The Challenge Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Challenge Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
The Challenge CEO Oliver Lee (no image)
Oliver Lee
84 Ratings
Pros
  • "Real positive impact on the young people involved in programmes(in 43 reviews)

  • "Leads are generating from people who have already shown some interest in the programme so not much cold calling(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, can be tiring at times(in 19 reviews)

  • "Some disorganisation and sales orientated rather than focussing on the quality of service for the young people(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Operations Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Challenge full-time

    Pros

    Great people and easy location for travelling

    Cons

    hours can be long including weekends

    Advice to Management

    None as they have been fair with everyone

    The Challenge2019-10-14
  2. "Supportive and Positive Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Challenge full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Committed to inclusion of staff and young people. Mission focused and innovative.

    Cons

    Repetitive Seasonal Work. Very long hours during busy delivery periods and tricky to stay motivated during quiet times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being very open and genuinely caring for their people. In times of crisis they are honest and communicate clearly.

    The Challenge2019-10-09

    The Challenge Response

    October 9, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to write your view and for your positive comments. We are extremely mission-focused and dedicated to promoting inclusivity in all we do. The summer delivery period is very intense and we are extremely grateful to all those who have worked with us each year to make this such a successful programme.

    Show Less
  3. "Warm lovely place to work with great staff and the most important mission."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Challenge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Colleagues, the mission, the management, the freedom, the mutual respect, the work itself, the ability to affect change in a large and important organisation, opportunity to make a difference both externally and internally

    Cons

    Lack of established processes, lots of work, very reactive as an organisation rather than strategic

    Advice to Management

    Keep being you!

    The Challenge2019-10-03

    The Challenge Response

    October 9, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. Our people are the heart of the organisation and it is they who create the very unique atmosphere and the sense of being part of something important which we all feel. Thank you

  4. "Fantastic mission at the heart of all its programmes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Programmer Manager 

    I have been working at The Challenge full-time

    Pros

    Great staff teams Supportive staff Great vision and mission Positive impact on the community

    Cons

    Poor life work balance during busy periods Low salaries for the work

    The Challenge2019-10-16
  5. "Large charity trying to do local youth work at scale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Challenge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture of camaraderie and support among staff Flexible working

    Cons

    Cost efficiency higher priority than quality, responsive youth work Highly convoluted systems

    The Challenge2019-10-13

    The Challenge Response

    October 14, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review about working at The Challenge. We have worked hard to develop a flexible, supportive and friendly environment and we are pleased that you have appreciated this. Our top priority has always been to to provide safe, high-quality and inclusive programmes in line with our mission of building an integrated society. It is also important to make sure that we use our charitable funding carefully and wisely and that requires, too, a focus on cost efficiency.

    Show Less
  6. "Leaders of Integration and Inclusion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Challenge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    An inclusive and integrative organisation, with the mission at heart of all that work for them. An employer that values each employee and creates a safespace for all that work there.

    Cons

    Potential to make a great impact upon society, but contracts delivered are now on a small scale, limiting that potential.

    The Challenge2019-09-24

    The Challenge Response

    October 14, 2019

    Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to read your positive words as inclusion and integration are at the heart of all we do and we value the contribution as well as the wellbeing of our employees extremely highly. We are sad that our NCS journey will come to end this year but will continue our critical work in the area of social integration via our existing non-NCS programmes, alongside new initiatives.

    Show Less
  7. "A positive experience with much gained knowlege"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Challenge full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The culture, dedication of coworkers and delivery departments, open and responsible, the people I have worked with at The Challenge have been some of the most passionate and determined people in youth work. It has been an amazing experience.

    Cons

    Long hours at times, expected for delivery, but still hard. The limitations to what we are able to do with funding and in the end the withdraw of government contracts has caused friction and uncertainty. It isn't a con for The Challenge directly more with working for a charity dependant on government funding.

    The Challenge2019-10-07

    The Challenge Response

    October 14, 2019

    Thank you very much for your review. We also believe that The Challenge is quite a unique organisation, full of extremely dedicated, passionate and determined people and agree that working here is an amazing experience. We are sad that our NCS journey will come to an end this year but The Challenge will now focus on growing its existing non-NCS programmes, alongside new initiatives, to continue its work to help build a more integrated society

    Show Less
  8. "Fast paced firm, changing lives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - L&D Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Challenge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    social integration is at the heart of everything, and many very keen staff making things happen for young people

    Cons

    Better acceptance by some that you don’t have to do everything yourself

    The Challenge2019-09-10
  9. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at The Challenge full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing, fab. A great place to work.

    Cons

    None organisation is amazing place to work

    Advice to Management

    None as above. Great place to work

    The Challenge2019-09-09

    The Challenge Response

    October 9, 2019

    Thank you for such a positive review and are delighted that you find The Challenge such a great and amazing place to work.

  10. "Tiring but oh so satisfying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Mentor in Stockport, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Challenge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Residential activities are very interesting and engaging Many opportunities for staff team to bond If you enjoy helping people help and personally grow - this is the job for you No two waves or teams are the same - if you plan to be a recurring mentor, this is one of the pros Working with charities and local community Experience in mentoring/leadership Experience in working with children/young adults

    Cons

    Very tiring - physically and mentally You are working with young people - you will encounter some who would want to make you pull your hair out Sometimes the curriculum is not the most relevant so you'll need to improvise You need to be patient with people

    The Challenge2019-09-21

    The Challenge Response

    October 14, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your time working at The Challenge. As you have indicated, the work we do here is extremely varied and offers a whole range of experiences. Working in this sector and environment can be challenging, as you have noted, although it brings with it great satisfaction too.

    Show Less
Found 166 reviews