Teach for America Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Teach for America Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Teach for America CEO Elisa Villanueva Beard  (no image)
Elisa Villanueva Beard
236 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance can be difficult with the start up mentality of the organization(in 112 reviews)

  • "Need to be dedicated to the work or else long hours and pressure can be overwhelming(in 81 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good for a couple of years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Teach for America

    Pros

    Truly make a difference. Surrounded by motivated and inspirational people.

    Cons

    Pay is low. The teachers at many schools see you with a negative eye.

    Teach for America2016-03-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Be crystal clear of what you want to get out of your time with TFA."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TFA Corps Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Teach for America full-time

    Pros

    Steep learning curve - you will growth, and you will have to growth fast. You will meet many good people with their hearts in the right place.

    Cons

    Do not expect the same level of professionalism from TFA compared to what you would from big corporations. Most TFA managers are amateurs at management but were promoted because they were good teachers.

    Advice to Management

    You should not have worried about hiding all the catches from your prospective applicants - they would have still applied if they believed in your mission. But being sketchy about the potential challenges they would face is why the churn rate is so high.

    Teach for America2014-09-28
  3. Helpful (476)

    "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teach for America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and atmosphere to all employees.

    Cons

    I have not encounter one so far.

    Advice to Management

    none.

    Teach for America2017-08-14
  4. "Teach of America"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teach for America part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome bosses and staff was very helpful

    Cons

    Too much work never had down time

    Teach for America2019-11-12
  5. "Decent pay for work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Reviewer 

    I have been working at Teach for America part-time

    Pros

    Flexibility and extra income $$

    Cons

    depends on caseload since it is hourly

    Teach for America2019-11-12
  6. "Challenging In The Best Ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teach for America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Incredible manager and team - Compensation - Mission - Orientation to innovation and growth - High bar for quality of work/work ethic across teams

    Cons

    - Workload can be intense. Must be good at managing high expectations and tight turnarounds. - Work/life balance in first year can be difficult to strike. Stronger on-boarding could help alleviate this issue. - Professional growth is available around every corner, but clarity around path for promotions isn't as abundant.

    Advice to Management

    I have found TFA Colorado to be an incredible place to work. Expectations are high and this team moves quickly. There is a culture of innovation that has allowed me to develop my career in both technical and foundational ways. The learning curve is steep, and if you're up for it, you're going to grow quickly (and sure, sometimes that is uncomfortable/overwhelming). That said, I've worked at/with a good deal of... nonprofit organizations and an excess of work is unique to none. This work isn't the 9-5 kind, so it's important to understand that and have that work for you personally and professionally. I care about and trust my team deeply and appreciate the opportunity to produce high quality work alongside them. I genuinely enjoy coming to work each day.

    Show More
    Teach for America2019-11-07
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Teach for America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and they prioritize staff culture as well as work/life balance. I had no complaints

    Cons

    All staff have to participate in the selection process with very minimal training offered.

    Teach for America2019-11-07
  8. "Teaching is good for the soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Elementary School 

    I worked at Teach for America full-time

    Pros

    Become a teacher it is very fulfilling

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons.

    Teach for America2019-11-05
  9. "Corps Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teach for America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great support from TFA in general

    Cons

    The job in general is just hard and stressful. CCSD is a mess and you receive little to no support from your actual job site.

    Teach for America2019-10-27
  10. "Great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Development 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Teach for America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, especially for non-profit. You have access to solid training and people will genuinely help you succeed.

    Cons

    Basically everyone in the organization - from teachers all the way on up - is in over their head. You wear a bunch of hats and have to learn on the fly. There should be a lot more efficiency in the organization, but it’s usually lose to turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in organizational knowledge so you’re not always reinventing the wheel when people leave. Less people will leave because of it.

    Teach for America2019-11-05
Found 1156 reviews