T J Morris Store Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

T J Morris Assistant Store Reviews

Updated 5 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
T J Morris CEO Tom Morris
Tom Morris
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Retail Store Assistant 

      I have been working at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Staff and Managers were great and really helpful. I was allowed to choose how many hours I wanted to work.

      Cons

      Some days could be repetitive.

      T J Morris2019-06-05
    • "okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Retail Store Assistant in Loughborough, England

        I have been working at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Can be good depending on mangers

        Cons

        Never leave on time, normal to do hours of overtime

        Advice to Management

        Employ more staff

        T J Morris2019-05-16
      • "Great Welcoming Place to Work!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Store Assistant in Aigburth, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great team in the store Really friendly managers Great training, everyone is willing to help you out Give you lots of time to get to grips with the till before you move on to the shelves

        Cons

        Low wage, but that is expected of retail Very boring job! Especially when you start and you can't leave the tills even when it's quiet

        Advice to Management

        Just keep doing what you're doing!

        T J Morris2018-12-01
      • "Hard-working low pay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Assistant Store in Aberystwyth, Wales
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at T J Morris part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good company Funny Good management Satisfying at times Shifts go quick Easy to have people cover your shift

        Cons

        Low pay Hard working Can be busy All stock must be worked Difficult sometimes

        Advice to Management

        Rise pay or work employees less hard

        T J Morris2018-11-30
      • Helpful (2)

        "Not good pay Especially for youngers"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Store Assistant in Bristol, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Can’t really think of any , I work with good people that’s it, managers are easy to talk to

        Cons

        bad pay , although I’m 16 I understand I won’t get payed as good as other but 5.22 is too low especially for the work you just do , you always have to be working , sometimes cannot get a break because of staff , made to do too much for pay, managers won’t do anything but watch you work , and complain if it’s not done rather than actually trying to help , long hours, have to stay extra time after , you never know how many...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        start helping out the store assistants as we do a lot already

        T J Morris2018-12-21
      • "Some of it was ok, most of it was rubbish"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Assistant Store 
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Gets you some really good confidence and experience in the retail area

        Cons

        4 weeks of work and I haven't been paid. Expected to do stock-taking on the last Sunday of every month; I requested to have this off and the manager said that it is "obligatory" and that it is "inscribed in the contract" however, that's a complete lie. Some of the staff were quite moody, but luckily I had some really nice colleagues. The cleaner thought that she owned the place.

        Advice to Management

        Pay people.

        T J Morris2018-10-05
      • Helpful (1)

        "decent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Store Assistant 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at T J Morris part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        paid weekly colleagues are nice

        Cons

        lots of shoplifters tills are very outdated

        T J Morris2018-08-09
      • Helpful (2)

        "DO NOT WORK HERE!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Store Assistant in Dundee, Scotland
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at T J Morris full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Fellow store assistant colleagues were like a family and we all got along very well.

        Cons

        -Pay drops up and down every week somehow?! (pay is every Friday) - Management/Supervisors are disrespectful and speak horribly towards young employees! -i had to attend an emergency hospital appointment and they tore my permanent contract and dismissed me and told me i was not fit for work, it was an emergency opp. on my mouth?! -I DO NOT recommend any young person from ages 17-21 working here. All we got was...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Respect your staff, disgusting and appalling!

        T J Morris2018-06-01
      • Helpful (1)

        "Unprofessional managers"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Store Assistant in Blackpool, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at T J Morris for less than a year

        Pros

        Pay above minimum wage 5.06 for under 18s 10% discount but only in your store Weekly pay

        Cons

        Low hour contracts (4,8) 40 year old manager trying to sleep with 16 year old employee Given below contracted hours with nothing done or said about it Managers expect employees to do their jobs so they can stand around on their phones

        Advice to Management

        Management start needing to do their jobs properly

        T J Morris2018-04-03
      • Helpful (1)

        "Home Bargains Store Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Part Time Store Assistant in Merry Hill, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at T J Morris part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Good working colleagues generally a nice place to work unless they have had a bad visit from head office.

        Cons

        20-hour contract even though you normally work 35-hours + so when you take any holiday it feels like you are being punished due to only receiving 20-hrs a week pay. Management tends to be bone idle and often pull you from your work to complete theirs. Can also feel a bit clicky

        Advice to Management

        Stop looking at your mobile phones and start being my proactive instead of reactive look like at least your working.

        T J Morris2018-01-30
      Found 24 reviews