TPP "flat hierarchy" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TPP Employee Reviews about "flat hierarchy"

Updated 6 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
TPP CEO  Frank Hester
Frank Hester
114 Ratings
Pros
  • "As well as the work the pay is great, good holidays including Xmas, sailing trips and travel to places I never thought I would(in 15 reviews)

  • "There is a genuinely flat hierarchy, although more experienced people's opinions tend to be more respected than others(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "flat hierarchy’ they preach about is a joke(in 15 reviews)

  • "No one really has a good grasp on projects as a whole, everything is rushed short-term jerk reactions to individual issues(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flat hierarchy"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Interesting, challenging, enjoyable work, with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Horsforth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TPP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at TPP is an immensely enjoyable, rewarding experience. Everyone is extremely bright and hard-working and there's a great collaborative feel with the flat hierarchy and the fact that there's always someone willing to stop what they're doing and help you out, regardless of how long you (or they) have worked at the company. The work we do has a tremendous positive impact on healthcare and provides a constant stream of interesting and complex (but never overwhelming) challenges. The benefits (birthday meals, company-wide trips, pub tabs etc) are great and the pay is very competitive (especially for the region).

    Show More

    Cons

    Occasional out of hours work - due to the nature of the business (real-time electronic healthcare records and decision support for thousands of clinicians and millions of patients) you can't guarantee that you'll be going home on time every day or that your evenings/weekends will go completely uninterrupted. I've still given five stars for work/life balance because the interruptions are genuinely rare and well-compensated, but for some people it could be a deal-breaker.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A more relaxed attitude to hobby programming outside work (allowing e.g. app publishing and open-source development as long as it doesn't stray too close to TPP IP) would give developers more opportunity to practice and improve their skills at no cost to the company. It might also help to prevent the occasional loss of coders we get because they want to work on the latest cool framework or they worry their skill-set isn't diverse enough.

    Show More
    TPP2019-10-06
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Can't imagine a better job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TPP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I’ve been a Software Developer at TPP for almost 10 years. Over that time I have worked on a wide range of projects, and learned loads. The variety of things I get to work on is one of the main reasons I have stayed in the same job for so long. I’m constantly challenged and never bored. It is great to work with such bright, motivated people. It is reassuring to know that whenever you get stuck, you can get help from people around you. The flat hierarchy means you are able to take on responsibility from day one, and it is great to see new people coming in and contributing right from the start. The pay and perks are fantastic - Yoga, massages, guitar lessons, free pub tab, annual sailing trip, to name a few. Also, the chance to travel all over the world, with the associated allowances for meals/travel etc while you are away, is great.

 We work hard, but we are definitely rewarded for it. Although we sometimes have to come in for emergencies, we generally all leave the office at 5:15pm every day, and 4pm on Fridays. All my friends that have jobs with similar salaries are expected to work much longer hours.

    Show More

    Cons

    Having to come in out of hours for emergencies can be annoying, but it is not frequent and the pay/perks more than make up for it. Due to the nature of the work, it can be stressful at times, but generally at a level that makes the work satisfying, not overwhelming.

    TPP2018-09-27
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Best job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TPP full-time

    Pros

    I can honestly say I absolutely love my job. The flat hierarchy has allowed me to progress so much further than friends with similar qualifications. I love the people I work with and enjoy the fast paced way that we work. Yes the job is stressful but that makes it rewarding and means I can never believe it’s the end of the day. I always get to leave on time, and if it looks as though I’m not able to colleagues will stay behind to help so that I’m not stuck on my own. The way we work is definitely different to other companies, but don’t let this put you off. If anything it makes me worried about having to work anywhere else because it will be so slow in comparison. The rewards for working at TPP are fantastic, not just the pay and perks but also the fact you’ve got the chance to impact healthcare.

    Show More

    Cons

    It can be stressful at times but support is always on hand

    TPP2018-09-27
  4. Helpful (25)

    "Don’t be fooled by the 5 star reviews - find another company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TPP full-time

    Pros

    - There are some genuinely nice people at the company and I have made a number of good friends from working there. - The wage and benefits are great - You can visit some interesting places which otherwise you might not have visited - You do gain some valuable skills as you will have to juggle hundreds of things and deal with high pressured situations (or you won’t survive the company) - No two days are ever the same (that sometimes becomes a negative too though)

    Show More

    Cons

    - The ‘flat hierarchy’ they preach about is a joke. It’s an illusion and ultimately a few select members of staff have any say in matters. Any disagreement with this will lead to sacking. - The senior management team are unhinged and have no moral compass whatsoever. They will fire someone for no reason. - The technology is outdated - Your personal life will play second fiddle to company priorities. You will he sent anywhere in the world with a moments notice - no excuse is good enough not to put the company first. - You will have to do forced extra curricular activities that the company sees fit. Again, no reason is good enough e.g. I have friends visiting and can’t come to work this weekend. - You will be yelled at and sworn at on an almost daily basis - You will have to become an expert at company politics to survive - They force people to write positive reviews on here - They used to force employees to write positive reviews for the Best Companies award. You can probably guess why they no longer appear in that survey... - There are dozens and dozens of other reasons but I’d be typing this review for the foreseeable future. Do yourself a favour, find another job (I did, and left on my own accord, not fired). There are plenty of other exciting companies to work for who won’t treat you like pond scum.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    What’s the point? The poisonous culture at the company filters from a few select people at the top. With you in charge, it will never change. However, you will never grow the company to your ambitions unless you do change as nobody wants to work there. I take comfort from that fact.

    TPP2018-10-21
  5. Helpful (26)

    "Preys on naive graduate students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TPP for less than a year

    Pros

    - The people you work with are friendly enough. - High starting salary. - Enticing perks.

    Cons

    I read reviews like mine before joining but thought, hey, how bad can it be? Leaving was the best decision I made. I've outlined why below: - The high salary is not worth the stress of working at this company. The job doesn't give you the opportunity to learn things that you can take elsewhere - except, maybe, how NOT to run a company. Because you are paid a lot, the management also think they can treat you however they like. Ultimately, it's a dead-end. - The training is pretty much non-existent. From the moment you start you are expected to be able to do the same level of work as staff that have been there for much longer, without help. Everything feels like an uphill struggle and much harder than it should be but you are made to feel like a failure if you can't do something straight away. I have worked at companies that train staff so that you get better at your job. TPP opt for the medieval method of 'Witch trial' - throw you into the deep end and see if you float or sink. THIS IS BAD FOR MENTAL HEALTH. - The flat hierarchy does not work. I turns into a blame culture with newer staff being fired or making mistakes needlessly. PLEASE DO NOT fall for the spiel they give you in interviews about how some people just don't get on get on with having no manager. When it's done right managers are there to help you develop. In this case, no managers = lack of development. - TPP prey on naive, ambitious graduate students who want a high starting salary. Don't be fooled. TPP do not invest in their staff - a lot of people get fired within a year without explanation. Everyone is replaceable as they know that next year they can trick a new haul of graduates into applying. - The CEO is incredibly rude to staff members in stressful situations. He does not apologise. He puts people down. He makes comments that are inappropriate, that are sexist, insensitive and racist in nature, and made me feel uncomfortable whilst I worked there. - The work like balance is terrible. The perks are not worth it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would advise trying to train and invest in your staff more instead of buying them off with perks. A job in to learn and develop skills. Create a better culture that is inclusive, supportive and driven to success. Rather than exclusive, negative and focusing on staff failures. I'm sure this will fall on deaf ears.

    TPP2018-09-13
  6. Helpful (19)

    "Worst company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TPP for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Some people you work with are nice - starting salary. - Lucarative perks.

    Cons

    Where to begin... I worked at TPP for 4 Years, (yes I managed it that long). It starts off sounding fantastic. We have great perks, Flat Hierarchy & Lucrative pay. Unfortunately, these are the sort of carrot and stick tactics that TPP use to lure unsuspecting employees into the dictatorship that is this company. First of all, there is no training, you are dropped into a role given two weeks and some documentation to read than expected to give the same level of service and knowledge as everyone else that has been there for years. Should you make a mistake or forget something you are instantly grilled as to How it happened, why it happens and heaven forbid you to forget you did or said something because then you're accused of lying. The CEO acts like your best friend but then will blank you other days not to mention the vulgar racist and sexist remarks you would not expect to find in a workplace, it made me extremely uncomfortable whilst the "management" around me seemed to laugh it off like it was normal. The wage and perks are lucrative, but they have to be due to the stress and pressure piled onto you on this job, I can't think of one day I finished on time, you were expected to say 30Min -1 hour extra than your shift regardless if you had plans or not. Most days I felt like breaking down and crying and not once did I feel secure in my job, If the company wants to be rid of you it will just force you out. Finally, the flat hierarchy does not exist there are "Managers" in that people that are trusted more than others and every disagreement becomes a "your word against mine"there are also many clicks in the group so if you upset one the rest of the group will always back them. The reason the company has Best companies award is due to employees been grilled as to why a bad review was given, you are practically herded into what to say by the "Think of this we do for you" and people are scared to put down anything they may be found out for. The Graduates are used and abused but will stay and be attracted like me by the wage sums. I can honestly say leaving was the best decision I made.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you have a flat hierachy you need to listen to everyone on the team not just those in a Click. When people come to you with issues don't say " Well we all are stressed/upset". The personnel team is cancer to the company I've never spoken to such dismissive people in a company before.

    TPP2018-09-15
  7. Helpful (24)

    "Disorganised and frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TPP full-time

    Pros

    You’ll get more out of them than they get out of you. High salary, travel opportunities, nice people with the exception of a few at the top, introduction to interesting work.

    Cons

    - Certain directors can be vile at times. Lots of unnecessary and vindictive attacks on individuals, who are talked about with very personal and inappropriate in front of rooms full of other employees. - Never really know who to trust, encouraged to find fault with fellow employees at any opportunity. Tense atmosphere - very chaotic environment. No one really has a good grasp on projects as a whole, everything is rushed short-term jerk reactions to individual issues. Especially true of their international work (which is fun, but an enormous amount of work is expended for very little gain). Directions change according to the personal whim of directors and assertive individuals within each team. - Lots of fundamentally good principles (self-assessment, flat hierarchy) are transformed into a culty series of slogans and habits, and you end up spending a good chunk of your time filling in whiteboards and ‘highlighting’ why a five minute task has taken five and a half minutes. - Most new starters, and lots of people who have been there longer, get sacked very suddenly. This isn’t such a bad thing given you get paid for a couple of months, but if you’re looking for a career as opposed to a job don’t go anywhere near this company.

    Show More
    TPP2018-08-03
  8. Helpful (23)

    "Hard to recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Horsforth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TPP full-time

    Pros

    - Generous benefits, e.g. training allowance, occasional afternoon off for drinking. - TPP offers very generous pay. With the starting salary going up to £40,000 soon and regular pay rises you can expect to earn bank there. - Wonderful people (up to a point). Most of the people you work with on a day-to-day basis are bright, lovely and helpful. - Relatively good for graduates with no experience in the tech industry. - TPP works in the medical industry so gives you a feel good factor. A lot of people use the software in the NHS. - TPP has a direct culture. There is a no-nonsense approach to conversations which usually makes thing quick and constructive.

    Show More

    Cons

    I left TPP for a few reasons, but I could probably sum up the cons of TPP in three letters. Starts with a C and ends in an O. There is a more general list though so here it goes: 1. Tech stack is incredibly out of date. Can't go into details but this is no Spotify, Google or Netflix. Don't expect to find any technology beyond around 2007. TPP are actively reluctant to adopt newer technologies based on the opinion of a select few... see number 2. 2. Management, management, management. The most obvious problem at TPP is the CEO himself. Antagonistic, unpredictable and behind the times. There is a layer of management circled around the CEO best described as lackeys. They actively seek to remove anyone who would challenge or question his decisions. The thing is, he needs challenging. 3. Hypocrisy. One of the things that is drilled into you from day one is: "Ask questions. Often newer people ask obvious questions that make us change our processes." It turns out there are some taboos. Questioning some things is the fast track to being fired. The no-go list is undefined because it changes based on the mood of number 2. This is advertised as the flat hierarchy. If you omit management, the people are on even ground at TPP and interaction with those people is invigorating. You just have to ignore the mountain in the middle. 4. Apathetic to improving healthcare. A lot of people go to TPP because its software seems to have a positive effect on the NHS and healthcare industry. This is not reflected in the management. The way that TPP prioritises its work gives no importance to things that would actually be good for patients, it is more about money. 5. Lack of experience and constantly changing priorities = absolute chaos. Imagine being in a room where everyone is trying to figure out what a piece of work is and someone has promised it for tomorrow. This is a symptom of a much wider problem. TPP has a lack of direction, the work is constantly changing and always treated as paramount. It is often ill-defined and badly prioritised. You can spend most of your time fighting processes and trying to figure out what to do, only to find that you've done the wrong thing and the project no longer exists only to re-emerge months later in the same state. It's demoralising and management do little to help.

    Show More
    TPP2018-08-02
  9. Helpful (19)

    "Hellish Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TPP full-time

    Pros

    - High starting salary and benefits - Nice modern office in lovely area - Work with many intelligent people

    Cons

    There are many things I found difficult when working for the company, but I think that most of them stem from its structure. If you've read other review I'm sure you've heard it's a flat hierarchy - certainly ambitious but obviously difficult to implement. Perhaps in its early days, when the company was small and everybody was at a similar level in terms of writing code/industry experience, this structure worked well. The trouble is that there is an unhealthy proportion of new starters to experienced employees, and so giving everybody the same work and treating everybody the same results in over confident, often power seeking older workers and timid younger workers who are constantly trying (and mostly failing) to behave like the perfect 'TPP person'. The micromanagement to be this TPP person, defined however those with power see fit at the time, is horrendous - forget about working according to how you find you've worked best throughout your whole life, it's either their way, or you're out. An astonishing amount of very capable employees get fired any time within their first two years. The hours are reasonable (finish at 5.15 quite consistently) but there is an abnormal and ironically inefficient intensity to the work. You can work next to someone for a year and not know a single thing about them, just by the fact any non-work related talk is strongly discouraged. You will literally have to shout sorry to the entire floor if you are 1 minute late in the morning. On top of this, the coders are often required to be 'on call', which results in being woken quite regularly in the middle of the night and volunteering to go into the office. To question anything regarding the culture, or key technological issues of the company, is a huge mistake - you will either get mocked or in some cases, made to leave. It is much wiser to keep your head down and unnoticed, it is the CEO alone who makes any decisions of significant impact and no one else in the 'flat' hierarchy. If you've just come out of university and are unsure of what step next to take, my wholehearted advice would be to avoid this company like the plague. You will find neither happiness or a career.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn from the top tech companies. Evolve and take your employees needs more seriously - be more tolerant!

    TPP2018-08-12
  10. Helpful (22)

    "Sinking ship?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Analyst in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TPP full-time

    Pros

    * Above market rate salaries - think this is the case for all teams. * Generally speaking people are friendly and competent. * Fantastic purpose built new offices in a nice suburb of Leeds. * Free on site parking. * Good perks such as generous holiday allowance and a free birthday meal. * I learnt a fair bit in my time there. * You will earn an awful lot of airmiles!

    Cons

     * Incredibly disorganised management which leads to a lot of unnecessary stress and general confusion. * Worrying lack of focus on their UK customers (the only market that pays the bills). They will only do the bare minimum development to their UK products (fix dangerous bugs for example) and seem to have completely given up on innovation. This is difficult for people in customer facing roles as you will inevitably spend much of your time delivering bad news to increasingly unhappy people. Scandalous really when you consider it is UK tax payer money that makes up the bulk of their turnover and you would of expected at least some of that to be invested back into their NHS systems. * The only focus of the company is chasing more lucrative markets overseas. Great if you want to travel an awful lot at minimal notice, not so great if you have any other responsibilities outside of work such as young children. Definitely does not provide a good work/life balance. * They don't seem to be experiencing a great deal of success overseas (at least when I left). Although I guess such things are never going to happen overnight, they have now been plugging away at this for about 5 years at I'm sure great financial cost to the company. * Staff forced to write overly positive reviews on sites like this one. Ask yourselves why TPP placed highly for years in the Sunday Times top 100 companies to work for list and now are no longer even in the running? It was actually the recent string of heavily positive reviews posted here earlier this year (wonder what happened there) that prompted me to post about my previous experiences. * Very high staff turnover - both new and old people. This made for quite an unsettling environment as you never quite knew who would be off next. * Contrary to equal oppertunity employment legislation, the company only ever hire recent graduates for most of their teams. This is great for graduates but not so good when many of your experienced staff are disappearing and you desperately need people with practiced skills/techniques. * Flat hierarchy was constantly touted, but in reality was not really an accurate description of how the company ran. Although you would have plenty of discussions and opportunities  to raise your opinions, if they were not the correct opinions you would be quickly rubbished. Basically only a few people held any real power/influence and if you were not in favour with them you weren't going to have a great time. Definitely a culture of favouritism existed that always made it quite a dog eat dog environment, so unless you're very ruthless and loud you'll probably struggle to stand out/get on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you can afford to do it it makes perfect sense to chase international business, however this should not be at the expense of your UK customers - they deserve better. Otherwise you might find one day you don't have any business anymore. Grow up and accept there are some pretty serious problems at the company that need to be addressed. The powers that be never wanted to hear anything negative about the place, making it difficult for staff to say what needed to be said and still have a job at the end of it. My impression was that many of the long standing employees were fairly unhappy there, and felt powerless to do anything about it. They either went along with the company line or eventually got fed up and left or were fired. TPP should properly listen to their staff rather than just paying lip service to this. There was some very talented people there who were clearly heavily constrained by your approach to running a business. Finally, seriously consider selling up. The company has so much potential and a decent core product which is pretty successful (for now at least). Perhaps a new management team/fresh approach could take the company on to the next level, rather than it continuing to tread water/get left behind.

    Show More
    TPP2017-09-20
Found 28 reviews
</>Embed