Tate & Lyle Reviews

Updated 19 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Tate & Lyle Chief Executive Office Nick Hampton
Nick Hampton
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are some good people working very hard wanting to make a difference(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great work being done by great people to make a difference in the world(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Mold, Wales

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's good to work here

    Cons

    Nothing i cant think of any cons

    Tate & Lyle2019-09-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Simple amazing place and people to work with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Packaging Team Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Invests a lot in building peoples career with in the group, lots of training and support.

    Cons

    Travelling time to work

    Continue reading
    Tate & Lyle2020-02-06
  3. "Analytics, data lake, warehouse strategy"

    3.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reporting and Analytics Lead in London, England

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time

    Pros

    ability to learn a lot and get involved in big projects

    Cons

    Decisions take a long time to be made

    Tate & Lyle2020-01-13
  4. "Bullying Organisation"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tate & Lyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Canteen staff are excellent and joyful

    Cons

    Bullying is rife amongst the blue uniform army Staff on 40 + year contracts of employment they run the show Staff can make contractors lives hell with false feedback and review Language on the floor is incredibly unprofessional even only fools and horses has cleaner vocabulary. Tate and Lyle staff make false accusations to save their own skin. Back stabbing + no honesty

    Continue reading
    Tate & Lyle2020-01-24

    Tate & Lyle Response

    January 29, 2020Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. However, Tate & Lyle Plc, based in Kingsway, Central London do not have a canteen, nor do any of our People wear a "blue uniform" and as such I wonder if your review was meant to be posted for a different organisation?

  5. "A business with great potential and some lovely people to work with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Head of Talent Acquisition in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    For an old brand, there are many surprises. Starting with a varied product portfolio (nothing to do with Sugar cane and golden syrup FYI!) with a focus on sustainability and producing healthier food for consumers, working with the biggest brands in food production. Nice people to work with and a strong sense of purpose, it really feels like we can make a difference in the world. Strong business performance underpinning all of this too - a bonus in this current economic climate. Great location of London office makes commuting easy, but support for homeworking. And 'dress for your day' policy recently introduced facilitates a relaxed feel for what is essentially a Corporate HQ.

    Cons

    As we are B2B, consumers don't realise they are consuming - and benefiting from - our products everyday! A missed opportunity for people to see how integral we are in people's diets, across the globe As with any evolving business with big ambitions, change is inevitable. For the right people this should be exciting and keep you energised, but it is not for all and we need to be clear about that.

    Continue reading
    Tate & Lyle2019-11-07
  6. "Good environment, terrible processes"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in London, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tate & Lyle full-time

    Pros

    Good environment to work, a lot of flexibility that offers very good life work balance.

    Cons

    Processes are terrible and really burocratic. Benefits are very little in comparison with the market rate.

    Continue reading
    Tate & Lyle2019-06-15
  7. "Nice environment and people, a bit too soft and slow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good environment, people are relaxed and generally happy.

    Cons

    Slow and chaotic decision making processes. Frustratingly reluctant to change.

    Continue reading
    Tate & Lyle2019-01-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Tate and Lyle we're very fair. Provided little room for graduate growth. Their top down management system is outdated."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tate & Lyle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Experience. And the chance to engage in a large modern... but historic company.

    Cons

    Management. Top down management with some lack of transparency.

    Continue reading
    Tate & Lyle2019-01-28
  9. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learning new mechanical skills Get the forklift license for free

    Cons

    Company has been bought by American group Some of the benefits gone.

    Continue reading
    Tate & Lyle2018-12-24

    Tate & Lyle Response

    January 28, 2019Brand and Communications Manager

    Thanks for contributing your review with the Glassdoor community. It sounds like you may be referring to Tate & Lyle Sugars, not Tate & Lyle PLC. Tate & Lyle PLC (us) sold its European Sugars business in 2010 - including the UK Tate & Lyle consumer sugar brand and the sugar refinery in East London - which now operates as Tate & Lyle Sugars Limited, a subsidiary of ASR Group. Here is a link to their Glassdoor profile where you can leave a review: https://www.glassdoor.co.uk/Reviews/Tate-and-Lyle-Sugars-Reviews-E797472.htm

  10. "Finance Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in London, England
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, not too corporate

    Cons

    Systems, processes, ways of working, layers of mgmt,

    Continue reading
    Tate & Lyle2018-11-20
Found 159 reviews