Teach First "agile working" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Teach First Employee Reviews about "agile working"

Updated 29 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
63%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Agile working was useful, childcare options were a top focus(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great approach to flexible working, supporting you to work from any location and broadly choose hours that work for you (within reason)(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "High staff turnover as a result, unhappy workers and zero career progression - the same people always get top roles to cover maternity leave(in 7 reviews)

  • "Politics in the team, high staff turnover(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "agile working"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review

    "Excellent organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Teach First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Colleagues are empowered and trusted. Clear strategy and structures. A fast paced and dynamic culture. Good benefits package. Excellent agile working arrangements.

    Cons

    There is probably still more variability of employee experience based upon location, role, directorate and line manager than the org would like.

    Teach First2019-12-15
  2. "Amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Teach First full-time

    Pros

    Agile working Flexible, Employee well-being assistance

    Cons

    Budget cuts, but to be expected in a charity.

    Teach First2020-03-03
  3. "Doesn't stay true to it's values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Teach First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Agile working and benefits. Salaries are fair and in line with the industry

    Cons

    Within the IT department a recent change in senior management has resulted in a new culture of fear, blame and bullying to achieve results within an already overworked department. This has been raised directly to the CEO on multiple occasions and ignored. Given how this this behavior is well known and several people have spoken up it would suggest it is tolerated if not endorsed by the Exec level?

    Continue reading
    Teach First2020-03-29

    Teach First Response

    March 31, 2020Head of Employee Experience and Development

    Thank you for your review. We are particularly grateful for the hard work from the technology team as we transition to virtual ways of working in the current crisis. Our values place a high priority on speaking up, and the team have been able to do so regularly. That does not mean that people will always agree with your position. There are many vital changes being made within technology and some of them are difficult and challenge established ways of working. We believe this will lead to a positive, supportive culture where we can deliver exciting and major tech developments we have planned over the next few years. Although change can be uncomfortable, we do not tolerate bullying and harassment. Any such claims would be investigated fully and if you have concerns and evidence, please do make a formal complaint and it will be investigated objectively.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Agile working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Coordinator in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Teach First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Agile working Nice people

    Cons

    Relentless high workload and pressure Disorganised Reactive approach to strategy

    Teach First2020-02-06
  5. "Teach First - Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teach First full-time

    Pros

    Vibrant office, youthful, dynamic, energetic. Fun place to work. Very good agile working policy.

    Cons

    Takes ages to get things done - leadership often say yes to things without considering the wider implications

    Teach First2019-04-17
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Management are too comfortable in their long-term roles, other staff have no chance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Teach First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Agile working was useful, childcare options were a top focus

    Cons

    Staff working on the ground are overstretched and left to deal with poor decisions from senior management, who often seem to have no idea what their sector entails. High staff turnover as a result, unhappy workers and zero career progression - the same people always get top roles to cover maternity leave.

    Continue reading
    Teach First2017-12-07
  7. "A great place to work with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Teach First full-time

    Pros

    Positive, vision-aligned working culture An openness with staff Agile working culture Good training and development

    Cons

    (Typically) longer hours required in busy periods Lack of progression opportunities for top performers

    Teach First2017-09-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Depends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Teach First full-time

    Pros

    - agile working - doing good

    Cons

    - managers are unorganized and sometimes rude - there is no training - your role changes constantly

    Teach First2016-11-21
  9. "Inspirational vision and mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Teach First full-time

    Pros

    Agile working Vitality Heath Faced paced environment

    Cons

    You need to be the 'Teach First fit' to progress here. They definitely like a certain type of person. Often bites off more they can chew in terms of projects new programmes etc. Lack of experienced hires. Very young workforce.

    Continue reading
    Teach First2016-09-21
  10. "Teach First"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Teach First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, clarty of organisational vision, dynamic working culture, making a difference, creative colleagues, motivational work directly in UK schools, good benefits package, several UK offices, agile working environment. Inspiring vision. Good level of trust in employees.

    Cons

    Sometimes employees need to take a lot of initiative to lead on their own professional development. Some inexperienced managers. A large organisation so decisions not always made or executed as swiftly as they could be.

    Continue reading
    Teach First2016-02-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews