The Body Shop "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Body Shop Reviews

Updated 17 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1109 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
98 Ratings
  1. "Best place I have ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop

    Pros

    The management is very organized and practical. This company stands for amazing things. You truly get to feel good about the work you are doing. The people who you work with are wonderful I have never experienced gossip or caddyness.

    Cons

    There is really not a lot to complain about. The pay is pretty low and there is not a ton of room for growth. Also when it is not holiday season part time employees get ten hours a week at most.

    Advice to Management

    The leadership at the body shop is truly amazing. I have felt nothing but respect and real help in growing and doing my best.

    The Body Shop2012-02-11
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Extremely unfair and biased."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delegate Part Time Assistant Manager in Toms River, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop

    Pros

    Good if you don't like to move around a lot. Customers tend to be friendly and respectful. Nice employee discount.

    Cons

    Management has no concern for their employees. District Management does not communicate with employees at all, and corporate management is practically non existent. Rules and expectations are not clearly explained. Pay is much lower than other retail companies. Policies and procedures are constantly changing. Nearly impossible sales goals are set and management does not accept any excuse for not meeting them. ALL...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Live up to your company values, learn how to communicate more effectively, and hire people with the right qualifications. You have many incompetent managers running your stores. Require a Business degree!!!!!!

    The Body Shop2012-02-20
  3. "spotty quality of management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop

    Pros

    great products, annual contest at Christmas includes part time employees, customers are not just looking for discounts. No required overtime for store managers.

    Cons

    I was dismayed by the changes the company made in marketing. Even though shop employees are not allowed to 'sell to the sale', anytime US sales started to trend down, marketing would announce a sale. Staffing is slowed down by corporate requirements. Too many stores are left under staff for too long.

    Advice to Management

    I was encouraged to hear at a district meeting that management would 'have store managers backs in a case of manager-hourly staff disputes. I was dismayed to lose my own job in a dispute...

    The Body Shop2011-09-28
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Not the same company I had fallen in love with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop

    Pros

    - 40% Discount on products - Decent Benefits ( Includes: dental, tuition reimbursement, quarterly bonus, etc) - If your DSM is knowledgeable, you receive an unbelievable training experience, a great level of communication ( future promotions, upcoming changes, available positions in upper management, etc. ), communication between other store managers in your district ( often discussed trading employees to create a...

    Show More

    Cons

    - A DSM can make or break the experience. -HR follow through is not consistent. Meaning if you have a new hire/w2/etc. problem prepare to be on the phone for days, even weeks - Your salary is pretty low. When I say low I mean high 20k - low 30k on average for store managers, 9-12 an hr for full time assistant managers, 8-9 an hr for part time managers, and minimum wage for sales associates. Its hard to get the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bring back the area manager position. Some stores need more guidance than others and a DSM may not be able to provide ( distance, time, etc). Hire DSMs that know what they are doing. Whether promoting from within or bringing in someone from the outside, a DSM that is rude, clueless, or not encouraging can make your company lose some of its best employees. ( MY District lost 5 amazing store managers)

    The Body Shop2011-04-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyed my time but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop

    Pros

    Great Co-Workers who all got along Good Products, high quality and worth their pricing Positive Atmosphere Customers pleasant to deal with

    Cons

    Wanted associates to push sales and memberships Paid minimum wage w/ no benefits for part time work did not get many shifts

    Advice to Management

    Management did not treat all employees fairly in regards to shifts worked. hours should be given out according to seniority with performance considered.

    The Body Shop2010-06-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A good place to work while you sort the rest out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Leader in
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop

    Pros

    -Excellent Training -40% disscount on products -Growth possible but not always -Good Sales experience -More of an emphasis on customer satisfaction than bottom line profits

    Cons

    - Very rigid store structure - Intracommuication lags - Part-time employees don't get benefits, even in managerial positions - In-store trainging fantastic, but not always supportive of other education

    Advice to Management

    Allow the technological advances to take place without losing the soul of Body Shop. Employees need to feel they are still selling the same story and values as they were 30 years ago.

    The Body Shop2010-02-10
Found 1109 reviews