...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        You know . . . a little advice that the management could actually take on board . . . . . DO NOT TELL EMPLOYEES TO DO MENIAL TASKS THAT YOU ARE NOT PREPARED TO DO YOURSELF! The amount of times the management stroll around or as I say "they just mince about with a clipboard and pen" They never get stuck in when the delivery comes in, this is the only company I have ever worked for where the management do not get stuck...

        Show More
        T J Morris2014-12-29
      • Helpful (5)

        "What is it like to work at Home Bargains?"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Possibly the worst place to work unless it's a first job, you're a student or you need a bit of pocket money. In this case, you'll be able to put up with the crap that management give you. Apart from, the management, it is a good place to work.

        Cons

        Unfortunately however , there are a lot of managers in this place. My store, (one of the smallest in the company) had around TEN supervisors. Hours are crap. Most you'll get is around 20-24. This is nowhere near enough to pay the bills or maintain a reasonable living standard. However, they would be happy to employ 40 odd staff p/t. Just shows they don't care. Why not employ fewer staff oN F/t to allow them to have a...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Some store management are good, others bad. They need to stop treating staff like crap, give a bit of breathing space.

        T J Morris2014-08-30
      Found 9 reviews