The Co-operative Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Co-operative Bank Reviews

Updated 29 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
47%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
The Co-operative Bank CEO Andrew Bester
Andrew Bester
22 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Flexible and dedicated to employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Acquisition Coordinator in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Refreshing to work within such a dedicated team and positive working environment. It is obvious from the outset that everyone feels valued for their work and opinions. Everyone is really passionate about the Co Op Bank's values which is really nice to see. From day one I have been given great exposure to different areas of the business and I was surprised by the number of internal opportunities available to existing employees. The flexible working policy is fantastic. It means that I can work around my family without compromising on my work or time at home. Who says you can't have both!

    Cons

    None encountered as of yet

    The Co-operative Bank2019-06-18

    The Co-operative Bank Response

    July 19, 2019Operations Resourcing Partner

    Wow! We love a five star review. Especially as you call out how much we live our values. To us, they are at the heart of what we do and how we behave. We are also really happy to hear how our flexible working policies are giving you the right work life balance.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People, opportunities to change and improve the bank for the future. Flexible working, modern offices.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    The Co-operative Bank2020-02-29
  3. "Good employer overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ahead of the game in terms of flexible working and great package overall.

    Cons

    Whilst there is work underway to develop this...some leaders still operate in a hierarchical fashion and don’t fully embrace the bank values.

    Continue reading
    The Co-operative Bank2020-02-26
  4. "Case handling on Payment protection insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PPI Case Handler in Stockport, England

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you can take up more hours on rota.

    Cons

    lack of AC made it very warm when working, which can make you lose focus at times.

    The Co-operative Bank2020-02-22
  5. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are great and the management are supportive

    Cons

    Pay under sector average

    The Co-operative Bank2020-02-12
  6. "Overall good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Analyst in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility Benefits Work-life balance Culture and values Location

    Cons

    Management Salaries Limited job vacancies Senior management Career progression could be difficult due to limited opportuninies

    The Co-operative Bank2020-01-28
  7. "People genuinely want the place to succeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Manager in Manchester City Centre, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    City centre based Nice head office

    Cons

    Fundamentally broken so colleagues are fighting a loosing battle Toxic / dysfunctional work environment

    The Co-operative Bank2020-02-06
  8. "It was horrendous!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The parking was great and my hours were convenient for me.

    Cons

    There are so many! - More focused on stats than service - you’d be forced to be on a call for less than so many seconds and be penalised for going over, despite resolving the complaint. - the constant lack of service caused huge complaints you had to deal with and mobile and online banking was down more than it worked - you were also forced to promote digital channels (laughable) - management were awful! You were in constant fear of disciplinary meetings for satisfaction surveys from customers being bad (despite having no control of this), spending too long on a call, spending too much time adding notes, the list goes on! - those that sold the most (even when they got processes badly wrong!!) were praised in front of everyone and nobody at management level would accept an error had been made despite listening to the call that was so wonderful! - archaic systems - managers were “people managers” and had no clue how to do the job of those they “managed”...always great when a customer wants to speak to a manager. - management unapproachable and clicky -reducing opening hours meaning calls queuing for up to an hour. - constant redundancies A definite trigger for breakdowns and most of the managers spent a lot of time off sick, yet you take Time off (for a broken bone and with a doctors note!) and you have management coming to your home and threatening disciplinary action. Just horrendous...I’ll never know how I managed 13 years!

    Continue reading
    The Co-operative Bank2020-02-15
  9. "A lot of change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internal Communications in Manchester, England

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits including holiday entitlement

    Cons

    Terrible technology infrastructure, job uncertainty,

    The Co-operative Bank2020-01-16
  10. "I have been working over an year at the finest place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to work, better holidays

    Cons

    IT needs to be improved

    Continue reading
    The Co-operative Bank2019-12-21
Found 189 reviews