TSC Stores Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TSC Stores Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
TSC Stores President Darryl Jenkins (no image)
Darryl Jenkins
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people, hard work great cutomers(in 6 reviews)

  • "progressive with Flex time at corporate; some good employees with bright futures(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "no training plans for any roles, and no on boarding plan(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Not Retail Employee Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TSC Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great customers - Lots to learn

    Cons

    - Fight for vacation - POS shuts down often

    Advice to Management

    Focus on distribution management before passing the blame to retail locations

    TSC Stores2020-01-16
  2. "Was A Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I worked at TSC Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Making friends at work -You have multiple jobs so it's never boring -Most customers are enjoyable and are very sociable

    Cons

    -Standing on your feet most shift -Some managers weren't manager material -Only benefits for full time, but most stores hire part-time with full-time hours so you don't get benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Length of working with a company shouldn't mean more than work ethic and how one talks to another person.

    TSC Stores2019-12-02
  3. "TSC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Bowmanville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TSC Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, employers, management, coworkers and customers

    Cons

    cashing out was always stressful, sometimes customers would yell at you for things like price changes, no longer carrying an item. That kind of thing

    Advice to Management

    Try not to make cashing out such a stressful experience

    TSC Stores2019-10-08
  4. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Cashier in Detroit, MI

    I worked at TSC Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Had this job while I was in school. Very flexible. Nice people , Good company.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    TSC Stores2019-09-10
  5. "Revolving door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Mississauga, ON

    I have been working at TSC Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Union based, cafeteria w/chef, professional

    Cons

    Low pay - revolving door

    Advice to Management

    Try to coach ppl not step on there backs

    TSC Stores2019-05-17
  6. "Excellent Corporate Retail Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TSC Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I was fortunate enough to hold a number of different positions over the past 5 years. Ranging from working in their wholesale department to entry level management. Working here provided me with great experience within a corporate retail setting. Some of the highlights include -Wonderful Coworkers -Challenging work - Good work/life balance with flex-time -Competitive matching group RSP

    Cons

    -Lack of growth opportunities available

    TSC Stores2019-03-20
  7. "No Room for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TSC Stores full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some coworkers were great to work with.

    Cons

    No room for growth or additional responsibilities - makes increasing salary basically impossible.

    TSC Stores2019-01-18
  8. "not bad for part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at TSC Stores full-time

    Pros

    not to many to list really

    Cons

    low pay not full time hours

    TSC Stores2018-11-07
  9. "Challening work, nice co-workers, harsh management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TSC Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Work was challenging -Coworkers were nice

    Cons

    -Management is rough on new employees and sets a very high standard

    Advice to Management

    Lighten up on new hires, being hard on them won't teach them anything.

    TSC Stores2018-10-06
  10. "Fabricator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at TSC Stores full-time

    Pros

    Good work hours. Life work balance is good.

    Cons

    Not really much room to grow.

    TSC Stores2018-07-02
Found 62 reviews