The Body Shop "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Body Shop Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 12 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1007 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
72 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management (regional), Forced Sales(in 49 reviews)

  • "as a freelance designer I don't get a discount through the body shop only for full time or part time(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "shocking company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time

    Pros

    store teams are brilliant and so hardworking

    Cons

    12 hour shifts long periods with no days off unrealistic expectations unpaid overtime upper management are bullies lots of favouritism ethics to not apply to employees moved from store to store wether you want to or not no communication between R.M's and stores

    Advice to Management

    look after your people your turnover is big for a reason

    The Body Shop2018-09-26
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop

    Pros

    Good environment, lots of meetings and lots of goodies. People are nice to work with. You always smell nice and look nice. It is not a hard job and hours a sociable.

    Cons

    Bad training, not much communication going on from upper management, it is all on the system they say. They put you to manage a shop without even knowing what you need to do.

    The Body Shop2015-09-22
  3. "Ups and downs but overall positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits and long service awards are excellent. Training and development at a store level is also very good.

    Cons

    Some upper management expect too much. Communication can sometime leave a little to be desired. Lone trading becoming much more common.

    Advice to Management

    Be aware that your employees do have a life outside of work.

    The Body Shop2013-04-09
  4. "Customer Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay, Good Hours, Good Background

    Cons

    Upper Management (regional), Forced Sales

    The Body Shop2018-12-03
  5. "Don’t work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Shop Manager in Braintree, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very generous discounts/gratis product Company doesn’t test on animals/is forward about charity

    Cons

    Unreasonable/unrealistic sales goals that pit employees against each other Managers can manipulate sales goals to make themselves look better Upper management cutthroat and not understanding about ridiculous sales goals Unclear policies/quick policy changes Below average compensation Potential for extremely low hours Terrible benefits package High turnover

    Advice to Management

    Rethink the personal sales goals because all it creates is a very cutthroat environment where employees (managers) can manipulate each other. Be more realistic about sales goals. Update technology that matters to make tracking of sales simpler.

    The Body Shop2018-12-15
  6. "warehouse supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time

    Pros

    great work life balance, plenty of parties throughout the year

    Cons

    terrible pay, upper management makes poor decisions, everyone is a temp, low pay for workers so you can get everyone from Henderson who wash out after a few weeks.

    Advice to Management

    Replace upper management at the warehouse, they were there when building was closing and have the wrong mindset. Also do more to increase the brand image, no one knows who we are or what we do

    The Body Shop2018-09-11
  7. "Dissatisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent employee discount. Ethical products.

    Cons

    This company is failing in the US. Numerous store closings. High turnovers. Store Goals are reflective of company’s deficits. In store technology is 15 years behind. Inconsistent support from Upper Management (Regional, District, Shipping).

    The Body Shop2018-07-26
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time

    Pros

    Company as a whole has amazing beliefs, Cruelty free and fair trade. Products are excellent, and the employee discount is pretty great too.

    Cons

    Upper management is an ungodly nightmare. The regional manager was rude, unprofessional, uncommunicative with employees, and generally unfit for her position. No manager willing to use personal insults, nor willing to control their emotions towards employees and customers, should be manager. At least two stores in the district are dangerously under-employed and in horrible conditions...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The company is walking a fine line between employee abuse and a lawsuit. Re-evaluation of the situation is desperately needed if the stores are going to stay in business.

    The Body Shop2017-11-20
  9. "Being creative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Body Shop

    Pros

    I liked the company because I was able to be creative. I had great hours and worked with great sale associates.

    Cons

    There is no structure or boundaries. They will hire anyone. Upper Management has no experience and has no direction. Do not waste your time if there is a problem with in the store because there will be no solution.

    Advice to Management

    You are on your own to figure things out and the pay is Great but you are paying to be lost.

    The Body Shop2017-08-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "CSR Key holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at The Body Shop part-time

      Pros

      I had the best Manager

      Cons

      Upper Management not engaged in processing what was unique about a store or area.

      The Body Shop2017-07-20
    Found 1007 reviews