T J Morris Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

T J Morris Store Manager Reviews

Updated 27 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
T J Morris CEO Tom Morris
Tom Morris
7 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Llandudno, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at T J Morris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company I work for

    Cons

    No cons in the company

    Advice to Management

    Keep going

    T J Morris2019-03-29
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at T J Morris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay staff and bonus scheme

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Work hard be rewarded

    T J Morris2019-06-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Training is non existent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at T J Morris full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can’t think of any

    Cons

    Poor training. Inexperienced team below you also need traininf

    Advice to Management

    Train as per your own training guidelines, area managers need to visit stores more frequently and not just those of their pals. Training consists of a 2 hour induction and then it’s basically trial by error.

    T J Morris2019-06-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at T J Morris full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No reasons to work for tjmorris

    Cons

    Where do i start

    Advice to Management

    Stop the bullying and disrespectful tones

    T J Morris2018-09-27
  5. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at T J Morris full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Growing compawith excellent standards, treatment of staff and management are of the highest quality

    Cons

    None to speak of

    Advice to Management

    Be ready to work harfy

    T J Morris2018-01-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager for 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at T J Morris for more than a year

    Pros

    Initial training Good, well organised.

    Cons

    Ongoing training poor, expectations unrealistic.

    Advice to Management

    Be a bit more decisive in making decisions, too much disconnection on what really happens in stores

    T J Morris2017-08-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Awful left old job and went through a 3 week training program only not to be offered the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at T J Morris full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having a job that's it can't say much more than that , if I could think of more reason I would but really can't

    Cons

    If u don't pass your training you won't be offered the role u applied for so you could be jobless so be careful as everyone has different learning and teaching styles but you are only gonna get taught one way.

    Advice to Management

    Allow your managers to recruit their team, trust your manager and don't get to involved in running manager stores as they are manager for a reason and if they were not good enough then they wouldn't be manager.

    T J Morris2017-06-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at T J Morris full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Promotion path. - They are constantly promoting from within. Family fun days - Family events where everything is free. Bonuses - If you hit bonuses the pay is good. Stability - Very successful company, no redundancies.

    Cons

    Base pay - If bonuses not hit, salary is below average. Inconsistencies - Different Area Managers have different goals and standards. People - The company has great plans and objectives, often made difficult by people not doing their job.

    Advice to Management

    Understand what your Area Manager wants from you quickly. A positive attitude, both to people above and below you will help you.

    T J Morris2017-03-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Cirencester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at T J Morris full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The running of the Store and the tasks involved in doing so are pretty easy, which should make the day-to-day straight forward, but the poor organisation within the Store I was working at did make this the case.

    Cons

    You are expected, as a Store Manager to work until 9pm 3 nights a week, and as a new manager to the business, get treated poorly. There is no induction plan, just a 'you'll be sent to liverpool for 3 weeks in a few months', and the Area Management support is non-existent. Joining Home Bargains was the worst decision of my working life.

    Advice to Management

    Bargains is spelt as I have typed it, not 'bargin'.

    T J Morris2017-02-09
  10. "Atrocious and lackadaisical management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at T J Morris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There really is very little to recommend working for T J Morris, the unpaid expected overtime for managers borders on breach of the European working time directive for one so work life balance is terrible. The pay doesn't make up for it though.

    Cons

    None, salary was not good. Bonus targets constantly changed meaning you would always achieve every other target. Senior and Very Senior management live in an echo chamber, will be surprised if this company is around in two decades. Also has unethical and worse, hiring and firing procedure.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to your staff, stop immoral business practices Don't hire yes men, and only listen to them. Modernize or die out.

    T J Morris2017-01-10
Found 11 reviews