TTP Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TTP Reviews

Updated 3 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
TTP CEO Sam Hyde
Sam Hyde
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great environment for smart self motivated people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TTP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging and varied work over many different industries and technologies. Opportunities for travel, but decent work life balance. Intelligent colleagues and a positive friendly culture. Flat career structure and, in my case at least, good direct boss. Very light touch management (can be a pro or a con depending on your needs). Perks include: free tennis courts, swimming, healthcare, annual bonus,... share options.

    Show More

    Cons

    OK pay, but if you are good enough to get in you could get more (possibly at the cost of longer hours / living in London). No provision for flexible working, overtime or flexible parenting. Career development is largely self motivated. Possible to drift for years.

    Advice to Management

    Look for more ways to teach, reward and support ambitious employees, while maintaining the very positive friendly culture the founders have created.

    TTP2014-07-15
  2. "Friendly place with lots of interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TTP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They offer reasonable career progression, in part because there is lots of interesting work. So there is lots of learning on the job, and the work is always challenging, and very varied.

    Cons

    At times it can feel a bit corporate as it has been around quite a few years now. Its size makes it not so flexible. Lots of people further up ladder have been there for yonks, so it's difficult to see where future opportunities lie.

    Advice to Management

    Work on dynamism and flexibility.

    TTP2014-02-03
  3. "Unique company working on the forefront of technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TTP for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Diverse markets and technologies worked in Combination of technical work, project leadership and business development Flexible career route Good salary and benefits compared to corporate peers Fast progression/responsibility for young employees if desired Good hours

    Cons

    Small, so career progress is mostly about running/selling bigger projects, rather than job title or people management Personal development is largely employees responsibility - does not suit everyone. 10 miles from cambridge, but near local station

    Advice to Management

    To group-level: engage more and consult with employees. Many company level-issues do not appear to be discussed with group leaders or, if ever, employees. Engagement from group leaders is good.

    TTP2013-09-03
  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TTP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting projects. Fast-paced environment. Autonomy. Great colleagues. Dynamic athmosphere. Beautiful science park.

    Cons

    Restaurant is not great and is expensive. Public transport not subsidised, so most people drive.

    TTP2019-09-23
  5. "The fact that TTP works is a testament to its engineers, projects succeed in spite of TTP."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TTP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place for early career stage, awful afterwards

    Cons

    Nature has taken over TTPs ‘flat’ structure and a non-spoken pecking order prevails. The culture is very manipulative, and the longer you work for them, the more you feel it, or worse you may start behaving like that, not even noticing how manipulative you may become. TTP rewards only commercial success, if your passion is truly technical TTP will chew you and spit your bones out, without a word of thank you.... If on the other hand your interests are commercial, beware you are up against the least collaborative culture you may ever find. Only hero’s may apply. Diversity is taboo in TTP, a white oxbridge male workforce dominated the company and its decisions. If you fit this description you may find a place. Culture was not friendly to women, and there was no diversity in the workforce. Don’t expect reasonable working hours, or acknowledgement of overtime.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix the culture

    TTP2019-08-20

    TTP Response

    August 28, 2019Marketing

    Thank you for your review and sorry to hear that your experience was not all positive. It is important to say that TTP has worked hard to foster a culture of collaboration. Historically our reviews have been very positive around our collaborative culture so we are surprised to read your review and hear that this was not your experience. At TTP we pride ourselves on recruiting ‘the best candidate for the job’ regardless of ethnicity or gender. We recognise that our industry is male dominated and we have been working hard to ensure that we do our part to encourage more diversity – both within TTP and in STEM more generally – by supporting initiatives such as Cambridge LaunchPad. We have also recently launched a policy to support new parents returning to work which we hope will encourage more women to join us. We do acknowledge that we don’t always get it right and would really like to hear from you to discuss your experience further. Please contact us on recruitment@ttp.com in the strictest of confidence.

    Show Less
  6. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TTP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Increase in salary Good Food Good Bonus

    Cons

    Lazy environment Worker not coperative Slow growth

    TTP2018-08-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, but not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TTP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A very comfortable environment that inspires creativity and encourages people to pursue their ideas

    Cons

    Lack of structure can be frustrating

    Advice to Management

    Improve infrastructure without compromising creativity

    TTP2016-03-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent experience but poor progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TTP

    Pros

    The work is varied and depending on the group you are in, it can be great experience. Job security is good as people can stick on in their role for decades if they want to. Plenty of highly technical colleagues. A charmed life in the long run if you want it.

    Cons

    Lots of cons. If you are a top candidate then you probably shouldn't go. Salaries start low and rise very cautiously. A proportion of the group net profit is set aside for bonuses. That pool is then distributed as a fixed percentage of your salary, and has no link to individual performance. Also, while the consultancy business does well, the majority of the profits are handed over to fund a loss-making... subsidiary making the bonus pool much smaller than it should be. A lot of the work in a couple of groups never reaches the market. Avoid them as the work is said to be highly demoralising.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop funding Tonejet and give consultants the chance to be adequately rewarded for their work.

    TTP2014-07-26
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Always interesting and challenging, great, relaxed working environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at TTP

    Pros

    Diverse skill sets and enthusiasm of colleagues. Very few tossers.

    Cons

    No time off in lieu for weekend / bank holiday working or travel for work. No overtime. No significant interest in employees' career progression.

    TTP2011-08-02
  10. "Schöne Zeit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TTP for more than a year

    Pros

    großes Unternehmen, viele Einblicke, gute Arbeitszeiten

    Cons

    konservativ, aber auf den richtigen digitalen Weg

    TTP2018-04-23
Found 40 reviews
</>Embed