Tate & Lyle Reviews

Updated 11 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Tate & Lyle Chief Executive Office Nick Hampton
Nick Hampton
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people make a great company(in 20 reviews)

  • "There are some good people working very hard wanting to make a difference(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Processes need to be revamped in order to strike work-life balance(in 11 reviews)

  • "Long hours could work all the holidays(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      A Great Company

      27 Mar 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Dayton, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Management really care about their employees, fellow co-workers look out for each other, weekends off, opportunities for overtime pay.

      Cons

      Parent Company often miscommunicates and tries to blame most of their failures on the employees of L&M, last minute appointments through TMS are always possible, tendency for over scheduling on clients’ ends, heavy workloads for a small staff.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      12 Mar 2021 - Finance Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Benefits and good enviromnent

      Cons

      Slow pace and traditional outlool

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Pay

      11 May 2021 - Assistant Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is good for me

      Cons

      Sugar everywhere, no more sugar

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place

      12 Apr 2021 - Mechanical Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      friendly, helpful, small team at Plaistow. No weekends or Bank Holidays

      Cons

      Shift work, Smaller site so less facilities than main Thames rd

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great company, cares for people and making a difference

      1 Jul 2020 - Senior Communications Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leadership is becoming so much more open and leading with compassion, particularly during this covid-19 crisis. Our people genuinely love working here and it shows. It can feel like working with a big family where people care about you and your wellbeing. The work is exciting and people are open to hearing ideas and to trying new things out. Innovation is part of our DNA, after all. Our purpose is strong and something we all want to be a part of, -improving lives for generations . Through our ingredients, sustainability and community programmes we really can make a difference in the world. The company has been quick to respond to new ways of working during covid and its exciting to see how we take them forward after. Flexible, dynamic, and trusted ways of working will be the norm here.

      Cons

      Our legacy ways of working have meant hierarchy can get in the way, but that is starting to shift and the company is taking active steps to make things simpler and easier to get done, and to give more authority where it's needed. Development opportunities haven't always been the best, but again, more to come on this front with a concerted effort by a progressive HR leader.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Nice people

      11 Feb 2021 - Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to learn more about

      Cons

      Slow, a lot of silos etc

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Tate & Lyle Response

      Global Head of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you sharing your ratings and comments for our readers and followers. We really appreciate you taking the time.

    7. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great People

      30 Jan 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      So many great people, all working towards the same goal.

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      1 person found this review helpful

      Tate & Lyle Response

      Global Head of Talent Acquisition

      Lovely to hear your positivity about your time with us, and thank you for sharing for the benefit of others.

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Absolutely horrific

      23 Dec 2020 - Personal Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No pros. none at all.

      Cons

      Management do not care at all. Let go of people during covid and not of the managers called to say goodbye. I was constantly given vague or insufficient information to do a task and when one particular task went wrong, apparently it is my fault. No, actually management gave me the wrong information. I had to chase HR several times for an issue when they are supposedly meant to 'care'. Yeah but you don't care to say goodbye or send a card do you? Assistants have been piled upon with untenable workloads with no thought of the long term risk. No growth opportunities. I requested training multiple times and was denied multiple times due to budget yet money is happily being spent on subscriptions because there is a 'business need'. Apparently my career development was not a business need. Run, run in the complete other direction. The whole message during covid was were ok and we will survive then out of the blue actually we are halving the number of assistants. They need to 'lean out the fat'. They seemed to think because we are not booking travel we must be twiddling our thumbs and we are not busy at all. Nothing could have further from the truth. Instead of pivoting the assistants and maybe using us in alternative ways and retain talent, let's let go of half of them during the worst job market ever. What a wonderful idea.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      28 Nov 2020 - Senior IT Support Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people make a great company.

      Cons

      Hours of work demanded for the role.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Poor salary

      14 Jan 2021 - Curator in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Brand known internationally across the world

      Cons

      Long hours lots of red tape

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 276 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Tate & Lyle Job Seekers

    Internal Communications Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Intelligence Architect
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Internal Communications Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Communications and Engagement Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Internal Communications Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Tate & Lyle? Share Your Experiences

    Tate & Lyle logo
    or