The Boston Beer Company Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Boston Beer Company Reviews

Updated 27 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Boston Beer Company President and CEO Dave Burwick (no image)
Dave Burwick
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company culture is awesome, everyone is very passionate about what they do(in 13 reviews)

  • "Comfortable work environment, supportive manager(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "communication between departments, keeping product in stock, work life balance can get tough- but it's what you make of it(in 26 reviews)

  • "Middle management was disorganized in my experience(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful company culture, work hard play hard mentality."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Department Specialist in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Comfortable work environment, supportive manager.

    Cons

    Very political at times, mediocre employee benefits.

    Advice to Management

    More opportunities for employees to feel heard.

    The Boston Beer Company2019-12-27
  2. "Great job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brewery Ambassador in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Boston Beer Company part-time

    Pros

    Everything from the people to the experience

    Cons

    Became too corporate too quickly with not that much pay off

    The Boston Beer Company2019-12-03
  3. "Competent work environment - questionable recruitment criteria"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brewer in Breinigsville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a former brewer in FFC, I had the opportunity to challenge myself to be best among my peers. Teamwork was cohesive and competitive at the same time. Company has excellent comprehensive benefits that also cover domestic partners, along with many excellent fringe benefits, including organized extra curricular employee events. Work/life balance is fair with equal opportunity for overtime. Enjoyed opportunities to exchange ideas with Jim Koch who is approachable at annual meetings.

    Show More

    Cons

    Attract, develop, retain? I don't believe upper management is serious about what the company preaches. Jim Koch has stated employees and new hires should raise the bar. Lower management is capable of recognizing talent through employee reviews and meaningful feedback. Upper management does not connect with its employees and therefore does not understand the accomplishments and goals of each team member, a serious disconnect. You can't "retain" talent if you don't recognize it. Recruitment team is struggling to recognize relevant work experience. Apply for a brewer position with 30 years food/beverage processing experience including 2 years as a brewer, and the response is that we are looking for a better match to the position. What???

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To the upper level management at the brewery level, you do not connect with front line employees and recognize the intangible talents each member has. Certain qualifications contribute to better efficiencies, right the first time, and quality control. Claiming an employee does not have the best interests of the company (not true if a shareholder) and manufacturing a willful misconduct charge based on a flawed investigation creates situations where employees will question your decision process in general.

    Show More
    The Boston Beer Company2019-11-05
  4. "Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brewery Representative 

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of independence depending on manager

    Cons

    Very low Pay and low promotion rates

    Advice to Management

    increase pay

    The Boston Beer Company2019-10-01
  5. "on premise sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Craft Beer Sales in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time

    Pros

    supportive management; comprehensive ; great beer parties

    Cons

    money could be better and higher 401k match

    Advice to Management

    long wait for advancement

    The Boston Beer Company2019-10-01
  6. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brewery Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic coworkers, great perks, awesome core values

    Cons

    Lots of driving in this specific role, however I was reimbursed for car expenses.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    The Boston Beer Company2019-08-30
  7. "Fantastic Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender 

    I worked at The Boston Beer Company full-time

    Pros

    great beer, flexible hours, great culture

    Cons

    nothing i can think of

    The Boston Beer Company2019-08-08
  8. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brewery Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work environment; training; support; benefits

    Cons

    Unrealistic goals at times; unorganized at times

    The Boston Beer Company2019-08-15
  9. "Awesome place that respects individuals ideas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Bartender in Milton, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    amazing culture. All are treated equal. If you want to go tell the president or owner something...no problem all Individual ideas are respected and heard. good pay, great benefits. Fun rewarding work environment. Free beer!

    Cons

    small company so not a lot of resources/tools. you can overcome this if your resourceful. Most upper management positions are hired from outside.

    The Boston Beer Company2019-06-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brewery Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free beer extensive training lots of flexibility

    Cons

    not enough pay for the work you do work weekends micromanagement

    Advice to Management

    get a clear message across as to what you want coworkers to execute on and communicate to customers. lots of mixed messaging and miscommunications, which makes us all look dumb

    The Boston Beer Company2019-06-20
Found 172 reviews