The Boston Beer Company Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Boston Beer Company Reviews

Updated 7 January 2019
149 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Dave Burwick
7 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "communication between departments, keeping product in stock, work life balance can get tough- but it's what you make of it" (in 26 reviews)

  • "Middle management does not aid its lower level employees, but shields them from potential opportunities to further career" (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "I love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Account Specialist
    Current Employee - Key Account Specialist
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    great leadership, high quality products, plenty of resources available. We are treated like valued employees and the culture is incredible. Work hard, play hard at its finest.

    Cons

    communication between departments, keeping product in stock, work life balance can get tough- but it's what you make of it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture alive!

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    18 Oct 2018 – VP of Human Resources

    They say "Do what you love and you'll never work a day in your life." We're so happy to hear that you love your job and working at Boston Beer, but I think we all know the reality that it is still... More


  2. "Brewery Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Boston Beer Company full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture, great CEO,

    Cons

    Middle management was disorganized in my experience.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Breinigsville, PA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Breinigsville, PA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Flexible management, impactful work, open communication, great products, dynamic industry

    Cons

    Strategy to flex and adapt can create chaos and inefficiencies.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in people and innovation!


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Boston Beer: Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time

    Pros

    The culture at Boston Beer is like no other. It truly is your "Sam Fam." Everyone is supportive and friendly making sure you feel welcome from day 1.
    The recruiting team is great at making sure you know where you stand in the interview process and is super informative for all the questions you have.
    Open communication is truly valued here making the environment positive and comfortable.

    Cons

    Fast paced work in an industry with tight deadlines.

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    7 Dec 2018 – VP of Human Resources

    Thank you for your kind words, and welcome to the Sam Fam! We're so happy to have you on the team.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Current Employee: Market Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Work From Home Within Territory
    Travel

    Cons

    Work/Life Balance
    Low Pay
    Wear & Tear on Car
    Poor Communication
    Management with Lack of Experience in Management
    They say the “ F You Rule” is encouraged but when exercised it will only stab you in the back. It’s a “Good Ole Boys Club” company that doesn’t really want new ideas or welcome how to better train people coming into the organization. If you don’t drink the Kool-Aid, and “fit in” mine as well find a new company to work for because you won’t be there long. No diversity and very much a frat and sorority type feel. Unordinary hours which is okay but very unclear of their expectations. Every other week someone new is leaving the organization and finding a more mature work organization.

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    7 Dec 2018 – VP of Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. “Discussing the Undiscussables” is at the heart of our values. We believe it’s the best way to work together and is central to who we are. What you described above... More


  6. "Boston Beer Company: good culture in a competitive industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Boston Beer Company full-time

    Pros

    It has great people and products

    Cons

    Tough industry competition from small craft and mass domestics.

    Advice to Management

    Stay true to the Boston Beer culture that has helped it to succeed for so long.

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    28 Sep 2018 – VP of Human Resources

    Thanks for your review. We are dedicated to keeping our culture strong and well -- we even added a "Culture Keeper" category to our peer-nominated awards this year!


  7. Helpful (4)

    "Brewery Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brewery Representative in Los Angeles, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Brewery Representative in Los Angeles, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A life-changing experience with wonderful and genuine people. It was a strategic process filled with valuable lessons and a true insight to see how the company and yourself can efficiently blend. I had an excellent time interviewing with the BBC employees and would encourage anyone looking for a brighter future to pursue a career with the Boston Beer Company.

    Cons

    Everything was perfect and I wouldn't change a thing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    27 Jul 2018 – VP of Human Resources

    Thanks for your kind words. We're excited to have you on the team!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Brewery Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brewery Ambassador in Boston, MA (US)
    Former Employee - Brewery Ambassador in Boston, MA (US)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Boston Beer Company part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great staff, great management, fun environment, feels like you're a part of a family, amazing perks (obviously plenty of free beer)

    Cons

    A lot of turnover because most in this position are recent college grads looking for full time work. Very rarely do people move into full time careers from this position.

    Advice to Management

    Professional development for careers at Sam Adams/Boston Beer or the beer industry in general would be stellar. People are really passionate about this job but have to leave because they need a full time gig.

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    27 Jul 2018 – VP of Human Resources

    Thanks for the feedback - and you're right, having part time positions at our Boston Brewery naturally attracts a lot of young talent. Our Brewery Team is a very tight-knit group and has a lot of... More


  9. "Passionate Entrepeneurial Innovator of Beers and Ciders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Boston Beer Company full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers who are passionate about changing the beer and cider industry and creating new experiences for drinkers

    Cons

    Fast paced, complicated business with a lot of work to be done in tight time frames

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    27 Jul 2018 – VP of Human Resources

    You're right, there is a lot of hard work that goes into innovation -- and we're proud to have an amazing team of passionate, hardworking and creative people dedicated to it!


  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time

    Pros

    Company culture
    Career opportunities
    Industry
    Benefits (minus pay)

    Cons

    Work life balance
    Pay
    Vision and strategy

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    27 Jul 2018 – VP of Human Resources

    Thanks for you feedback, I will be sure to share it with our Total Rewards team. I would also encourage you to come talk to me or your HR Business Partner anytime!