The Body Shop "free products" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Body Shop Employee Reviews about "free products"

Updated 12 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1007 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
72 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management (regional), Forced Sales(in 49 reviews)

  • "as a freelance designer I don't get a discount through the body shop only for full time or part time(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free products"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Ethical Company - Great job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Free Products- you get 5 free products when you start and this can renew 3 times a year Lovely Team- generally the people that work for body sshop are compassionate and kind Good Hours- optional longer breaks and short breaks paid. Shifts are never too late or too early More emphasis on the ethics of company- the company is moving away from being too business orientated and focused on being ethical. They do multiple...

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes feel pressured to bring in the money and it can be difficult

    The Body Shop2019-04-15
  2. "Costumer Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Costumer Service in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Free products, equal pay for all staff of different ages

    Cons

    can be sales driven which isnt nessessary for retail

    Advice to Management

    reduce emphasis on sales as it is uncomfortable for staff and costumers

    The Body Shop2019-01-26
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Consultant in Renfrew, Scotland
    Recommends

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Products Staff Discount Pension Uniform Incentives Opportunities to advance career Great training Great place to work with lovely staff, a happy atmosphere and a company with real ethics.

    Cons

    None that I've found so far

    Advice to Management

    Customer consultants are the greatest asset your company has, make sure you continue to look after us.

    The Body Shop2018-10-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad but room for development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Consultant in Winchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount + 5 free products every year If you work hard, you can always move up on the ladder, room for development Amazing product knowledge development, great training (although depends on store manager) Supporting relocation

    Cons

    Too strict on KPI's Sometimes will be asked to travel to another store Sometimes they cut hours Last minute change in rota (they expect you to live to work basically)

    Advice to Management

    PLEASE always ASK before changing rota!! Especially if it is on a short notice (eg few days before shift). We have a lift outside of work as well, we plan ahead when we get the rota at the beginning of the month so please ask if you can change our shift even if it is a few weeks later, we may have already made plans.

    The Body Shop2018-05-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get 5 free products when you first start - great for beauty enthusiasts. There is a real team ethic, and the people in my team were lovely. £7.50 an hour for everyone as a base pay. When there are new product launches you get one for free to try it. 50% staff discount

    Cons

    Worked in two stores and in both stores the managers micromanaged heavily, although this may just be my bad luck. Really high customer service needed, expected to talk to every customer and give them a consultation to everyone - except this is not how everyone shops, some people like to look at things by themselves. Really high focus on ATV which can be stressful on slow days. I was given a lot of overtime as well....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro managing! Trust that you have trained your employees well and that they'll get the job done.

    The Body Shop2018-06-09
  6. "The Body Shop - Customer - Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount good wage, they pay living wage lots of free products when they come out

    Cons

    difficult to move up in career, dependent on management perhaps to strict on targets lots of 4 hour shifts which is huge time wasting

    Advice to Management

    ease up on targets, set too high with huge punishments when they are missed, despite the majority of stores missing due to exaggeration of expected profits

    The Body Shop2018-04-29
  7. "Terrible work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    free products that are defective/returned.

    Cons

    insufficient training and not effective methods.

    The Body Shop2018-04-22
  8. "Never work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Loughton, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    50% staff discount Good pay Free products (including 5 of your choice when you start, incentives and new upcoming products)

    Cons

    Unclear communication (I would be asked to do one task and whilst halfway through doing it I would be asked to do something else) Unreasonable expectations (I was told to ‘focus on customers’ when there were no customers in the store to focus on. I was also called at 10am on my day off to cover a shift on the other side of London starting at 11am) Disorganised & chaotic environment In the store I worked in the assistant...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees concerns & bullying should never be tolerated at work. As the manager if your assistant manager is a bully & you are enabling this kind of behaviour you are just as bad.

    The Body Shop2018-04-21
  9. "Pro & Cons of the Body Shop at Home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Cambridge, East of England, England

    I have been working at The Body Shop part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great company to work for in terms of levels you can reach when you put the work in and build your customer base/business. Cruelty free products is a definite plus. best way to promote and build your business is to actually be using the products. You can work as little or as often as you want to around your family/existing commitments. We are suppose to be in HYPER GROWTH yet our system was able to cope and crash right...

    Show More

    Cons

    Constantly compete with our high street stores and online when it comes to offers/promotions ! :( this is NOT good, this is where you'll potentially lose sales and customers very quickly !!! If your not naturally a sales person or you don't have a massive groups of friends that will buy from you often you might struggle a bit. Very little at times help/support from some managers when it's really needed.

    Advice to Management

    Management above need to be more understanding and supportive when the system fails us. Less talk of being patient and staying positive and more talk of WHY they system crashed at such a time ...... it's not like it's the companies first Christmas ............ Better training/start up package for ALL beginners. Initial training really isn't up to much, content really needs to be more, especially on their system !!

    The Body Shop2017-10-17
  10. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time

    Pros

    Generous staff discount Free products with new launches Community Traded ingredients Values and campaign

    Cons

    They don't treat all their staff fairly. Favouritism is clearly visible especially with promotions and progression. They will look after only who they want to.

    Advice to Management

    Treat all your employees fairly and appreciate those who do work really hard.

    The Body Shop2017-10-01
Found 1007 reviews