The Boston Beer Company Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Boston Beer Company Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 159 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Dave Burwick
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company culture is awesome, everyone is very passionate about what they do(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great culture, really competitive environment(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "communication between departments, keeping product in stock, work life balance can get tough- but it's what you make of it(in 26 reviews)

  • "Middle management does not aid its lower level employees, but shields them from potential opportunities to further career(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO allowance, culture, product line of course

    Cons

    Some departments don't communicate properly with others.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    The Boston Beer Company2019-04-16

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    May 2, 2019VP of Human Resources

    More than 8 years tenure with BBC - wow, thank you for your loyalty and all that you do everyday! We are aware we need to get better about communication and trust me, we are putting a lot of effort behind it this year. Thank you again for the review.

  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brewery Representative 

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Free Beer, Great Industry, Car Stipend

    Cons

    by yourself all day, the beer industry is changing

    The Boston Beer Company2019-04-09

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    May 2, 2019VP of Human Resources

    Thanks for your feedback. Being in Sales is definitely a tough job- a lot of windshield time and the industry is incredibly competitive and increasingly complex. Thanks for all your hard work and keep up the good work!

  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great culture. Great brands. Fun environment.

    Cons

    Huge cross functional disconnect. Not enough incentives.

    The Boston Beer Company2019-03-22

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    May 2, 2019VP of Human Resources

    Thanks for your review, we are very proud of the brands we sell (the best in the industry!) and of our company culture that we live every day. Feedback from our most recent employee engagement survey has made us more aware that we have a lot of work to do to improve our cross-functional ...

    Show More
  4. "Fast-paced, competitive company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Boston Beer Company full-time

    Pros

    -excellent training -fun work, chances to go on trips, good beer -generally good people to work with, but certainly some bad apples

    Cons

    -looking to start a family? Start looking for a better situation. Difficult to have a family or any other priorities other than the company -long to hire, quick to fire -low salary for the hours needed to put in -important decisions often based on friendships/politics over what is right or earned.

    The Boston Beer Company2019-03-19

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    May 2, 2019VP of Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing, and I’m very sorry to hear that you felt like you didn’t have the support you needed to be successful. We have a diverse business structure in that we have people working in our Boston Office, in our 3 breweries, and regionally in the field all across the country. ...

    Show More
  5. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AX Consultant in Rome, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    worked well in good condistions

    Cons

    all good no issues good place to work

    The Boston Beer Company2019-03-18
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Brewery Representative in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      A great company to work for. Love entry level candidates. Willing to train people right out of college. Great perks.

      Cons

      Ever growing portfolio. Makes it hard to execute all brands at the level that is expected.

      Advice to Management

      reorganize sales expectations when new products launch into the market.

      The Boston Beer Company2019-02-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "The Best People in The Best Industry"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Key Account Specialist 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      The people who work here are amazing and committed to succeeding as one, FREE BEER (does it get any better?), amazing work environment with lots of freedom to build a schedule that works for you. Coworkers are constantly pushing you to be your best self.

      Cons

      It can be tough for operations to keep up with sales as we launch new products that are extremely successful. But honestly there's no real downside to working here

      The Boston Beer Company2019-01-28

      The Boston Beer Company Response

      February 11, 2019VP of Human Resources

      Thanks so much for your review and for being a valued member of the BBC Team. Keep up the good work!

    • "Brewery Representative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at The Boston Beer Company full-time

        Pros

        Great company culture, great CEO,

        Cons

        Middle management was disorganized in my experience.

        The Boston Beer Company2019-01-08
      • Helpful (2)

        "Great place to grow your career"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Breinigsville, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than 9 years

        Pros

        Flexible management, impactful work, open communication, great products, dynamic industry

        Cons

        Strategy to flex and adapt can create chaos and inefficiencies.

        Advice to Management

        Keep investing in people and innovation!

        The Boston Beer Company2018-11-26
      • Helpful (2)

        "Boston Beer: Amazing"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time

        Pros

        The culture at Boston Beer is like no other. It truly is your "Sam Fam." Everyone is supportive and friendly making sure you feel welcome from day 1. The recruiting team is great at making sure you know where you stand in the interview process and is super informative for all the questions you have. Open communication is truly valued here making the environment positive and comfortable.

        Cons

        Fast paced work in an industry with tight deadlines.

        The Boston Beer Company2018-11-14

        The Boston Beer Company Response

        December 7, 2018VP of Human Resources

        Thank you for your kind words, and welcome to the Sam Fam! We're so happy to have you on the team.

      Found 159 reviews