Tableau Software "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Tableau Software Reviews

Updated 27 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Tableau Software CEO Adam Selipsky
Adam Selipsky
246 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Fun, hard-working, intelligent employees with a dedication and intense love for our product and company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Med/Vis/Dent insurance fully covered by Tableau (employee only) with minimal rates for dependents Fully-stocked kitchens Dozens of events and parties every year Team and company-wide camaraderie is very high Innovative, intelligent, landscape-changing product Rapid and continuous growth - an exciting time to be at Tableau! Opportunities for growth and development within the company Positive outlook on the future and belief in our path as a company I have never worked in a place like this! My co-workers are some of the hardest working and most talented folks in their respective fields. What keeps me at Tableau is the people - I feel inspired by my co-workers and keep coming back every day because of that.

    Cons

    Though the growth is very exciting - our growing pains have cropped up. Resource constraints around IT, Facilities, etc. have been evident at times.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2015-01-15
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing culture, great co-workers, tons of positive energy!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is the best place I have worked at so far. The culture is just amazing! I work with very intelligent, motivated and fun people, every day is a challenge and we work TOGETHER towards our goals. Great leadership, I actually feel like I my contribution matters here and everyone is having an impact on the company. Open and transparent communication, from top to bottom. Lots of room for growth. Not to mention our amazing product! Other benefits: Med/Dental/Vision fully covered at no cost to employee. Fully stocked kitchen, fun company events.

    Cons

    We are growing very quickly and as other here have mentioned before, there are some growing pains. But it's really not that bad.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2015-01-23
  3. "Definitely no longer a startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance is fantastic and hours are flexible. Benefits are good, but not outstanding. The product itself is peerless and the development team is full of incredibly smart, helpful people who are a pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    The company is going through all sorts of growing pains. The intimate startup feel is gone and upper management doesn't seem to care about individual employees. Internal promotions are paid WAY less than outside hires. 401(k) matching is kind of pathetic.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2014-08-26
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, good work life balance and fun people

    Cons

    Growing pains, attracting talent is tough after the IPO

    Tableau Software2014-06-22
  5. "A company that is an absolute blast to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time

    Pros

    CULTURE - Tableau's is one of a kind. Energetic, collaborative, fun, and positive. Everyone working together on the same mission and having a great time while doing so. PEOPLE - smart, ambitious, friendly PRODUCT - game changer in the BI industry with tremendous growth ahead CUSTOMERS - extremely passionate about Tableau EXECUTIVES - intelligent, transparent, driven towards the company mission, dynamic, and motivating Other tidbits - Tableau knows how to throw fantastic parties and every office also has a fully stocked kitchen for breakfast and lunch. You name it, the kitchen likely has it! (Some departments even have juicers and margarita makers.) By far the best company I've ever worked for.

    Cons

    Only "con" I can think of would be potential growing pains from all the growth Tableau is going through right year.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2014-05-11
  6. "Fabulous company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software

    Pros

    Excellent culture. People focused. Great company values. Best benefits ever.

    Cons

    Standard super fast growth related growing pains.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2013-11-28
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Great vision, top-notch product, growing pains."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Services in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unbelievable talent, excellent product, great visionary leadership by co-founders. The good and bad of hiring such a high level of personnel is that it often takes a reaaaally long time to get the team fully staffed for the needs to be met. However, the members of my team are all the best and brightest and I'm glad to work among them. It's a lot of fun to be on board with one of the premier software companies in the world right now. Open door policy to talk to other members of the company: Product Management, Engineers, Developers have all been very open and willing to help me with questions and growth. The communication among colleagues is great.

    Cons

    Growing pains, low pay, underdeveloped management. My director is incredible but not all departments are as lucky. too many members of our company have been poached in the time i've been here. The fact that an employee can be poached at 2-3x their Tableau salary means there is a clear underpayment.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2013-10-22
  8. Helpful (2)

    "The best job of your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent leadership Feel like you have some say in dev process and company decisions Smart, friendly employees Open communication across the company Fascinating products and interesting challenges Great work/life balance (I swear I don't work in HR! It truly is an amazing place to work)

    Cons

    A few growing pains, but these are constantly being evaluated by the company

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2012-12-12
  9. "Great software, great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The software can do amazing things and our customers love our products.

    Cons

    We are experiencing the normal growing pains of a fast growing company.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2012-10-06
  10. "Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great industry and great product

    Cons

    Growing pains through rapid growth

    Tableau Software2012-05-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 50 reviews