The Body Shop Assistant Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Body Shop Assistant Store Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
1 Ratings
  1. "Liked the company for the most part"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule; hands on training; good discounts on products

    Cons

    Closed our doors with very little notice.

    The Body Shop2019-06-04
  2. "Good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits, salary, sick days, environmentally friendly

    Cons

    no overtime, sometimes takes a while to get promoted

    The Body Shop2018-07-22
  3. "Clear job role, good environment to work in, lovely customers and good people to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    All is set out from visual mercandising to till procedures, easy to follow, good training given, friendly staff, good athmosphere, good customers, good product discount

    Cons

    Wage low, not much creativity in it, no new challanges once learned all

    Advice to Management

    To respond to changes in economic environment quickly. Be more efficient. Pay staff better.

    The Body Shop2018-05-25
  4. "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Regina, SK

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discount, awesome products, great core values, good people

    Cons

    Not enough hours to efficiently run the store, keep up on tasks and do everything in between. Also sales targets are too high for our achieve consistently

    Advice to Management

    Upper management needs to understand they put too much work and stress on managers with barely enough hrs to even have staff running the store in open hrs

    The Body Shop2017-07-21
  5. "Full Time Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free merchandise. Wonderful mission statement

    Cons

    Management is disorganized. Petty Drama because of how small the store was. Slow and boring at times

    Advice to Management

    Treat people the way they want to be treated

    The Body Shop2017-03-04
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was initially drawn to the Body Shop's five founding values (which I later learned were not as prominent in practices after L'Oreal took over). I really loved my sales team, I had the best store manager, lots of responsibility and great opportunity for growth. Great Experience in a manger role for me and the company really likes to hire from within.

    Cons

    I always worked weekends and crazy holiday hours but that's part of what comes with working in retail. Also, I felt the pay for part-time employees was significantly low ESPECIALLY for managers, given all of our responsibilities and expectations. Was not happy when I found out about the ridiculously toxic ingredients I was selling to my clients. That's pretty much why I left -- had a nice experience otherwise.

    Advice to Management

    update the inventory/shipping system fix your ingredients please get back to the roots of the body shop and provide your lovely loyal customers with CLEAN, HEALTHY, AND BEAUTIFUL PRODUCTS/ SERVICES <3

    The Body Shop2016-09-11
  7. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, discount, uniform flexability

    Cons

    Not enough hours to satsify team

    The Body Shop2016-01-23
  8. "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Store Manager in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop for more than a year

    Pros

    Great store values, awesome products and amazing deals almost all year round.

    Cons

    Some management can be amazing, like mine, but others can be a great headache.

    The Body Shop2015-10-26
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Store Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends

    I worked at The Body Shop

    Pros

    Great discount for their products.

    Cons

    Pore management, very strict rules from head offices.

    The Body Shop2015-08-24
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You work at a company that does Community Fair Trade, community service and volunteering (paid) monthly bonus, competitive salary, work around your schedule. If you're a student.

    Cons

    Lots of work with not enough hours and people to do your job. It has become very corporate (owned by L'Oreal )

    Advice to Management

    With all the paperwork is requested from us, it would be nice to get more hours to do that and still be able to spend time on the floor helping customers & making money. Upper management wants us to focus on so many different things but there's not proper organization.

    The Body Shop2015-08-07
Found 13 reviews