The Gym Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Gym Group Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Gym Group CEO Richard Darwin (no image)
Richard Darwin
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free gym and benefits like perkbox and discounts(in 3 reviews)

  • "The gym group believes in people, help you to grow professionally and it's a nice and friendly environment to work with in(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "no training, expected to be a sales manager, general manager, pt trainer, marketing professional d2d leaflets etc, administrator, safety assessor,(in 4 reviews)

  • "You earn more working as a PT, plus the work/life balance as AGM isn't great(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "So far I really enjoy working for the gym group and I love my role as assistant general manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Lewisham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Gym Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The gym group believes in people, help you to grow professionally and it's a nice and friendly environment to work with in

    Cons

    Honestly I don't see any downside

    Continue reading
    The Gym Group2020-02-18
  2. "Good for PT's but.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Trainer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Gym Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great team here. The gym environment is really good

    Cons

    Progression onto AGM is not appealing. You earn more working as a PT, plus the work/life balance as AGM isn't great. I would want to progress onto management; how ever it doesn't seem possible weighing up the time/workload and pay. -"Politics" has been mentioned in not progressing some workers, which I find really bad. It is confusing at some places you can upgrade from PT to AGM then go back to PT at the current gym. If I wanted to progress on to AGM, it would be in the hope to stay at the current gym-if a position became available, which could have been the case at our current gym. - At our gym there is no room to try out a paid class in our own time as in the evening it is very busy-packed out with classes already. I don't feel I get the full value of my rent as the evenings are very busy, too busy to train clients. -There is not a system in place to prevent overcrowding at peak times in the gym. During January the training areas were sometimes dangerously overcrowded. -Working till 10pm puts some PT's out if they have an early morning client.

    Continue reading
    The Gym Group2020-02-20
  3. "Mixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Trainer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Gym Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The gym group as a company is growing and with this we have seen more investment in the gym we currently occupy, as of yet we have seen mostly promises and progress mapped out so we have some hopeful things to look forward to. Since we are part of the lifestyle takeover we haven’t been with the company from the beginning but have seen more stability and general support from the company

    Cons

    As I said the company is growing and it’s online presence seems to be the part that’s being done last as the website isn’t great and the apps(workday) don’t work correctly. New class timetables and up-skill cpds are brilliant but when there not planned in correctly it can be a car crash for all involved. I personally find myself questioning if it’s the right place to be at the moment but I do see a lot of potential so I hold on.

    Continue reading
    The Gym Group2020-01-23
  4. "You’ve got the balance right..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Trainer in Margate, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Gym Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good strong brand, professional, cost effective, supportive of personal trainers, interested in their employees.

    Cons

    The music, raw deal for shifts at times, messy members, members that have no respect for equipment.

    Continue reading
    The Gym Group2020-01-21
  5. "A great way for me to begin my pt career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Trainer in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Gym Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The shifts are a good way to meet potential clients. Doing classes has built up my confidence more.

    Cons

    Not always enough to do on shift. Shift hours, such as ones till 10pm

    The Gym Group2020-01-20
  6. "Supportive team and exciting growing business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Croydon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Gym Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is growing quickly, meaning lots of opportunities to create an impact and develop new ways of working Collaboration with other teams - a really friendly company Good work life balance and flexible working Senior management treat everyone as their equal

    Cons

    As it's been growing so fast, even more employees would be great

    The Gym Group2020-01-18

    The Gym Group Response

    February 3, 2020People Advisor - People and Projects

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are happy to hear that you’re enjoying your experience working at The Gym. If you have any further feedback to share please contact me or a member of the People Team. All the best, Rachel

    Continue reading
  7. "terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Trainer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Gym Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good way to start your fitness career

    Cons

    management are terrible, they only care about the dollar, refuse to invest in staff or care about members, its all about operate cheap and watch the dollars roll in.

    Continue reading
    The Gym Group2020-01-23
  8. "Peaceful environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Trainer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Gym Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very little responsibility and stress, good to start a career and get experience in the industry. You are free to do PT work whenever you want and keep all income.

    Cons

    It is a budget gym, members are not willing to pay high fees. If you work shift plus not too many clients you end up earning low hourly rate.

    The Gym Group2020-01-09
  9. "good company with good values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Gym Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is promoted Autonomous approach to management Bonus structure is fair and promotes hard work The company is progressive & asks for internal feedback when making changes

    Cons

    The day to day work can become repetitive

    Continue reading
    The Gym Group2019-12-23

    The Gym Group Response

    February 3, 2020People Advisor - People and Projects

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We always love to hear from our employees and appreciate you sharing your personal experience. It’s great to learn that you are enjoying the autonomy and balance that the GM role offers. Development is a priority for us so that we can build the talent we have in the business and provide our employees with opportunities to develop themselves and their careers. We have successfully embedded the Emerging Talent programme for our Assistant General Managers and moving into 2020 we will be launching an exciting new learning programme for our General Managers. The introduction last year of the Snr General Manager and Dual General Manager roles also offers further opportunities to broaden development and experience within the General Manager role. Thank you once again for your feedback All the best, Rachel

    Continue reading
  10. "Best company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Gym Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best company I have ever worked for.

    Cons

    As the company grows it's starting to take a lot of decisions centrally. Taking away from the GM roll.

    Continue reading
    The Gym Group2019-11-19

    The Gym Group Response

    February 3, 2020People Advisor - People and Projects

    Hi there, it’s great to read your feedback, its exactly the experience we strive to provide all our employees. A lot has changed over the past couple of years which has been fundamental to our progression and growth. We know our people are at the heart of The Gym, that’s why nurturing our unique culture and improving communications is a huge focus for 2020. We want to ensure our employees continue to have a voice and channels for providing feedback and ideas. As well as continuing with our regular engagement surveys, we have some exciting plans in the pipeline that will support further opportunities for communication. Thank you again for your feedback. Rachel

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 27 reviews