The Co-operative Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Co-operative Bank Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
40%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
The Co-operative Bank CEO Andrew Bester
Andrew Bester
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work/life balance and flexible working from home scheme ideal for parents(in 16 reviews)

  • "Good people policies and culture(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Flexible and dedicated to employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Acquisition Coordinator in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Refreshing to work within such a dedicated team and positive working environment. It is obvious from the outset that everyone feels valued for their work and opinions. Everyone is really passionate about the Co Op Bank's values which is really nice to see. From day one I have been given great exposure to different areas of the business and I was surprised by the number of internal opportunities available to existing employees. The flexible working policy is fantastic. It means that I can work around my family without compromising on my work or time at home. Who says you can't have both!

    Show More

    Cons

    None encountered as of yet

    The Co-operative Bank2019-06-18
  2. "I have been working over an year at the finest place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to work, better holidays

    Cons

    IT needs to be improved

    Advice to Management

    Follow the leadership of Mark Evans

    The Co-operative Bank2019-12-21
  3. "A lot of change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internal Communications in Manchester, England

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits including holiday entitlement

    Cons

    Terrible technology infrastructure, job uncertainty,

    The Co-operative Bank2020-01-16
  4. "Shame to go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Officer in Lincoln, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Team to work with

    Cons

    The time you finish isn't the time you finish

    The Co-operative Bank2019-12-17
  5. "Ethical?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overseas Financial Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Close knit team, nice colleagues

    Cons

    Struggle to get pay rises

    The Co-operative Bank2019-12-16
  6. "The bank for the people?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home, flexible hours

    Cons

    Decisions made at the top without input from the actual smes leading to bad decisions, trying to run before they can crawl, outdated practices, say we are all one team but dont act like it

    The Co-operative Bank2019-12-07
  7. "Like a challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Management 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Small enough to get good exposure across the organisation Great people Good work / life balance

    Cons

    IT / legacy challenges Continued cost cutting Consistent management changes - not alway for the better

    The Co-operative Bank2019-11-14
  8. "Like Wadinng through Treacle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Delivery Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with Ethical policy

    Cons

    So many old systems mean making a small change balloons into a much larger piece of work. Processes to deliver change take to long Staff are not given the tools to do their jobs, i.e. mobile phones have been removed from most staff with people being too to bring their own device, should I bring my own laptop as well?

    Advice to Management

    Give people the tool to do their jobs

    The Co-operative Bank2019-11-23
  9. "Needs overhaul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance especially if you have a family

    Cons

    Tech is way behind competitors leaving it at a huge risk in the industry Too many middle managers

    The Co-operative Bank2019-10-07
  10. "Cooperative Bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advocate in Skelmersdale, England

    I have been working at The Co-operative Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant training which provides great understanding of the job.

    Cons

    Can get boring at times and numerous phone calls with same questions makes job predictable with no new challenges

    The Co-operative Bank2019-09-04
Found 182 reviews