The Body Shop "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Body Shop Reviews

Updated 7 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
115 Ratings
  1. "Met some nice people. Company is very unorganized."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great products that can sell themselves.

    Cons

    Very understaffed and puts to much stress on management. The turn over rate becomes so high in so many stores that they will pretty much hire anyone for a assistant part time manager which in turn can effect the stores goals. Stores are closing left and right in some districts when other corporations are opening up like wild fire!

    Advice to Management

    Have your district managers be willing to train your store managers in turn train the rest of your store. Listen to your workers. Would you want to go to work everyday if you didn't feel appreciated?

    The Body Shop2013-03-27
  2. "Best place I have ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop

    Pros

    The management is very organized and practical. This company stands for amazing things. You truly get to feel good about the work you are doing. The people who you work with are wonderful I have never experienced gossip or caddyness.

    Cons

    There is really not a lot to complain about. The pay is pretty low and there is not a ton of room for growth. Also when it is not holiday season part time employees get ten hours a week at most.

    Advice to Management

    The leadership at the body shop is truly amazing. I have felt nothing but respect and real help in growing and doing my best.

    The Body Shop2012-02-11
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Extremely unfair and biased."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Delegate Part Time Assistant Manager in Toms River, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop

    Pros

    Good if you don't like to move around a lot. Customers tend to be friendly and respectful. Nice employee discount.

    Cons

    Management has no concern for their employees. District Management does not communicate with employees at all, and corporate management is practically non existent. Rules and expectations are not clearly explained. Pay is much lower than other retail companies. Policies and procedures are constantly changing. Nearly impossible sales goals are set and management does not accept any excuse for not meeting them.... ALL EMPLOYEES ARE SEEN AS DISPOSABLE TO ALL LEVELS OF MANAGEMENTS. "part time" employees can work up to 40 hours a week but will not receive benefits. Sales bonuses are only paid to full time managers. Most locations do not even offer a full time assistant manager position. if you are a delegate assistant manager you will work as much as the manager, and do just about the same duties, but will be paid significantly less. Lots of gossip among employees and managers. Be prepared to work with very lazy employees and managers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Live up to your company values, learn how to communicate more effectively, and hire people with the right qualifications. You have many incompetent managers running your stores. Require a Business degree!!!!!!

    The Body Shop2012-02-20
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Not the same company I had fallen in love with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop

    Pros

    - 40% Discount on products - Decent Benefits ( Includes: dental, tuition reimbursement, quarterly bonus, etc) - If your DSM is knowledgeable, you receive an unbelievable training experience, a great level of communication ( future promotions, upcoming changes, available positions in upper management, etc. ), communication between other store managers in your district ( often discussed trading employees to create... a better fit, advice on problems in store, etc.) - An achievable bonus

    Show More

    Cons

    - A DSM can make or break the experience. -HR follow through is not consistent. Meaning if you have a new hire/w2/etc. problem prepare to be on the phone for days, even weeks - Your salary is pretty low. When I say low I mean high 20k - low 30k on average for store managers, 9-12 an hr for full time assistant managers, 8-9 an hr for part time managers, and minimum wage for sales associates. Its hard to get... the sales team that the company expects when the pay isn't very appealing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bring back the area manager position. Some stores need more guidance than others and a DSM may not be able to provide ( distance, time, etc). Hire DSMs that know what they are doing. Whether promoting from within or bringing in someone from the outside, a DSM that is rude, clueless, or not encouraging can make your company lose some of its best employees. ( MY District lost 5 amazing store managers)

    The Body Shop2011-04-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyed my time but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop

    Pros

    Great Co-Workers who all got along Good Products, high quality and worth their pricing Positive Atmosphere Customers pleasant to deal with

    Cons

    Wanted associates to push sales and memberships Paid minimum wage w/ no benefits for part time work did not get many shifts

    Advice to Management

    Management did not treat all employees fairly in regards to shifts worked. hours should be given out according to seniority with performance considered.

    The Body Shop2010-06-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A good place to work while you sort the rest out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Leader 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop

    Pros

    -Excellent Training -40% disscount on products -Growth possible but not always -Good Sales experience -More of an emphasis on customer satisfaction than bottom line profits

    Cons

    - Very rigid store structure - Intracommuication lags - Part-time employees don't get benefits, even in managerial positions - In-store trainging fantastic, but not always supportive of other education

    Advice to Management

    Allow the technological advances to take place without losing the soul of Body Shop. Employees need to feel they are still selling the same story and values as they were 30 years ago.

    The Body Shop2010-02-10
Found 36 reviews