Terex Reviews

Updated 15 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
53%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Terex Chief Executive Officer and President John L. Garrison, Jr (no image)
John L. Garrison, Jr
83 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people to work with, corporate setting, work life balance(in 30 reviews)

  • "Great people and lots of opportunity to lead projects right of the bat(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance and distance to Belfast(in 15 reviews)

  • "At the very least this shows a really poor long term outlook or difficulty making the hard decisions on the part of upper management(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Qualified Accountant in Lurgan, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open to career growth

    Cons

    Distance as it’s outside of Belfast

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-09-24
  2. "Hectic first week of every month"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Craigavon, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people and working hours (non busy periods)

    Cons

    Managers and above don't care about lower employees

    Terex2020-04-16

    Terex Response

    April 26, 2020Director, Corporate Communications

    Thank you for taking time to post, and it is good to hear that you enjoyed your team members. "Servant Leadership," meaning using one's skills and position to help the people on our teams succeed, is one of the six Terex Way values and is core to who we are. We are disappointed that you did not have the impression that managers care about their teams. This is a priority for us and we'll continue to make it so, with the goal of creating opportunity and a positive experience for the team. Wishing you all the best.

  3. "Circus"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Factory Worker in Omagh, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time

    Pros

    Co workers who work on shop floor

    Cons

    Terex in omagh is a circus that run by clowns. Management treat workers like dirt and think are somebody. Management makes things up as go along suit them bullying in workplace goes on ppl say any hr they sweep it under carpet omagh not about what u know it about who u know. Not a place I'd advise any one to work stay clear

    Continue reading
    Terex2020-05-15

    Terex Response

    May 20, 2020Director, Corporate Communications

    Thank you for posting to Glassdoor. We are pleased that you enjoyed engaging with fellow team members on the shop floor but are disappointed to read your negative impressions. Terex Omagh have robust processes and procedures, both formal and informal, to deal with team member concerns and complaints in relation to any matter of employment. There is a Grievance procedure and Dignity at Work policy and procedure, which both provide the opportunity for any team member to raise any issues or concerns which will be dealt with in a professional and timely manner. Managers have an open door policy and actively welcome team members to raise issues informally, which very often results in positive outcomes for both the team member and the business and demonstrates the spirit of continuous improvement. Terex also carry out anonymous Team Member Engagement Surveys, which result in cohesive action plans to address any low scoring metrics as measured by team members, and we endeavour to continuously improve the engagement metrics and work environment in which team members work. Terex also has a Terex Ethics Helpline available to all team members 24/7, which is another forum by which team members have the opportunity to raise issues or concerns if they are not satisfied with the outcome received internally at the site. Each location also has a Business Practices Advocate in place who offers team members an alternative option to raise issues they do not want to raise directly with their supervisor or manager. These many channels provide all team members with several options to raise issues or concerns they may have so they can be dealt with confidentially where appropriate and in a professional manner.

  4. "Friendly"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pricing Analyst in Dungannon, Northern Ireland
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment Good work life balance

    Cons

    Didn’t have any while I was here

    Terex2020-03-26

    Terex Response

    April 26, 2020Director, Corporate Communications

    Thank you for your kind words. It sounds like Terex Materials Processing in Dungannon was a good experience for you, and we are glad to hear that. Wishing you continued success and all best!

  5. "Good place to work and career opportunities"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work and career opportunities

    Cons

    Work life balance and distance to Belfast

    Terex2020-02-25
  6. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fitter in Omagh, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good the health care and discount cards

    Cons

    Not able to take holidays when

    Terex2020-02-20

    Terex Response

    February 20, 2020Director, Corporate Communications

    Thank you for your comments. We wish for you to have continued success in your Terex MP career.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "As you would expect"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Craigavon, Northern Ireland

    I have been working at Terex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Slow pace of work compared to any other company I have worked for

    Cons

    Low Pay with no room for pay advancement without switching jobs / roles.

    Continue reading
    Terex2020-02-21
  8. "Grad Accountant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Accountant in Lurgan, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Terex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Early finish on a Friday

    Cons

    Workload and unpaid overtime hours

    Terex2020-01-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Very hardline management techniques"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Manufacturing Engineer in Dungannon, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good camaraderie with your direct peers and some very talented engineers who will go the extra mile to help

    Cons

    Very little feedback from direct bosses. Absolutely no adherence to the “terex values” that are constantly spouted and an out of control culture of management bullying that HR are either unable or unwilling to bring into check. The company has massive potential but please be wary of leaving a job to take a role with terex dungannon. If your face doesn’t fit you will be forced out of the company.

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-08-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A lot HAS to change"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Terex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great teamwork within my department, I get on very well with my direct colleagues and people in my office

    Cons

    Hostility between departments, they say there's no blame culture but its always someone else's fault Promotions are based on who they like or how desperate they are, they struggle to attract new talent None, or at best insufficient, managerial training Inconsistent day in lieu policy (it should be a day for a day, clearly management don't value YOUR time) Minimum matched pension contributions (inconsistent again, some TM's get a better deal for no reason) If the big wigs don't like you, they will make you want to leave HR are more like PA's to the GM's They're so target driven managers will step on anyone and fudge the numbers to keep their bonuses, if you don't hit your targets you need to look at why, fixing that problem is better than desperately trying to please a director at any cost, it should not cost you your job. Get rid of bonuses, just pay all your employees fairly, many people get them that don't deserve them, many don't get them that do deserve them. Unwilling to invest in their employees, it is an uphill battle to get any training or equipment that will improve yours or your teams roles. If there is not an immediate ROI they don't want to know. Rudeness/bullying from upper management, no one will raise it because they are afraid of repercussions

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-08-08
Found 492 reviews