TELUS Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TELUS Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2709 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
TELUS CEO Jeff Puritt
Jeff Puritt
409 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TELUS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has a good multicultural work environment, they offer good salaries and flexible hours and they also gave nice opportunities to growth internally.

    Cons

    The company is fine but the country (Bulgaria) that I worked was not very good, the people is not very friendly, they does not speak english and there is not many things to do.

    TELUS2017-01-31
  2. "Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at TELUS

      Pros

      Good exposure to full sales cycle, opportunity to move up in company.

      Cons

      100% ommission means sometimes you have very low paychecks. Hard to be a high roller all the time.

      Advice to Management

      Lower commission amounts and introduce a basic salary to counter this

      TELUS2017-06-26
    • "Great environment to gain diverse experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at TELUS full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Marketing and product management teams are generally very empowering and enthusiastic. Company is big enough to gain experience in diverse areas / departments.

      Cons

      Decisions can sometimes seem quite conservative, but that is not uncommon among telcos.

      Advice to Management

      Please keep having the regular career development conversations - they are highly valuable.

      TELUS2016-03-21
    • "Supportive but financially frustrating"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Vancouver, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at TELUS full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Plenty of opportunity, and lots of support in moving jobs/teams within the organization

      Cons

      Compensation discussions are the most frustrating, it's not clear regardless of how many times it's discussed.

      TELUS2019-07-16
    • "Good place to work at, but it is a large company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Technology Architect in Vancouver, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at TELUS full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Decent pay (around average for industry) and good benefits. As a large company, there are many opportunities for moves internally, if you are not happy with your job or manager. Depending on your position, there is quite a bit of flexibility in work/life balance, but most people being salaried there's always some pressure to just get things done. Like most large companies, there are large-scale re-orgs every few years,...

      Show More

      Cons

      Performance bonuses, and the entire "performance management" system is needlessly complicated, and makes it basically impossible to get small, semi-regular pay increases to cover cost of living escalations, as it is against current long-standing management policy of "small raises are not appreciated", a BS excuse if there ever was one. Like most large companies, your work experience will vary greatly depending on who...

      Show More
      TELUS2019-07-12
    • "THE BEST COMPANY TO WORK FOR!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - P&C Business Partner in Vancouver, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at TELUS full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      BENEFITS, PAY, CAREER ADVANCEMENT, CEO, leadership

      Cons

      great company, no CONS! THE BEST COMPANY TO WORK FOR.

      Advice to Management

      Continue doing what you are doing. LOVE TELUS!!! Nothing like it outhere.

      TELUS2019-07-11
    • "awesome"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineer in Vancouver, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at TELUS full-time

      Pros

      awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome

      Cons

      no cons that i can think of

      TELUS2019-07-12
    • "Telus"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Design Technician in Burnaby, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at TELUS full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Good Company to work for.

      Cons

      There are too many metric hoops to jump through!

      TELUS2019-07-11
    • Helpful (2)

      "Excellent company although work/life balance can be a problem in some roles"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at TELUS full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      TELUS is a world-class organization. Employee engagement surveys are run twice a year and leaders listen and action results. TELUS is a leader in community activity - each year, employees go in teams to community organizations to volunteer on a work day. The culture and team members are the best you will find anywhere.

      Cons

      As the wireless industry matures, growing EBITDA is increasingly difficult, and more and more pressure is being put on people to do more with less. Top performers are asked to deliver on crushing workloads - when I speak to peers in other parts of the organization I repeatedly hear stories of stress leave and sick leave. I really love the company but I am looking to leave as the stress is making me sick.

      Advice to Management

      As the industry matures, we need to evolve our approach - I agree as margins get thinner we need to tighten up on staffing, but we also need to get tighter on our priorities and be selective on what scope we choose to focus on.

      TELUS2019-07-05
    • "TELUS Digital fun place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Business Analyst II in Vancouver, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at TELUS full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Although you could work from home a few days here and there, the culture in the Digital department is very much collaborative and calls for folks to come in to the office. It’s very social and fun compared to other departments. Great health benefits and employee discount on home and mobility services. Lots of opportunity to grow also going to other parts of the company.

      Cons

      Really wish we had more than 3 weeks of vacation (I’ve been with the company for 8 years now!). Most other companies offers at least 4 at that point.

      TELUS2019-07-11
    Found 2709 reviews