The Body Shop Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Nov 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 of over 1,658 reviews

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
261 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great products that actually work(in 104 reviews)

  • "Flexible working hours and lots of free products(in 95 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "most upper management are stuck up(in 53 reviews)

  • "Not many hours for part time employees(in 41 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "part time"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The best job

      Mar 14, 2020 - Customer Consultant in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free products, ethical company, cares about employees

      Cons

      Not much hours available for part time staff

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent company

      Nov 10, 2020 - Store Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great ethics. Passionate brand. Excellent free products and benefits included.

      Cons

      A lot of pressure. Wage rates great for part time staff but not reflected for managers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Average - not a great place to work as a student

      Apr 18, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great discount scheme - Mostly nice members of staff - Fun serving customers and giving demos and advice - Good opportunity to learn more about skincare & types

      Cons

      - Pay was low for a management position - Constantly accused by senior management. One time after spending more than 5 minutes in the bathroom I was directly accused on my next shift of being on my mobile at work? - Constantly asked to go against the rules eg open early close late or send colleagues out into the main shopping centre with samples - Despite performing well in all aspects of role was threatened with a performance improvement plan because I hadn’t met my target for filling out customer cards (absurd as this was the only issue they had) - inexperienced and inflexible senior management who were extremely young and immature, constantly running to the office to cry or have arguments with their boyfriends on the phone - Did not accept that this was just a part time student role for most of the team unlike most companies I have worked for who would be far more relaxed and understanding

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Starts fun but gets repetitive

      Jul 17, 2019 - Customer Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - easy to pick up key skills that are important in the workplace in general - free products and 50% discount

      Cons

      - Extremely repetitive - part time role yet feels full time as they want you to be flexible and available all the time but you don’t get full time hours - All other roles get cash bonuses, but customer Consultants just get product even though they’re the ones on the shop floor selling product and hitting targets - not much room for progression

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best job

      Mar 31, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful colleagues, training, environment and experience

      Cons

      I am only part time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Great colleagues, Appalling Pay roll.

      Jun 15, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will work with great people and meet friends in your region. The free products and product testers you get are great swell as the staff discount! The in store events are fun and the products are such a good quality and fabulous to work with.

      Cons

      Every month for the whole 2 years I was there I was underpaid by a lot of money. I am still owed money and they don't seem to care about underpaying their staff. As pretty much everyone who is part time or not on a yearly salary (management only) is underpaid and it seems the body shop simply don't care. Never an apology and never anyone at head office to talk to.. only your manager can do this and they have 1000 other things to be doing.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Pros and Cons

      Apr 22, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The Body Shop's ethics are really good (enrich not exploit, no animal testing) - Employee discount - Good products - Good pay (especially for under 18s)

      Cons

      - I was a part-time member of staff on an 8 hour contract, however I was constantly asked to work overtime despite being a full-time student - Staff have to be VERY knowledgeable about the products and there is a lot of pressure to know all of the ingredients, benefits, which person will benefit from each product etc. - Pressure to achieve targets - A lot of time has to be spent doing role play and there is a lot of pressure to sell products

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Expect too much from a Part Time role

      Sep 10, 2017 - Customer Assistant in Chelmsford, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Nice people to work with - 5 items of make up free when you join the company and per year - Training encouraged

      Cons

      - I was on a part time 8 hour a week contract from when I was 16 years old and at school and far too much was expected. All focused on making sales and I felt guilty if we hadn't hit targets.

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A bad experience

      Mar 20, 2016 - Senior Sales in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good staff perks for discount etc. And the product quality is excellent. The company is also against animal cruelty which is great.

      Cons

      You are expected to go above and beyond and you get little to no recognition, the managers spend all their time in the office and you are expected to be free all the time even if your on a part time contract. The job turn over at the store I worked in was huge (alarm bells!) avoid.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing Workplace

      Nov 12, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Broomfield, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very sustainably sourced ingredients, they treat their employees amazing, great compensation

      Cons

      Not many hours for part time employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Body Shop Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at The Body Shop? Share Your Experiences

    The Body Shop logo
    or