Tate & Lyle Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Tate & Lyle Reviews

Updated 17 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Tate & Lyle CEO Nick Hampton (no image)
Nick Hampton
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are some good people working very hard wanting to make a difference(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great work being done by great people to make a difference in the world(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Brilliant company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tate & Lyle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic people. Very well set up procedures and support. Excellent IT support. Career progression opportunities

    Cons

    Honestly cannot think of any. Left because commute was getting too expensive.

    Tate & Lyle2019-08-29
  2. "A business with great potential and some lovely people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Head of Talent Acquisition in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    For an old brand, there are many surprises. Starting with a varied product portfolio (nothing to do with Sugar cane and golden syrup FYI!) with a focus on sustainability and producing healthier food for consumers, working with the biggest brands in food production. Nice people to work with and a strong sense of purpose, it really feels like we can make a difference in the world. Strong business performance... underpinning all of this too - a bonus in this current economic climate. Great location of London office makes commuting easy, but support for homeworking. And 'dress for your day' policy recently introduced facilitates a relaxed feel for what is essentially a Corporate HQ.

    Show More

    Cons

    As we are B2B, consumers don't realise they are consuming - and benefiting from - our products everyday! A missed opportunity for people to see how integral we are in people's diets, across the globe As with any evolving business with big ambitions, change is inevitable. For the right people this should be exciting and keep you energised, but it is not for all and we need to be clear about that.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing more of the same.

    Tate & Lyle2019-11-07
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Mold, Wales

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's good to work here

    Cons

    Nothing i cant think of any cons

    Tate & Lyle2019-09-08
  4. "Kind, caring employer but lack of development opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are wonderfully kind and talented

    Cons

    There are next to no development opportunities

    Tate & Lyle2019-07-15
  5. "Good environment, terrible processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in London, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tate & Lyle full-time

    Pros

    Good environment to work, a lot of flexibility that offers very good life work balance.

    Cons

    Processes are terrible and really burocratic. Benefits are very little in comparison with the market rate.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on improving processes and getting rid of people who is not interested on improving.

    Tate & Lyle2019-06-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Trying to improve but failing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, safety culture, good bonus

    Cons

    Stressful, tendency to micromanage, disguised culture of fear

    Advice to Management

    Things have improved since the days of the very high staff turnover a few years ago but I think you under estimate how much further work is needed before employees can feel truly relaxed working there. There’s still an element of fear that is exhausting.

    Tate & Lyle2019-04-15
  7. "Nice environment and people, a bit too soft and slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good environment, people are relaxed and generally happy.

    Cons

    Slow and chaotic decision making processes. Frustratingly reluctant to change.

    Advice to Management

    The commercial team is too inexperienced and still carry a commodity mentality to the specialty world that does not help them succeed.

    Tate & Lyle2019-01-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Tate and Lyle we're very fair. Provided little room for graduate growth. Their top down management system is outdated."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tate & Lyle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Experience. And the chance to engage in a large modern... but historic company.

    Cons

    Management. Top down management with some lack of transparency.

    Advice to Management

    Allow multiple staff to manage employee progress. Top down systems can lead to autocracy.

    Tate & Lyle2019-01-28
  9. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learning new mechanical skills Get the forklift license for free

    Cons

    Company has been bought by American group Some of the benefits gone.

    Advice to Management

    They should look more to promote people .

    Tate & Lyle2018-12-24
  10. "Finance Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in London, England
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, not too corporate

    Cons

    Systems, processes, ways of working, layers of mgmt,

    Advice to Management

    Give teams and staff some extra resource to help drive process changes and simplicity, rather than expecting it to magically happen....

    Tate & Lyle2018-11-20
Found 243 reviews