Teach First Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Teach First Reviews

Updated 5 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
62%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Hmmm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Teach First full-time

    Pros

    The company is doing a great thing in terms of a charity

    Cons

    Politics in the team, high staff turnover

    Teach First2017-09-19
  2. "Depends what you want out of it.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Teach First full-time

    Pros

    Structured, dedicated, extremely useful, educational, fascinating.

    Cons

    Intense, apolitical, alienating; requires a commitment which I don't think is well measured.

    Teach First2017-08-07
  3. "Professional and friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teach First full-time

    Pros

    Excellent structure within the company as a whole, good communication with other employees and management, friendly but firm approach to work to create a excellent atmosphere.

    Cons

    Some managers are poorly trained and unable to offer guidance for things needed to do the job.

    Teach First2017-05-04
  4. "Review of Teach First"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teach First

    Pros

    Working culture - flexible hours, trusted to meet deliverables rather than working hour quota, ability to work from home People that work here - fun, passionate, hard-working, open and transparent Organisation - innovative, sector-leading, values and fair education goals Salary - well-paid for a charity sector role

    Cons

    Limited progression (but ability to move sideways)

    Teach First2017-02-19
  5. "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Teach First

    Pros

    Great vision, brilliant people to learn from

    Cons

    Inexperienced Leadership team, who are extremely intelligent but do not have the relevant experience

    Teach First2017-02-14
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Teach First full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for development, attentive and positive managers and very generous starting salaries and working conditions

    Cons

    Little potential for progression. Targets were set by very senior management with little to no consideration from those working on the ground.

    Teach First2017-01-15
  7. "Brand Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Brand Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Teach First for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great way to build up confidence and professional skill set whilst at university - Fantastic way of developing knowledge of marketing skills and techniques - Lots of support offered by line manager

    Cons

    - If you are a solo brand manager it can be difficult to measure your successes against BMs at other universities

    Teach First2016-11-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Depends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Teach First full-time

    Pros

    - agile working - doing good

    Cons

    - managers are unorganized and sometimes rude - there is no training - your role changes constantly

    Teach First2016-11-21
  9. "Some huge pluses but some sad cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Teach First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic benefits and proper pay which is rare in the charity sector. The nicest colleagues I have ever had. I have always had great colleagues but these are some of the best. Good opportunities and progression options if you want them.

    Cons

    I am bullied by my line manager so have been unlucky. Some leadership and communications isn't great and can make work on the ground challenging sometimes.

    Continue reading
    Teach First2016-10-28
  10. "Relitively nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Teach First

    Pros

    Friendly management Lots of team building activities

    Cons

    Confusing structure/job roles Quite a cliquey environment

    Continue reading
    Teach First2016-10-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 81 reviews