Ted Baker London Reviews

Updated 20 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 660 of over 723 reviews

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Ted Baker London Chief Executive Officer  Rachel Osborne (no image)
Rachel Osborne
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice team, good discount and reliable work(in 48 reviews)

  • "great discount, friendly customers and staff(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes long hours and demanding customers(in 30 reviews)

  • "Just part time work alongside my university studies(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fab

      23 May 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fab atmosphere, team & pay. Great place to work.

      Cons

      no cons, lovely atmosphere & overall a great place to work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      If I could rate it less I would.

      15 May 2021 - Creative in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I wish I could think of a positive to balance this, but working their really effected my mental health and self esteem.

      Cons

      Bullying and a ritualised humiliation culture is woven into the seams of that business. Even after the allegations made a few years ago (which only covered a very small % of what happened within that business) it is still shamelessly toxic. I was glad to hear the removal of the senior management who had been in that business for decades, who perpetuated and pushed that horrible working environment and did not protect their staff (both men and women). I doubt they are ashamed, but they should be. Middle management bullying is the norm. Hugely disorganised. Poor product, cheaply produced and overpriced, mostly bought by 'city workers' who are too cheap to buy Paul Smith. Location isn't even very good. Pay was poor. Archaic in processes and incredibly reluctant to adapt and change. They will go the way of brands like Ben Sherman and become irrelevant. I've never worked at a business where it was normal to hear people shout down phones at each other and suppliers. I am also incredibly sceptical of the repeated and very brief reviews on glass door that all say "good" numerous times. Feels like an orchestrated attempt to up their rating.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good start

      18 Jun 2021 - Shop Assistant in Covent Garden, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good if wanting to go into fashion , understand it more Decent pay Nice team

      Cons

      Hours can be awkward in terms of timing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Toxic

      20 Jun 2021 - Anonymous, Customer Department in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing people and iconic brand

      Cons

      Mass exodus from Customer and more excuses made rather than deal with toxic management. Terrible morale, everyone is miserable or has quit and we’ve not even done well. Performance has been the opposite. The self proclaimed expert who forces and ignores is a failure. The pay is low yet comes with more work and more stress from toxic leadership. Glad I left and already feel better for it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Negative experience

      8 May 2021 - Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with good factories, designing nice products, good coffee shop within the building

      Cons

      The short amount of time I spent at Ted I found the experience to be very negative and as a result had to take a lot to time off work to recover from burnout. If you are looking to work at ted I really hope this review is helpful. Not all the experience there was negative but I think it’s important to be as transparent as I can and although the managers i refer to below have since left I really do hope the culture and treatment of employees has changed, especially within design. There’s a real managerial and hierarchical institutionalised bullying culture. This makes the working environment very toxic, tense and incredibly stressful. Morals very low, plenty of mid games and lots of unhappy people. I witnessed bullying on my team first hand on a frequent basis. It’s near impossible to get advise or help from HR. To the point where after having a confidential chat with HR, information regarding that chat was sent to my then manager. Ultimately HR are there to protect the company and any complaint regarding bullying is not taken seriously at all.

      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Bad decisions, chaos and exhaustion

      6 Jun 2021 - Group Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people, staff discount and back when we were in the office the barista coffee was good.

      Cons

      The company is struggling and doesn’t have a real plan for how to turn things around. The transformation plan is a set of vague ideas most of which don’t have any real substance or detail. The CEO has done well at the things you’d expect a finance director to do well in like cutting costs and getting loans. The problem is that’s not what a CEO should be doing. No one is steering the ship in any particular direction to help the company succeed. There’s a lack of any leadership, strategic thinking or modern retail expertise. Nothing is coordinated, little is planned, everything is a reaction to what someone else is doing that week with no thought as to whether it is relevant or important. The end result is chaos. The brand refresh hasn’t gone well and the same goes for the change in direction of clothing. Trying to appeal to younger people who are clearly not interested with weird stuff like poetry while simultaneously offering the same clothing as the rest of the high street at more than double the price isn’t smart without a reason for them to pay. We’re now trapped on deep discounts and there are constantly excuses made rather than facing up to the fact that it has all been poorly thought through and executed. The company still has most of the same big problems it’s had for some time. Little is being done to tackle these instead there is a focus on stuff that isn’t important. When the roof on your house is falling in, the electrics are gone and the pipes are all leaking you don’t concern yourself with picking some new wallpaper. But that’s what goes on and that’s why the company hasn’t made any progress. Staff are fed up. We’re overworked, underpaid and tired of dealing with bad decision after bad decision. The company and brand has life left in it but it’s being dragged down.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Okay-ish place to work

      5 Jun 2021 - Sales Associate in Manchester City Centre, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff discount (75%) and maybe bonus during Xmas if achieved (impossible targets) Pretty decent as a part time job during uni. Make some friends

      Cons

      Too much management staff for a small store Can be quite a clique work place with managers and their favourites Issues are pretty much blamed onto sales advisors rather than management taking the blame. KPIS are impossible to achieve especially during the pandemic - don't even get rewarded anything extra for achieving personal targets. Can be boring and long hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good team atmosphere

      3 Feb 2021 - Sales Advisor - Full Time in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A playful, humorous management approach. Freedom to choose what you want wear as a uniform (let's you be yourself). They aim to create a friendly environment.

      Cons

      Head Office Management doesn't shy away from making empty promises to drive productivity (also don't take responsibility when getting addressed on it in person). Very much behind with competition in terms of implementing technology. Central London stores late shift ends at 9pm, yet early shifts start at 7am (unreasonable expectations/detrimental for your health and sleep pattern). Very plain product training, no real in-depth training on fabrics, design inspiration, styling or care. Not sure what they expect Advisors to tell customers. No investment in staff utilities. The toilets are in the staff room, 1.5 meters away from where the rest of the staff eats (far from tasteful).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Passion for the brand is importatnt - it will be the only incentive to stay

      16 Jun 2021 - Supervisor in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      75% discount on work clothes

      Cons

      Bad Management, shift work, expectations are too high for the low reward, clothes are poor quality but overpriced.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Part Time

      25 May 2021 - Sales Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A supportive team environment with lovely team members

      Cons

      Change working hours, inconsistent in rotas

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 660 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ted Baker London Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ted Baker London? Share Your Experiences

    Ted Baker London logo
    or