The Co-operative Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Co-operative Bank Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 158 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
The Co-operative Bank CEO Andrew Bester
Andrew Bester
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people committed to company(in 13 reviews)

  • "The bank actively look for ways to continue to support that all important work life balance which is so important(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management continue to bring in their colleagues from previous employers it is clearly not what you know but who is your mate(in 10 reviews)

  • "No direction and poor management(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Manchester, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great work environment and facilities

    Cons

    Little opportunity for development or progress

    The Co-operative Bank2018-10-29

    The Co-operative Bank Response

    November 1, 2018HR Digital and Channels Lead

    Thank you for your 5 star review! It means a lot to us and we want to thank you for working with us so proudly for over 10 years. We are pleased that you have commended our working environment and facilities in Manchester, and appreciate your feedback around development opportunities. ...

    Show More
  2. "The people are nice, the organisation is relaxed and the flexible working policy is a bonus."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The people are who make it bearable and since the new CEO came on board there seems to be some great ideas in the pipeline and a good future if they manage to deliver on upgrading the legacy systems. Flexible working The workforce non senior management are great The location is great Benefits are ok

    Cons

    I’ve been here over a year, it’s completely under resourced in every department, they seem to be cutting heads without implementing any smart ways of working for the people who remain which is slowly causing a high level of sickness due to stress. The senior leadership are uninspiring and provide little confidence in the people they manage Communication can be improved Not provided with the correct tools to do the job

    Advice to Management

    Review your current people management team, you may find they are repelling talent to the bank. Also allow dress down for all non customer facing staff not just certain departments.

    The Co-operative Bank2019-05-07
  3. "A mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time

    Pros

    Generally friendly atmosphere. Good people committed to company. City centre

    Cons

    Stuck in past. Ageing processes and systems. No future strategy.

    Advice to Management

    Define a strategy and stick to it.

    The Co-operative Bank2019-05-02
  4. "First Point of Contact Mortgages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stockport, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Career progression opportunities for a few to be able to become Mortgage Advisers

    Cons

    Poor unaccountable managing, inconsistent performance tests varied greatly between staff. I would highly advise joining a union and having them present during meetings with mangers as they will steam role their opinion as irrefutable facts. I often skipped lunch and worked free overtime to write detailed notes on the outdated systems but this was not recognised by managers who were often unapproachable.

    Advice to Management

    Advice to senior management, make sure you treat staff equally.

    The Co-operative Bank2019-04-01

    The Co-operative Bank Response

    May 1, 2019HR Digital and Channels Lead

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry to read about your experience and we will feed it back to the senior management team to ensure our culture of co-operativeness, consistency and accountability is demonstrated across our Bank.

  5. "A great place to work for exposure to all aspects of the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Customer Focussed Great people Good benefits Generous holidays Flexible working Supportive atmosphere

    Cons

    There has been a lot of change in recent years however we are relaunching our strategy and there is an exciting journey ahead of us

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to customers and colleagues

    The Co-operative Bank2019-02-11

    The Co-operative Bank Response

    February 19, 2019HR Digital and Channels Lead

    Thank you for your four star review! We're delighted to read you've worked at the Bank for over eight years and you recognise our focus on customers and colleagues. It is an exciting journey ahead and we'll continue listening to and acting on your feedback to make sure it's a successful ...

    Show More
  6. "Customer Service Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Relatively good pay, good people, good work life balance

    Cons

    long hours, no career prospects

    The Co-operative Bank2019-01-29

    The Co-operative Bank Response

    February 13, 2019HR Digital and Channels Lead

    Thanks for taking the time to rate us and for highlighting our flexible working environment. We’re committed to supporting colleagues with their career aspirations and creating development opportunities where we can.

  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time

      Pros

      - Friendly, helpful people - Flexible working - Great holidays (up to 30 days)

      Cons

      - Certain areas are unorganised

      The Co-operative Bank2019-01-13

      The Co-operative Bank Response

      January 29, 2019HR Digital and Channels Lead

      Thank you for your four star review - we're pleased you consider us a "great place to work" and that you've taken the time to highlight our colleagues and lifestyle benefits. We welcome any ideas you have about how we can improve.

    • "Good Place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Flexible hours, nice people and location

      Cons

      pay is generally lower than other firms

      The Co-operative Bank2019-01-08

      The Co-operative Bank Response

      January 29, 2019HR Digital and Channels Lead

      Thanks for your four star review and for calling out our great people and convenient City Centre location. We believe we offer a good total reward package, and our basic salary is above the Living Wage Foundation rate, however we'll continue to look at how we build on this.

    • "Co-op Bank"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time

      Pros

      Good teamwork relationships with colleagues

      Cons

      Emphasis on selling loans, overdrafts poor senior management

      The Co-operative Bank2018-12-28

      The Co-operative Bank Response

      January 2, 2019HR Digital and Channels Lead

      Thanks for taking the time to rate us. We're pleased that you've called out teamwork and colleague relationships in your review, as one of our values is 'stronger together'. You've mentioned loans and overdrafts; we do offer a range of products and services but with a commitment to ...

      Show More
    • "Co-operative Bank"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Principal Data Developer in Manchester, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Friendly staff Convenient head office location

      Cons

      Management skills are poor, don't expect to get any feedback whatsoever unless you're not doing your job well. If you're good at your job, the only person who will give you a pat on your back is yourself. Responsibility from stakeholders is avoided too much and passed around unwanted. Overly bureaucratic ways hinder and severely slows down work. All important work goes to consultants and contractors leaving permanent...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Retrain management staff to realize the importance of giving feedback to develop instead of ignore employees. Recognition and appreciation for good employees should not be at the bottom of managements priorities.

      The Co-operative Bank2019-01-08

      The Co-operative Bank Response

      January 29, 2019HR Digital and Channels Lead

      Thanks for sharing your feedback. Colleague reward and recognition is important to our culture; it's part of performance management and something we celebrate and promote across the Bank. We're working with our leaders to ensure they have the guidance and support to apply this consistently.

    Found 158 reviews