TeachFirst Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TeachFirst Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "TeachFirst Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at TeachFirst

    Pros

    Outstanding opportunity for young people to develop their leadership skills in a challenging and rewarding environment like no other in the UK.

    Cons

    Long hours and can be physically very draining teaching all day as you are a performer. Then outside of the classroom you must prepare and mark work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing within TeachFirst. Maybe offer managerial support to school staff who might be excellent teachers but not managers.

    TeachFirst2010-01-24
  2. "Reconsider a graduate scheme at Teachfirst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TeachFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very little benefits of the graduate scheme other than my personal development which was solely down to myself - I've personally got much more out of the experience than they've supported me -

    Cons

    - Very poor support - HR are very bureaucratic and not helpful not supportive. - Very poor expenses policy - alumni and partner organisations are way too oversold in the careers material. Dont get your hopes up! - Hours worked and pay received are incredibly unjust. - I have subsequently moved into another teaching programme which is far superior in training and support.

    TeachFirst2017-02-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Full-time teacher and subject lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Subject Lead and Full-time Teacher in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at TeachFirst

    Pros

    - Immediate responsibility, autonomy and leadership opportunities - Structured support programme and pedagogical training -

    Cons

    - High level of stress - Full-time teaching responsibilities as a trainee

    Advice to Management

    More involved support for struggling candidates

    TeachFirst2016-10-30
  4. "Teacher of English"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Curriculum Leader in Droylsden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at TeachFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good networking opportunities, good support system during training year, clear vision for future of organisation, well catered events, high quality colleagues.

    Cons

    Some of the university side of training was poor - many, many hours were wasted during 'subject studies days.' The quality of training during NQT year was poor and somewhat pointless.

    Advice to Management

    Please look at the NQT year and don't make participants waste time doing local area meetings in their training year when they're snowed under with work. They were too often used to whinge and moan.

    TeachFirst2016-10-28
  5. "Misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TeachFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary and paid PGCE. Good network (although not the one advertised).

    Cons

    Misleading in the fact that Teach First does not provide sufficient teacher training to support trainees. There is very little negotiation of circumstance - you are given one offer and one offer only!

    TeachFirst2016-10-30
  6. "Some huge pluses but some sad cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TeachFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic benefits and proper pay which is rare in the charity sector. The nicest colleagues I have ever had. I have always had great colleagues but these are some of the best. Good opportunities and progression options if you want them.

    Cons

    I am bullied by my line manager so have been unlucky. Some leadership and communications isn't great and can make work on the ground challenging sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    Be brave and do something about the people you know are causing genuine problems.

    TeachFirst2016-10-28
  7. "Brand Manager Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at TeachFirst part-time

    Pros

    - Great flexibility regarding when you can work - Always fun to talk to people on the job, shifts don't get boring - Good pay for the work - Get to work for a great charity with a great mission

    Cons

    - Lots of admin and pointless internal reviews etc - How busy you are ebbs and flows throughout the year, beginning of academic year and after Christmass is crazy, but towards the end of term there is very little work

    TeachFirst2016-05-09
  8. "A teaching agency that market themselves well but do not support you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TeachFirst full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great reputation for future careers, paid route into teaching, can get good training if you are lucky and get a good school, get to work with children, lots of responsibility from the start

    Cons

    Very long hours, low pay (I worked out I was on less than minimum wage with all of my hours), sometimes too much responsibility from the start, highly bureaucratic, TeachFirst do not support you if things go wrong, placement is not chosen and highly variable

    Advice to Management

    Do not send teachers into new schools because they are not set up and do not have adequate systems, do not send teachers to schools with appaling contracts such as no holiday or sick pay, listen to teachers when SLT do not want you there, step up to support struggling teachers and listen to them

    TeachFirst2014-02-13
  9. "STEM Insight Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - STEM Insight Participant 
    Recommends

    I worked at TeachFirst (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Information about the Leadership Development Program Final day assessment allows direct entry to LDP if successful Opportunity to teach via school placement

    Cons

    Not enough focus on teaching careers after TeachFirst No discussion about alternative routes and why TeachFirst is better

    TeachFirst2017-06-23
Found 9 reviews