TSG Solutions Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 19 reviews

3.3
35%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
TSG Solutions CEO John Iffland (no image)
John Iffland
3 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    Mar 30, 2021 - Field Service Technician in Huntington, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    challenging, good for learning, good team

    Cons

    too much travel, big expectation

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Company, but not for me

    Nov 14, 2019 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Welcoming environment to work in, had the ability and opportunity to grow and advance in the company. Travel was a good perk and I love me some good eatin'. Rewarded for excellent performance and treated as a valuable member of the company. My boss also gave me some unique projects to assist with, so for that, I'm very appreciative. For the most part, enjoyable time for the 7 years I stayed.

    Cons

    Travel became a huge burden to me and my family. The company doesn't seem to understand the balance between work and personal-family life. Just because one person has kids and can travel doesn't make it ok for the rest of us. Time away from work is time away, I don't need to be glued to my phone or email. Again, this seems to be a mindset issue and not everyone will live, breathe, and die by the company. I also shouldn't be held accountable for any of my under performing team members. I didn't hire them so shouldn't really be my problem.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company and Management

    Apr 6, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Professional Employees Good Benefits Very Approachable Management Treats Employees like Adults Great Communication

    Cons

    Crazy, but I really can't think of anything bad.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company!

    Oct 23, 2018 - Tech 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone works hard and contributes from techs to exec's.

    Cons

    None- everyone is awesome

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    operations

    Jan 14, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice people and flexible, learning

    Cons

    Long hours of work every day

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Marketing manager

    Mar 9, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good environment to learn and exp

    Cons

    Depends upon your working nature

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Dazed and Confused

    Jun 3, 2016 - IT Help Desk 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really liked everyone I worked with for the short time I was with TTSG. They were all good people who were dedicated to doing an excellent job, and I miss them. On top of that they were all willing to lend a hand when able, whether it be bringing in lunch, giving someone a lift home, etc, etc. The junior staff at this company is fantastic, and I wish them all the best. I feel if things had gone differently there would have been opportunities for me to advance, but that's not how things panned out.

    Cons

    I joined at an awkward time for their company, I had been brought on as Copier IT (anyone working at the warehouse now knows who's writing this). From the get-go my position was a confusing one, their previous Copier IT having been fired just before I was brought on, coming as a surprise to everyone in their warehouse, but most of all me. The already thinly stretched Printer IT team was now completely overworked, which is to say it was one guy, and he was also being expected to train me. Needless to say, he often didn't have the time to actually train me as he had constant service calls, and no one else was qualified to do it. As a result I was handed a massive training manual and basically just expected to figure it out for myself. I did go on a few service calls, and I was starting to get a grasp on things, but it simply wasn't enough. The blame partly lies with me, but I do believe there are SERIOUS issues in how the workload is distributed at this company. The CEO doesn't seem to be aware of many of the issues facing his staff, particularly not those working in the technical/delivery departments. What is perhaps more damaging though is the salesmen making regular promises to customers that warehouse staff can't possibly fulfill. They have my deepest sympathies because they're quite clearly overworked, especially one of the manager who regularly has to clean up the messes of these insane promises made by the CEO and sales team.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Top Leadership is Clueless

    Apr 14, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a casual working environment that generally welcomes conversation, both about work and other meaningful things. TSG provided me a solid paycheck and I never really worried about losing my job as others had mentioned. They have several core business groups and it's clear they all know what they're doing because they do it extremely well. Overall, the management team as a whole is great and trusts the experience of its staff, from consultants to senior technical representatives. There has been a lot of clean up of previous staff, which was well needed and warranted. I truly appreciate the clean up effort; it's what kept me hanging on for as long as I did.

    Cons

    Where do I start? Well, while I agree with the management as a whole, I truly believe the top leadership is clueless. They constantly butt in to discussions, proposals, designs, specifications and other technical documents that they clearly have no experience with. They don't trust their senior management and director staff, as they constantly need to be in the loop with where you are every second of the day or who you're talking with. They schedule pointless status meetings to delegate work, but never seem to contribute much themselves. I can recall one time where one of them was unknowingly screensharing with us and she was on some celebrity news page while we were reviewing a RFP. And on the same note, it's hilarious as the president always tears you down and makes it a point to make you feel incompetent, yet the CEO will use big, descriptive words to bring you back up and tell you how great you are, you just need to fix a few things. It's so odd and quite comical after you get used to the constant beat downs. The other major con is the fact that this top leadership doesn't realize that they're still here because of the team directly below them.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Was good, now has gone downhill

    Jan 21, 2015 - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay was initially good. But the ability to travel and see the world for free was awesome! Being able to travel all over Europe and Japan was huge! I've got to experience once in a lifetime experiences. Also the company parties used to be a lot of fun and made me feel appreciated. Also, the software provided is very cool and useful. Feels good to be a part of a safety and security oriented mission.

    Cons

    I never really received any decent raises. When I moved into a new department, I wasn't given the proper pay, but I dealt with it. It's also funny to see the reviews below because I echo most of their cons. I'm sure I even know the hard working manager mentioned below. He's from the public safety group and, in my honest opinion, the company and its great image to big clients rides on his shoulders. I personally think he's crazy for staying there but to each their own. They're lucky he does! His value would be well rewarded elsewhere. Also, before I officially left the company, they hired a new software manager. Huge set back to the product line. I don't understand 99% of what this manager says...and yes I mean that in multiple ways. The company also let go of all its GIS staff. Another terrible decision. But hey, I also had a 65+ year old technical newbie trying to tell me how to develop software.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Account Executive

    Dec 13, 2013 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good salary with career opportunity. Entrepreneur environment. Empower employees to do what is right for them and the company.

    Cons

    Long work hours with questionable work life balance. Industry is very stressful.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

Work at TSG Solutions? Share Your Experiences

TSG Solutions logo
or