Thames Water "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Thames Water Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 6 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
59%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Thames Water Interim Executive Chairman Ian Marchant  (no image)
Ian Marchant
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "The business is full of great people(in 14 reviews)

  • "Thames Water also values family and work-life balance which was also very important for me in a company(in 13 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company, really look after staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Thames Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits,hours,Treatment of staff, facilities and work life balance

    Cons

    Parking can be a pain sometimes

    Thames Water2019-06-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Management Apathy Trickle Down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thames Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonable salary Convenient location to trains

    Cons

    Lip service to mental health well-being and work/life balance Bullying an on-going issue Apathetic upper management results in stagnation and frustration Non-existent training opportunities Inefficient managers

    Thames Water2020-01-06
  3. "Great company to work, flexible and encourage work life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Learning and Development Specialist in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thames Water full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people and culture. Everyone stays there for long time. Lots of internal movement.

    Cons

    HR department isn't as great as the rest of the business. A lot of internal politics and not flexible to encourage work life balance.

    Thames Water2019-12-18
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thames Water full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is really good

    Cons

    Bad interim CEO who does not care about staff

    Continue reading
    Thames Water2019-08-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Just OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Treasury Accountant in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thames Water full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good for security future roles, good pay, good for experience.

    Cons

    Work life balance in Treasury department was awful, people with ego, short staffed. No Bonus offered.

    Thames Water2019-08-17
  6. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Project Manager in Reading, England

    I have been working at Thames Water for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, centrally located, casual attire, work life balance

    Cons

    Leadership changes impacts BAU and people management

    Thames Water2019-08-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Manager 

    I have been working at Thames Water full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are fab, fairly good work life balance, lots of areas to work, good mental health policy

    Cons

    Unfair benefits package with only senior managers getting bonus and private medical insurance, can be hard to impact any changes due to so much red tape, people not joined up in their way of working, promotions based on who you know , pdr process inconsistent across company, poor pay rises

    Thames Water2019-07-02
  8. "Very good company to work for, inclusive and supportive culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thames Water full-time

    Pros

    While I was looking for a job, it was very important for me to find an inclusive and open-minded culture that accepts people from different backgrounds. Thames Water offered me exactly that. I feel comfortable and happy coming to work, my team is very supportive and there are so many opportunities to grow and develop and many departments to explore if you want a change of roles. Thames Water also values family and work-life balance which was also very important for me in a company. Knowing that from the work we do here we provide water (which is so essential to life) to millions of people is very satisfying and rewarding. I would definitely recommend Thames Water.

    Cons

    When I first started, it took a bit of time to get all the software sorted. But that gave me a chance to get to know the team and the company before I started the real work which I guess is not too bad.

    Thames Water2019-01-30
  9. "Mechanical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Thames Water full-time

    Pros

    Great team spirit Good work life balance

    Cons

    Lack of contact with higher management

    Thames Water2019-01-23
  10. "Thames Water"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Thames Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance in my current position Flexi time Supportive team

    Cons

    Poor salary development Lack of technology to improve day to day jobs

    Thames Water2018-10-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 21 reviews