T J Morris Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

T J Morris Reviews

Updated 18 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 252 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
T J Morris CEO Tom Morris
Tom Morris
108 Ratings
Pros
  • "10% Discount on products, day would pass quickly(in 28 reviews)

  • "Fellow 'store assistant' colleagues are fantastic, flexible working hours, nice crowd of customers, fool-proof job roles(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Working in the Exmouth Store the people in there get promoted if you get in with the area manager(in 14 reviews)

  • "Bad attitude towards members of staff(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 

    I worked at T J Morris full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great staff and management

    Cons

    Lots of late nights and weekends

    T J Morris2019-06-26
  2. "Okay as a part time first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at T J Morris part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working in a big team, rota handed out early, flexible hours, exposed to customers constantly so good retail practice.

    Cons

    Stuck on tills, Not a lot of responsibility with tasks in the shop, limited training.

    T J Morris2019-08-18
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at T J Morris part-time

    Pros

    Very good for working to the hours you want to work to and room to step up to management

    Cons

    Just very repetitive at times

    T J Morris2019-07-31
  4. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff positive work force

    Cons

    Long hours / early hours mornings

    T J Morris2019-07-30
  5. "Decent for a first job but don't expect much from it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at T J Morris part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    short shifts ideal for students 10% discount

    Cons

    Low pay - have to be 25 to get minimum wage! Incompetent management who think they are superior to staff, they belittle you and treat you like you're stupid Too many managers in a store (at least 7) so there is a lack of communication between them Discount only available in the store you work in Shifts not given more than two weeks in advance

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff with respect, retail is hard enough without bullying

    T J Morris2019-08-09
  6. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - interview process fairly easy - good communication between the staff - pay is okay

    Cons

    - not very organised

    T J Morris2019-07-20
  7. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at T J Morris part-time

    Pros

    -Laid Back -Good Wage and Weekly Pay

    Cons

    -No Extra Pay for Christmas etc -Bad Environment -Bad Management Team

    T J Morris2019-07-26
  8. "Crap money, horrible management, unsympathetic to students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Assistant in Whitstable, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people who I worked with

    Cons

    I got £5.22 an hour, pretty crap to be honest as I was only offered four hours a week and the overtime i was offered was at the same rate, there was no overtime rate for weekends which was the only time i could work as a student. All of the managers in the store I worked in were family, so the only way you could progress and get into management is if you were part of the family.

    Advice to Management

    Dont allow a whole family to be the managers of one store, give an overtime rate for weekends not just week days. Only got holiday after working there for over 6 months.

    T J Morris2019-07-26
  9. "More Bad than Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 

    I worked at T J Morris full-time

    Pros

    The Staff are Brilliant,

    Cons

    45 hr a week Contract but be under no illusion thats the minimum you will work. Some weeks your not even getting minimum wage if you work out your salary per hour.

    T J Morris2019-07-24
  10. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at T J Morris part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meet friendly people Make new friends

    Cons

    Poor pay Hours can be strange and not very well suited

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to what goes on

    T J Morris2019-07-08
Found 252 reviews