Teach for America Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Teach for America Reviews

Updated 9 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Teach for America CEO  Elisa Villanueva Beard  (no image)
Elisa Villanueva Beard
241 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "difficult to find a work life balance(in 113 reviews)

  • "Need to be dedicated to the work or else long hours and pressure can be overwhelming(in 82 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good for a couple of years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Teach for America

    Pros

    Truly make a difference. Surrounded by motivated and inspirational people.

    Cons

    Pay is low. The teachers at many schools see you with a negative eye.

    Teach for America2016-03-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Be crystal clear of what you want to get out of your time with TFA."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TFA Corps Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Teach for America full-time

    Pros

    Steep learning curve - you will growth, and you will have to growth fast. You will meet many good people with their hearts in the right place.

    Cons

    Do not expect the same level of professionalism from TFA compared to what you would from big corporations. Most TFA managers are amateurs at management but were promoted because they were good teachers.

    Continue reading
    Teach for America2014-09-28
  3. Helpful (477)

    "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teach for America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and atmosphere to all employees.

    Cons

    I have not encounter one so far.

    Continue reading
    Teach for America2017-08-14
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Teach for America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great environment, hardworking people, collaborative nature

    Cons

    difficult to find a work life balance

    Teach for America2020-02-09
  5. "Loved them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campus Campaign Coordinator 

    I worked at Teach for America part-time

    Pros

    awesome company culture with a lot of free time. I appreciated their ability to want to see me grow as an individual and how we were allowed so much free range creativity with our approach to the position

    Cons

    it sometimes felt like the management wasn't as guided and the trainings were as specific. I kind of felt like I was just thrown into the positions at times, but not most times.

    Teach for America2020-02-07
  6. "Supportive place for career advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Teach for America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There's always a role to grow into, and the company happily promotes from within.

    Cons

    The respect for worth life balance varies by team.

    Teach for America2020-02-06
  7. "Mission-driven, you get what you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - TFA Corps Member 

    I have been working at Teach for America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Immense personal and leadership growth, good support system depending on region

    Cons

    teaching is hard -- but that's not TFA's fault

    Teach for America2020-01-29
  8. "Over-worked, extreme burn out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teacher 

    I worked at Teach for America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved working with the kids.

    Cons

    Not enough training to prepare for the job.

    Teach for America2020-01-23
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Managing Director in New Haven, CT

    I worked at Teach for America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with dedicated smart people each day who are committed to the mission. Great flexibility.

    Cons

    Regional offices can be on the small side.

    Teach for America2020-01-07
  10. "good to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teacher 

    I worked at Teach for America full-time

    Pros

    good to work for; meet different people; different experiences

    Cons

    long working hours and on weekends

    Teach for America2020-01-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1170 reviews