The Body Shop Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Body Shop Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated 31 Jul 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
1 Ratings
  1. "Really enjoyable job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, bright and positive work atmosphere and it's great to have such a small team to work with as it makes everyone closer. Being passionate about what we sell is also important as it's great to know exactly what we are selling. The freebies and discounts are also a massive plus as well as flexible working hours and great management team.

    Cons

    Get a lot of questions about the company working for L'Oreal and whether our values are kept true to the original Body Shop. We're also complained to a lot about our prices and why we don't do refills anymore. Also why we keep discontinuing products that were customer favourites before.

    Advice to Management

    Being friendly with your employees makes them happy to work for you. Have had previous experience with a manager that take their personal lives into their work lives and get snappy at the workers. It makes working not so enjoyable.

    The Body Shop2014-08-20
  2. "Senior Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good way to start working on your organisational skills

    Cons

    Other staff members do not take you as much in consideration as a SSA is usually a more senior sales person to them.

    Advice to Management

    If the more senior management team has a structure you can definitely feel valued, if not, they tend to leave you on the outside to deal with their disorganization.

    The Body Shop2017-10-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A lovely brand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely brand with fantastic ethics, it was great to feel proud of the brand you're working for. Staff were friendly and kind. You also received 50% off which is a fabulous discount.

    Cons

    Having to meet targets regarding the loyalty card, was often scolded for not being persistent enough (aka annoying customers) and 6 hour shifts with only 20 minutes break.

    The Body Shop2016-07-28
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Absolutely hated it, wouldn't even shop there now."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop

    Pros

    Very few, but the incentives were good.

    Cons

    See below. There are many.

    Advice to Management

    I worked at the Bridlesmith Gate store in Nottingham and absolutely hated it. I was treated like a disposable nothing by the permanent staff who were already there. Staff of the same level as me would get me to do all their work while they stood around chatting. If I spent even a second talking to another member of staff they'd discipline me even though all they did was chat and mess around. One particular time I remember...

    Show More
    The Body Shop2015-03-31
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Stepford Wives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop

    Pros

    Some amazing products , very clean on shop floor , some benefits to customers , community fair trade

    Cons

    Before reading this I would just like to tell you that I have worked for a variety of cosmetic companies and retail positions . This company is beyond comparison as so disappointed with what my expectations of the company were. Robot-like personalities Insincere compliments to staff AND customers ..constantly Money grabbing , highly manipulative selling techniques Like working on commission ...without the commission...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change policies immediately , or hire people without a shred of humanity in them .

    The Body Shop2015-02-16
  6. "Great experience with a fair-trade company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They do what they say they do and try to limit the inequality within the business. The upside being that you're part of that company and they do try to treat you well.

    Cons

    The highly unequal work hours. They expect a weekly rotation where hours and times change with the discretion of senior members of staff, making it difficult to have a 'normal' life outside work

    The Body Shop2014-07-19
  7. "sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    supports fair trade communities, and makes customers aware of it. flexible working hours. great discount. a mix of ages and personalities working there, all with a passion for natural, fair trade products, healthy lifestyle and environment.

    Cons

    the pay is quite low for the product knowledge and demonstration expectations that would be exactly the same expectation for say..creme de la mer.

    Advice to Management

    offer more benefits and bonus for employees

    The Body Shop2014-06-10
  8. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Christmas Casual/Sales Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at The Body Shop for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great staff and fun management -Great team activities aimed at learning more about the business and its products before every shift

    Cons

    Small store space making it hard to move around and accomodate many customers in store

    The Body Shop2018-07-31
  9. "Everyone is like family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop for more than a year

    Pros

    Training provided is super helpful and fun

    Cons

    Music playlist sucks sometimes haha

    Advice to Management

    You're doing great! Keep going!

    The Body Shop2018-03-23
  10. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Dundrum, Dublin
    Recommends

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours. Management listen to staff. Great young team.

    Cons

    I have realised that retail is not for me!

    The Body Shop2017-03-25
Found 15 reviews