The Body Shop Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Body Shop Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1012 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
74 Ratings
  1. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked there for a short amount of time but was a good experience. The location i worked at had friendly staff who were really helpful and was a good environment to work in.

    Cons

    They really work you so be prepared for some of the tasks you may have to do.

    The Body Shop2018-12-10
  2. "Keyholder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time

    Pros

    Good company with good values

    Cons

    Franchise buisness acting as company, so pay does not equal to company owned stores.

    The Body Shop2018-12-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful ethical standards and community feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Senior Manager in Littlehampton, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at The Body Shop full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Community feel, high ethical standards, engaged team

      Cons

      Lean structure, split UK head offices

      Advice to Management

      Continue the work forward with Natura to return to former glory !

      The Body Shop2018-11-12
    • Helpful (2)

      "Could be a lot better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

      I worked at The Body Shop full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great company benefits and lots of nice people. The community trade programme and the policy on animal testing.

      Cons

      Lots of poor managers that make poor decisions and hide the truth from the CEO. The pagonda building staff are treated better than the warehouse staff and a lot of the staff in the pagonda building like to think they're better than everybody else.

      Advice to Management

      Stop putting men and women into managers roles that don't know how to manage staff and are out of there comfort zone to do the role required of them.

      The Body Shop2018-11-24
    • "Sales Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Body Shop part-time

      Pros

      Friendly environment Socially responsible products Good availability to training

      Cons

      Sometimes can be quite quiet Alot of temp workers

      The Body Shop2018-11-01
    • "Great Workplace friendliest atmosphere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Consultant in Newry, Northern Ireland
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great team to work with, amazing training, amazing products and brand, truely innovative company

      Cons

      no cons - all great experiences

      The Body Shop2018-10-31
    • "Store Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Body Shop full-time

      Pros

      Ethical company Great products Invest in training and development

      Cons

      Difficult to progress as store manager if in a store that's remote

      The Body Shop2018-10-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "The worst compony"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Team Leader in Stratford, London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The only pros that this company has is the staff discount.

      Cons

      I was hired as a team, however i was mislead and informed wrong information about my salary and was never paid correctly, I was also dismissed by my manager and refused to get statutory sick pay which is a government scheme ,however when I contacted HR ,they told me that I'm eligible for it and I had to sort it myself. Lazy assistant manager that only came to work in the absent of the manager to be on her phone talking...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      To do their job probably and train their employees rather than letting them do whatever they want.

      The Body Shop2018-11-23
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Consultant in Renfrew, Scotland
      Recommends

      I have been working at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Free Products Staff Discount Pension Uniform Incentives Opportunities to advance career Great training Great place to work with lovely staff, a happy atmosphere and a company with real ethics.

      Cons

      None that I've found so far

      Advice to Management

      Customer consultants are the greatest asset your company has, make sure you continue to look after us.

      The Body Shop2018-10-16
    • Helpful (3)

      "Awful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in York, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at The Body Shop full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      They do not test on animals

      Cons

      My entire 3 months of working there The boss was a bully, the girls were immature and unprofessional, the pay sucked, you had no benefits. THEY FORCE YOU TO ADVERTISE THEIR PRODUCTS ON YOUR SOCIAL MEDIA GROUPS TO FRIENDS AND FAMILY AND DONT PAY YOU A PENNY. Worst 3 months of my working life.

      Advice to Management

      Stop employing bullies

      The Body Shop2018-11-17
    Found 1012 reviews