T J Morris Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

T J Morris Reviews

Updated 8 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 245 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
T J Morris CEO Tom Morris
Tom Morris
105 Ratings
  1. "A good first time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at T J Morris part-time

    Pros

    You make many friends within this job, makes you look forward to working there.

    Cons

    Sometimes you have to stay back an extra 10-15 mins to tidy up.

    T J Morris2019-02-20
  2. "Lead sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Sales Manager in Blaydon-on-Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at T J Morris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for with Friendly staff and management. We pride our self on team work and working together

    Cons

    They are no downsides that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Need to understand staffs personal problems

    T J Morris2019-02-17
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at T J Morris part-time

      Pros

      Not a hard job to do, you get a 10% discount which is pretty decent and it’s easy to learn how to do different things

      Cons

      Management can be condescending, they don’t take into account you have other things to plan and rotas are often late

      Advice to Management

      Don’t be condescending to your younger staff as during holidays you rely on them a lot, the reason the staff turnover is so high is because employees don’t get treated right

      T J Morris2019-03-01
    • "Sales assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at T J Morris part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Friendly staff and management, easy to work to a higher level if you put the work in, extra hours always available and good pay

      Cons

      Can be draining if working fill shift alot

      T J Morris2019-02-14
    • Helpful (2)

      "Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at T J Morris part-time

      Pros

      A very easy job to start of with.

      Cons

      Management didn’t have a clue on what they was doing. No router, uniform and didn’t take bank details. Made under 18s do 11hr shifts.

      T J Morris2019-02-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Derby, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at T J Morris full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      10% discount Yearly Christmas party which is 100% paid for Chance to become a ‘Wow badge’ holder and you can enter competitions to win festival and football tickets etc. Gives you valuable skills like experience in merchandising stock and cash handling Sizeable bonuses for senior management when targets are achieved Good progression opportunities into management or travelling the country as part of the merchandising...

      Show More

      Cons

      Not all procedures and policies are fairly followed throughout the company, a minor but good example, in your staff handbook employees are not allowed to wear black skinny jeans, but at their main stores in Liverpool the majority of the staff are wearing them, I really don’t see what the big deal is about black skinnies at work but I’ve had my boss having a moan because I’ve not sent staff home for wearing them No set...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      My main ask to the CEO would be to increase staffs contracted hours as they are being unfairly penalised when taking holidays, it would be less of an issue getting staff to stay extra hours too if they were contracted to work the hours Pay better wages to staff to attract better workers Rotas need to be computerised to take pressure off management HR need to take complaints about bullying more seriously as I have witnessed...

      Show More
      T J Morris2019-02-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "Unorganised"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Craigavon, Northern Ireland
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Decent Pay Friendly Colleagues Overtime hours available

      Cons

      Gave you overtime without wanting (not good for a student)

      T J Morris2019-02-18
    • Helpful (2)

      "I'm still in therapy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Truro, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Some of my coworkers were good.

      Cons

      Some of my coworkers were not so good. Also the job was insanely stressful, the managers never listened, and the pay was terrible.

      T J Morris2019-03-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Okay (fill shift)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Fill Shift 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at T J Morris part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Colleagues are mostly friendly Some shifts are laid back depending on who's leafing them. Set shifts Physically active.

      Cons

      Only 20 hours a week Lack of appreciation Favouritism Lack of understanding of physical and mental health Lack of respect for younger staff Time targets are sometimes unreasonable.

      Advice to Management

      Pay attention to who actually works hard. Rate performance based on effort, NOT time taken Have respect for all staff, even the young ones 20 hours is not enough moneu

      T J Morris2019-01-26
    • "Lead Sales Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at T J Morris part-time

      Pros

      - More Responsibility - Higher pay - Bonus based on Sales

      Cons

      - Unsociable hours - Bonus' not always achieved/ not large sum either. - Sometimes walked over by senior management.

      T J Morris2019-01-24
    Found 245 reviews