The Body Shop Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 22 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
253 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great products that actually work(in 104 reviews)

  • "Flexible working hours and lots of free products(in 95 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "most upper management are stuck up(in 53 reviews)

  • "Not many hours for part time employees(in 41 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Ups and downs but overall positive

      9 Apr 2013 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and long service awards are excellent. Training and development at a store level is also very good.

      Cons

      Some upper management expect too much. Communication can sometime leave a little to be desired. Lone trading becoming much more common.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      shocking company to work for

      26 Sep 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      store teams are brilliant and so hardworking

      Cons

      12 hour shifts long periods with no days off unrealistic expectations unpaid overtime upper management are bullies lots of favouritism ethics to not apply to employees moved from store to store wether you want to or not no communication between R.M's and stores

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Store manager

      22 Sep 2015 -  in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good environment, lots of meetings and lots of goodies. People are nice to work with. You always smell nice and look nice. It is not a hard job and hours a sociable.

      Cons

      Bad training, not much communication going on from upper management, it is all on the system they say. They put you to manage a shop without even knowing what you need to do.

      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Do NOT work here!!

      22 Jan 2021 - Store Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Only thing is the discount.

      Cons

      Salaries are terrible. Management plays favourites. No advancement within company. Company full of catty women - basically a big Hen Fest. You get in trouble for not wearing makeup!! Zero communication within company, clueless and rude operations management. Good luck getting any recognition from upper management.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Awesome retail job

      3 Dec 2020 - Customer Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - great discount - chill coworkers - great products

      Cons

      - disconnect with upper management - slow at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Okay place to work

      9 Jan 2020 - Skincare Consultant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible schedule good work life balance

      Cons

      most upper management are stuck up no place for growth pushed to sell but no commission for sales

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Purpose at work

      29 Sep 2019 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great leadership, excellent products, great leadership

      Cons

      Sometimes disorganized, communication from upper management not always consistent

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Customer Associate

      2 Dec 2018 - Customer Service Associate in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Pay, Good Hours, Good Background

      Cons

      Upper Management (regional), Forced Sales

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Don’t work here!

      15 Dec 2018 - Assistant Shop Manager in Braintree, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very generous discounts/gratis product Company doesn’t test on animals/is forward about charity

      Cons

      Unreasonable/unrealistic sales goals that pit employees against each other Managers can manipulate sales goals to make themselves look better Upper management cutthroat and not understanding about ridiculous sales goals Unclear policies/quick policy changes Below average compensation Potential for extremely low hours Terrible benefits package High turnover

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Assistant Manager

      6 Jun 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked for the company for a little over five years. I was hired as a sales associate and from the get go was trained on their ideals and beliefs. In the beginning I was with mangers who genuinely cared about their jobs and the products. When I was promoted, things changed.

      Cons

      First off, I was severely underpaid... like severely. If I was working actual part time hours (unlike the 40 hours I worked every week) maybe I would be a less bitter. They treated me like I was a full time employee but I never received the benefits of one. Day after day I received little to no direction from upper management but still given the expectation that things would get done the way they wanted. The corporate office had no idea what so ever what they were doing... they never sent the right materials and tools that the stores needed... it was never a walk in the park. Also the turnover rate in that company is astronomical. SERIOUSLY HIRE GOOD PEOPLE WHO WILL ACTUALLY STAY IN YOUR STORES!!! Its the never ending circle of horrible people being hired and the good people getting burnt out for over compensating for the bad people. After dealing with four manager changes in my time there, the last manager (who still works there) pitted employees against each other and used personal information about them as gossip. I know she was the reason why three of her best employees quit (including myself). Also, after five years of service I only received ONE raise.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 53 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Body Shop Job Seekers

    Christmas Temp
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Part-Time Christmas - Temp Position
    Learn About the Job

    Work at The Body Shop? Share Your Experiences

    The Body Shop logo
    or