The Body Shop Key Holder Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Body Shop Key Holder Reviews

Updated 11 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
3 Ratings
  1. "No progression!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder in Spalding, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff discount and company benefits. They understand family life comes first

    Cons

    They do not allow their current staff to progress or train them properly when they start

    Advice to Management

    Look into stores a lot more!

    The Body Shop2014-05-20
  2. "Keyholder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Dublin, Dublin

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team to work with. Everyone was helpful and friendly. Manager was supportive.

    Cons

    Pay is low for supervision responsibilities. Before 2017, they used to pay for the travel fare when sending staffs to work outside of their home store eg. Liffey Vally, Blanchardstown, Swords, but not anymore.

    The Body Shop2019-06-11
  3. "Good starter job for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Key Holder in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great first job for college/high school students. You learn a lot about how a business works and there is some room to move up when working part-time (customer consultant to key holder). Also good 50% off employee discount.

    Cons

    Low pay for what is expected for you to do at times. Was expected to train a bunch of new employees, was paid the same amount as them despite being a key holder. Pay is "non-negotiable". High turnover at some locations with some interesting co-workers that do not stay too long. Depending on your location, sales targets may be very difficult to reach.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to who you are hiring to avoid such a high turnover. Provide accurate compensation for employees who have more responsibility.

    The Body Shop2019-04-02
  4. "Dismal Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Long Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The products are wonderful and cruelty free!

    Cons

    Your bosses will suck, their bosses won’t care, and you can expect HR to literally ignore your phone calls and emails until you quit in exasperation.

    Advice to Management

    Customers notice things like a high turnover rate. You’re not fooling anyone. Stop treating young female employees like they’re disposable. Invest in your teams. Train your workers instead of just hoping they’ll figure it out. Hire store managers with experience and people skills...preferably both.

    The Body Shop2019-02-18
  5. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Topanga, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very involved with the staff - Educate you on all of the products so you know how to sell the best - Pay is good for the job

    Cons

    - Interview process is fairly long

    Advice to Management

    Amazing company to work for!! Highly recommend

    The Body Shop2019-01-31
  6. "They take advantage of employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The discount, and location

    Cons

    Corporate never seems to know exactly what's going on, they closed our location and promised to help us get jobs and that never happened, we've closed the store over a week ago and still haven't gotten our last paychecks, our severance wont be given to us for another month, corporate has no answers about our checks we keep getting told different things by different people dispite the laws being pretty clear on when we...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    See above statement. You expect way too much and give way too little by means of the demands you make of employees and when it comes to last paychecks and severance no one knows anything and no one cares

    The Body Shop2019-02-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Starter Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Body Shop for more than a year

    Pros

    There's a ceiling- but you have the ability to move up to management positions quickly.

    Cons

    Like with every job, the people you work with can be sour. The company itself is great.

    Advice to Management

    Promote good people who get the job done. Staff more durning the holidays.

    The Body Shop2018-12-12
  8. "PT Key Holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pt Key Holder in Arcadia, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -great employee discounts -great team -learning about community trade was really cool and fun to share with my customers

    Cons

    -management can sometimes micro manage -the most recent new keyholder had to work Thanksgiving -holiday hours, sometimes staying till 1-2am -not much room for growth

    Advice to Management

    listen to your team, they can help give their opinions on things

    The Body Shop2018-08-03
  9. "Dissatisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent employee discount. Ethical products.

    Cons

    This company is failing in the US. Numerous store closings. High turnovers. Store Goals are reflective of company’s deficits. In store technology is 15 years behind. Inconsistent support from Upper Management (Regional, District, Shipping).

    The Body Shop2018-07-26
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, job stability, bonus structure is awesome.

    Cons

    Expect to work weekends every weekend at that , and work more than the manager

    The Body Shop2018-06-04
Found 19 reviews