The Body Shop Keyholder Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Body Shop Keyholder Reviews

Updated 30 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
0 Ratings
  1. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great discount. Good company values. Focused on training

    Cons

    Long hrs as any retail

    The Body Shop2017-06-28
  2. "key holder sales consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholding Sales Consultant in Gateshead, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    in house training working with the public and community values, high standard of customer service

    Cons

    shift work, targets set to high

    Advice to Management

    have more one to one contact with the sales consultants with regards of how the shop is being run by the management

    The Body Shop2016-03-01
  3. "Great place to work but could have some improvements."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop

    Pros

    When you start training is most of the time very thorough and interesting. Working with people to make them feel better about themselves. Free products and great discounts. Most managers are flexible and mindful of staff with children.

    Cons

    Could work long hours and extra over time in busy periods. If you weren't a favourite no matter how long you've worked there you won't go far. Some managers can be lazy and leave a lot on the staff. Managers like to blame staff for poor performance but reality is they spend a lot of time in the office and not a lot helping staff improve.

    Advice to Management

    Some managers need a few HR tips. Continued training and a more dependable first lot of training. Loyalty to the company and hard work should be recognised by higher ups. Monthly bonuses to staff below managers should also be a monetary one not free products up to X value. More support for staff.

    The Body Shop2015-03-15
  4. "Terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount is very acceptable

    Cons

    People always complaining about the high prices, extremely rude Chinese customers, a manager who loves to cause drama between the staff and who lies to get what she wants.

    Advice to Management

    Follow procedures and be professional

    The Body Shop2014-10-01
  5. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Keyholder in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work

    Cons

    being pushy with sales all the time

    The Body Shop2019-05-30
  6. "It's okay if you like retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder in Salem, NH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The products, discounts, makeup, body care

    Cons

    Working weekends, angry customers, slow days

    Advice to Management

    Management at the site I worked at was a joke a revolving door....

    The Body Shop2018-12-10
  7. "Key holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Keyholder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The companies ethics and values. The products are also amazing.

    Cons

    The pay, competitive work atmosphere.

    Advice to Management

    I would stop with the personal sales goals because it create unnecessary tension between coworkers. There is also no need for personal goals because you do not reward us based on them. You only reward overall store sales goal.

    The Body Shop2018-09-09
  8. "Marry your passion for your involvement in the world to make a difference through beauty products."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholding Sales Consultant in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to cruelty free products, benefits, helping out various charities and Samaritan efforts, carefree work environment, employee discounts and nice management.

    Cons

    Retail always comes with blackout dates; holiday hours and closing times vary. If you cannot stand personally touching people this is not the job for you; need to sample products on customer's hand.

    Advice to Management

    My manager and district mangers were great.

    The Body Shop2016-05-23

    The Body Shop Response

    August 23, 2016Talent Acquisition - Intern

    Thank you for your comments. We are proud to offer all of our staff paid volunteering days and we are glad you enjoyed contributing to our Enrich Not Exploit™ Commitment. We value our employees and we’re striving to offer a positive experience for them and for our customers. It’s ...

    Show More
  9. "Overall Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate and Keyholder in Calgary, AB

      I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good discount, I had a lot of awesome coworkers, great smells, a few good managers, flexible hours, hours are good if the store's doing good.

      Cons

      Product is kind of expensive, low wage (but it's retail, so what do you expect), seasonal workers may get paid more for the Christmas season, can be cliquey (I didn't experience much of this, mostly with one specific manager).

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees, especially head office. I remember policies implemented that may have made sense in theory but in execution were horrible ideas. Coach your employees, don't just discipline. Give advice to show what they could do differently if something isn't working.

      The Body Shop2015-10-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Overall decent workplace"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Keyholder in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Discount, Products, Brand Values, Brand Charity Initiatives, Dynamic, Provides Challenges for growth

      Cons

      Management not always on same page, they do not understand the real situations that take place in the store leading to many rushed, annoying TPO system which causes many problems for worker

      Advice to Management

      Invest some more into the human resources = employees, provide greater incentives for hard workers, management needs to be organized in its direction, changing goals are misleading. Stop discontinuing the best products and really invest in upgrading the entire TPO system

      The Body Shop2014-04-13
    Found 12 reviews