Talbots Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Talbots Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 950 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Talbots CEO Lizanne Kindler
Lizanne Kindler
355 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management is not understanding when you are also a full time student,(in 51 reviews)

  • "Poor leadership, does not practice what is preached, work-life balance does not exist(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Stable and Exciting Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources - Corporate in Hingham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talbots full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Stable company, challenging work, valued work, located in the suburbs vs downtown, collaborative team environment

    Cons

    Change management needed to drive business forward into the future - not a negative thing, just need some coaching in some teams on how to do things differently.

    Advice to Management

    Consider the marketplace and climate for job seekers - time off policy and overall compensation package offerings.

    Talbots2019-07-16
  2. "Overall great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Talbots part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Coworkers and Managers were always helpful and easy to work with. Very flexible schedule. Great employee discount. They really encourage you to continue to grow and advance. It really helped me to learn and grow in my custoemr service skills. Great first job to start career off.

    Cons

    Sometimes you may have to work a late night shift to put out new product and change the store around. It only happened once a month but it was a pain because sometimes you didn't get home till midnight or 1-2 in the morning.

    Talbots2019-07-15
  3. "Good Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Talbots part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -employee discount -slower paced -nice coworkers

    Cons

    -not enough payroll for multiple full-time positions

    Talbots2019-07-05
  4. "Talbots"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talbots full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Our customers are Amazing!

    Cons

    Too many confusing sales and last minute decisions to change sales at any given moment.

    Advice to Management

    Make a portal so associates can view job openings so they can be promoted

    Talbots2019-07-02
  5. "Talbots Dayton, OH (Oakwood, Far Hills Ave) ENJOYABLE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Specialist in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Talbots part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The new store manager is understanding and fun to work for. The clients love coming to the store. The colleagues are kind and no drama. Talbots really tries to offer special customer service, like a boutique. The location in the Oakwood shops is very nice. The store hours are great: close at 7pm (6pm on Sunday). If you work part-time, management gives you hours that work in your schedule. And last of all, great employee...

    Show More

    Cons

    I can't really think of any.

    Talbots2019-07-01
  6. "Good company that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Talbots full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful customers, company is very caring

    Cons

    A lot of outreach to customers

    Talbots2019-07-01
  7. "Not Worth It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Talbots part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing coworkers, the atmosphere is amazing there because of associates you work with - Gives you an experience of working with clients one-on-one and build your clientele - Amazing discounts for associates

    Cons

    - Not enough hours at all. Promised to give me around 25 hours a week, after 3 weeks of working started to give like 8-13 hours a week - If the store doesn't meet the sales target, they cut your hours even to having one 4 hours shift - In normal companies when someone goes on vacation their hours are being put into other people, in Talbots they don't do it, those hours are just wasted - They pay minimum wage and they...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more wise with the hours you can use towards other associates and give a raise every year as every other company.

    Talbots2019-07-11
  8. "Easy job. Spend a lot on product."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in York, PA
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Talbots

    Pros

    Great discount. 40 hour work weeks

    Cons

    Spend a lot on looking the brand

    Talbots2019-06-15
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 

    I have been working at Talbots full-time

    Pros

    Stability , pay, always busy

    Cons

    A lot of work with deadlines with little time.

    Talbots2019-06-07
  10. "Eh..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Talbots part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Clean work environment, discount was nice

      Cons

      Some of the other sales associates were cool but a lot of them were miserable and rude. It was hard to feel supported when your coworkers were talking about you any chance they got. I also think the pay should be a little higher for the amount of work you have to do (but after all, it is retail)

      Talbots2019-06-19
    Found 950 reviews