T J Morris Shop Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

T J Morris Shop Assistant Reviews

Updated 4 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

1.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
T J Morris CEO Tom Morris
Tom Morris
4 Ratings
  1. "Shop floor Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in Denbigh, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at T J Morris full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Professional, Hard Working, Friendly, Reliable.

    Cons

    There wasn't any cons about the company.

    T J Morris2017-10-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at T J Morris part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly Some nice people Flexible hours around education which worked well for 3 years while I was in college and first year in uni. Overtime is given whether you want it or not

    Cons

    To many managers, one tells you to do something and then the other tells you not to. Favouritism is vast due to management not liking certain people and employing and promoting family that don’t do their job One the rudest people I have ever met is a manager who like to involve herself in the personal lives of staff People constantly leave after spending time being trained due to the treatment by staff if they decide...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop ignoring the issues that are created by your own family and react accordingly as you would with other members of staff

    T J Morris2019-04-04
  3. "Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Assistant in Portishead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at T J Morris part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly team to be part of

    Cons

    The managers need to talk to staff more

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff

    T J Morris2017-09-30
  4. "decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Floor Assistant in Bilston, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at T J Morris for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere to work most days. 10% staff discount Store manager was great and would be a great store if it weren't for certain individuals. early starts and early finishes, most days

    Cons

    STOCKTAKE!! if you're working the morning shift you're in for a long day, around 9pm finish!!! Certain individuals that are there simply don't want to work and bring the workplace down. Certain members of management are useless, they favoured their friends and gave other members of staff A LOT more responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    stop employing family members and friends.

    T J Morris2017-08-13
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Don't work for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in Ellesmere Port, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at T J Morris part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not many , four hour shifts and friendly customers

    Cons

    Awful company to work for, they don't give you enough hours ,if you take a second job,they won't allow you flexible hours ,management speak to staff like crap

    Advice to Management

    Give your workers respect, it's your workers who make your company, I don't miss working four hour shifts on aisle one in the winter, nor late stock take when you have to make your own way home after 11oclock at night when the trains have stopped running

    T J Morris2017-07-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "shop assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in Hamilton, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at T J Morris part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    you will occasionally meet lovely customers who will make your day

    Cons

    Minimum wage, easily replaced and 15 min pay taken off your wage if you clock in even a minute late regardless of the reason.

    Advice to Management

    Value your staff.

    T J Morris2017-07-03
  7. Helpful (8)

    "I would not recommend working at Home Bargains to anyone, not unless you are completely desperate and have steel skin."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in Barry, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at T J Morris full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get paid every Friday - even though you're not paid the right amount sometimes. Pigeons got into the warehouse and brightened up my day as it was something fun to deal with. Nothing funnier than managers chasing round a pigeon!

    Cons

    Basically everything. I worked 48 hours in my first week as a 17 year old, but they only recorded me doing 38. This for starters is illegal. My contracted hours are 20, yet I wasn't paid overtime. Again, its illegal. Very negative atmosphere in the workplace, everybody there was grumpy and it drags you down. Morning shifts are supposed to be 4 hours long starting at 8am, but you never know what time you're going to finish...

    Show More
    T J Morris2016-06-14
Found 7 reviews