TIAA Senior Director Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
54%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
TIAA President & CEO Roger Ferguson
Roger Ferguson
17 Ratings
  1. "Culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TIAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best part is the was the opportunity to learn and rotate areas.

    Cons

    Slow to change and improve. Plans are rolled out piece-meal instead of when they are ready.

    Continue reading
    TIAA2020-01-20
  2. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TIAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, work life balance, compensation

    Cons

    Red tape, slow to change

    TIAA2019-12-05
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Lack of leadership"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director, Product Management in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TIAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most people are knowledgeable, hardworking and nice

    Cons

    Constant cost cutting and layoffs, lack of integrity and transparency, leaders only look out for themselves

    Continue reading
    TIAA2019-10-07
  4. Helpful (29)

    "Losing its way"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TIAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is very good and retirement plan is superb. Current CEO is a very decent guy.

    Cons

    Senior management no longer cares about employees. The end of work from home (and the loss of hundreds of good employees along with the horrible treatment of hundreds of others), the new open seating for all (though I’m betting senior management will keep their big offices behind locked doors with a security guard blocking access), the end of vacation days (“open vacation” just means less vacation), no raises for anyone earning over $150k (though according to public filings the big honchos all have received huge increases); and on it goes. I’ve been here since last century and this is as bad as it’s ever been - even worse than “black Monday” when 500+ people were all walked out the door with 15 minutes to clean out their desks.

    Continue reading
    TIAA2019-06-13
  5. Helpful (49)

    "Heartbroken"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TIAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good, though now stagnant, salary and bonus. The work from home program was industry leading (and brought great recognition and accolades) but is being dismantled. Excellent retirement plan and benefits, so far.

    Cons

    Most of Roger Ferguson's direct reports - and even their direct reports - have been fired. The legacy of TIAA-CREF is now in the hands of despicable new "leaders" who are ruining the lives and careers of the dedicated, loyal workers who made the company successful. They pat themselves on the back so often they're in danger of dislocating their arms. They are forcing out thousands of workers in 2019 - who must either relocate to Charlotte, uprooting their families and lives, or resign - all in the name of promoting collaboration. The pointless reorganizations come so fast and so furiously we hardly notice them anymore. Morale is so low it is nonexistent. I know no one who does not feel completely unappreciated. It's surreal how far this company has fallen in so short a time. Just a few years ago, I was beyond proud to work for TIAA-CREF (yes, CREF) and Roger Ferguson. I am now beyond ashamed of both.

    Continue reading
    TIAA2019-03-27
  6. Helpful (16)

    "Sr. Director"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TIAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Solid company, great history, and it tries very hard to do better. Not a bad place to start a career and learn the business. The values have always been core to this company and it reminds itself of that all the time.

    Cons

    Middle and senior mgt are insecure and have not really developed as managers. It is definitely run by fiefdom and how well you promote and kiss up to your manager. This happens at every level. As much as they talk about employee development, it is woefully lacking. Folks are beginning to understand that they own their own development but many view that as getting face time and looking for opportunities to get "on stage" as opposed to actually doing work and getting noticed that way. It is a very passive - aggressive culture. So buckle up. Don't believe what people are saying in front of you, It's a different story once you've turned your back,

    Continue reading
    TIAA2018-12-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Director, Marketing"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director Marketing in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TIAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mission, flexibility, compensation, high quality people

    Cons

    Lack of upward mobility, politics, infrastructure

    Continue reading
    TIAA2018-09-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Business Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TIAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work environment; opportunities; salaries were good

    Cons

    Continue to work on diversity and inclusion initiatives

    Continue reading
    TIAA2018-09-14
  9. Helpful (10)

    "less than great for LGBTs"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Charlotte, NC
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TIAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not as cutthroat than the finance firm where I started my career Great retirement benefits

    Cons

    I came to TIAA assuming that its emphasis on Diversity and Inclusion would extend to LGBT employees. Unfortunately, the commitment seems like lip service. Some examples: - When here in NC the governor signed a bill restricting LGBT rights, TIAA (one of the largest employers in Charlotte) was silent. - There are virtually no LGBT people in senior leadership - the "Executive Leadership Group" has less than 2% who are openly gay (all are women). - While race/gender diversity is always noted as a plus for recruitment/promotion purposes, I have never seen sexual orientation noted. - I know many LGBT employees who feel that they would be further in their careers if they had stayed in the closet. Never a good sign.

    Continue reading
    TIAA2018-06-05
  10. "Great experience so far"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TIAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair pay, great benefits (medical and retirement), collaborative culture, flexible work arrangements.

    Cons

    Being private, can take a bit longer to get things done.

    Continue reading
    TIAA2018-01-11
Found 21 reviews