The Gym Group Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 108 of over 186 reviews

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
The Gym Group CEO Richard Darwin
Richard Darwin
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great atmosphere and environment to work in especially with great colleagues(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great company to work for, always look after there staff and great benefits too(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There should be standard studios in all gyms like spin studios and also women only studio(in 6 reviews)

  • "None - this is my dream job and the Gym Group are the best employers(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent company

      Jan 17, 2022 - General Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very flexible and the company is all about staff development and looking after it's people. As a manager you are given the responsibility to run your gym how you like and look after your members. The company trusts it's managers to run the Gym and implement their own ideas which in turn creates a great working culture and atmosphere.

      Cons

      None - I have worked for the Gym Group for just over 6 months and so far I have no negatives at all!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Enjoyable place to work

      Dec 29, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Plymouth, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff and gym to work in

      Cons

      None, I enjoy working here

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Very good

      Dec 28, 2021 - Personal Trainer in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good atmosphere in there

      Cons

      You need to do your own plan

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Dec 21, 2021 - Assistant General Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, working hours, well thought of, look after the staff

      Cons

      Better AGM salary, PT on shift 1 or 2 sessions a day max

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      They let you get on

      Dec 11, 2021 - Assistant General Manager in Ipswich, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They support you and your idea’s They let you run the ship

      Cons

      Sometimes a Little slow on updates

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not the best earning potential

      Dec 10, 2021 - Fitness Instructor in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly environment and friendly people

      Cons

      Not enough full time opportunities, few opportunities to move into management due to structure (200 gym = 200 Assistant managers and 200 Managers VS thousands of instructor rolls, also the chances are very high you won't move up without management experience because they pick from applicants who have experience)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fantastic company

      Nov 22, 2021 - General Manager in Cambridge, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clear business model, great upper management and vision from the board. Clear route for progression through company.

      Cons

      There are no cons at all.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      fitness

      Oct 20, 2021 - Fitness Trainer in Sunbury, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      happy kind staff nice people to work with

      Cons

      if your new dont overthink to much like me

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing place!

      Oct 18, 2021 - Personal Trainer in Greenwich, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working with the team at the Gym Group Greenwich! They are friendly and reliable!

      Cons

      I don't have negative thoughts about the Gym Group.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      I enjoy working at TGG

      Oct 19, 2021 - Fitness Trainer in Wakefield, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The 12hr contract (rent) allowed me to build my business up when I wouldn’t of being able to pay the rent. Both the GM and AGM are good leaders and care about us as staff. I enjoy working here.

      Cons

      I don’t have any cons.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 108 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Gym Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at The Gym Group? Share Your Experiences

    The Gym Group logo
    or