The Body Shop Reviews

Updated 27 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
115 Ratings
  1. "Good pay,"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time

    Pros

    Good salary, great staff discount

    Cons

    You are often expected to work overtime. Not great for students who only want to work a few hours a week.

    The Body Shop2020-01-10
  2. "Too pushy"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pension contributions and free products.

    Cons

    They are too money focused for a company that 'prides' themselves in 'doing it for the customer'. Managers are too pushy with targets and don't listen to you. Baring in mind there is no commission set and no appreciation when you do hit targets. No support from the company when needing to change your days to suit your personal life. Threatened with disaplinaries when you are 1 minute late to the shop floor, but it's okay for others to be late? Very 1 sided company.

    Continue reading
    The Body Shop2020-01-08
  3. "Great learning experience"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Team Leader in Doncaster, England

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning about new products Great bonuses Great customer service experience

    Cons

    Unrealistic targets Long hours Very full on with sales

    The Body Shop2020-01-08
  4. "Purpose Driven Organisation"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rewards Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing belief and purpose driven organisation.

    Cons

    People management requires improvement. Lack teams/departments taking ownership (blame culture).

    Continue reading
    The Body Shop2019-12-21
  5. "Very Cliquey atmosphere"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Product training and bonuses

    Cons

    Very Cliquey atmosphere, not supported by senior management

    The Body Shop2020-01-01
  6. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive store management Opportunity to progress Company wide incentives

    Cons

    Shops can get lost in the system sometimes

    The Body Shop2019-12-06
  7. "Great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Consultant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free products Company that cares about animals, environment, social problems

    Cons

    Have to aim to sign up people for the LYBC card

    The Body Shop2019-11-25
  8. "Good pay, good colleagues"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teamleader in Wimbledon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free products 3 times per year Various bonuses 50% employee discount Flexible hours

    Cons

    Bonuses was not always matched with the amount of work you do for it No security for store

    The Body Shop2019-11-18
  9. "A brand that looks after you"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training and investment into staff Great benefits: free products, cash bonus, and wellbeing bonuses

    Cons

    Can often be very reactive rather than proactive

    The Body Shop2019-11-16
  10. "Amazing benefits and relaxed environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Watford, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay package

    Cons

    I left because I wasn't engaged, perfect job for someone who wants to coast but I strive under pressure.

    The Body Shop2019-11-05
Found 1103 reviews