The Hartford Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Hartford Reviews

Updated 24 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
The Hartford CEO Christopher Swift
Christopher Swift
727 Ratings
Pros
  • "You have a lot more flexibility than most places so work life balance is great(in 205 reviews)

  • "They have remote if you lucky to work from home that is a option(in 123 reviews)

Cons
  • "The work/life balance can be hard on occasion(in 101 reviews)

  • "The job is mentally draining but that's not uncommon for a call center(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The Hartford takes care of their employees!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Ability Analyst, Group Benefits 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits which have further improved from 2019 to 2020, flex time, remote worker opportunities, impressive 401K match, tuition reimbursement, adoption benefits, and beginning in 2020, student loan payment assistance and much more. Huge emphasis on employee development with many opportunities to advance. Senior management is very engaged with employees on all levels.

    Cons

    No downside, especially compared to other corporate experiences in the field. There is always room to improve, and the Hartford proves their commitment to do so is priority, evidenced by their low turnover rate and recognition for several years as a top ethical employer.

    The Hartford2019-12-18
  2. "Service delivery analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Hartford part-time

    Pros

    Identify automation opportunities by: Review of functional processes, discussions with Operations teams and review of industry trend and standards.

    Cons

    Gather in-function and cross functional management support for projects is not working in the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure adherence to delivery timelines and software quality

    The Hartford2016-07-29
  3. "Oracle Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for. Flexible working. Ability to contribute to change in the team. Good bonuses and pay rises.

    Cons

    Seemed to be a lot of promoting to senior management of internal staff that were there the longest and were "yes" men rather than the most qualified.

    Advice to Management

    Continue what you are doing. Look at hiring for senior roles outside of the organisation rather than just hire those that are willing to agree with the loudest voice

    The Hartford2015-04-13
  4. "The hartford is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Claims Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Supportive development, great opportunities, great company

    Cons

    Dental health care would be good

    The Hartford2013-03-08
  5. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Analyst in Windsor, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture and management generally.

    Cons

    Under pays their employees and plays favorites. Definition of corporate america

    Advice to Management

    Value production and effort over behaviors and make it less of a popularity contest.

    The Hartford2020-01-21
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are very good and the people (culture) is great

    Cons

    Overall, my experience has been very positive. No cons at this point.

    The Hartford2020-01-20
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relationship Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of different areas of focus to work in. The benefits are great

    Cons

    A little too much micromanaging

    Advice to Management

    Let your employees have more freedom to make decisions and do what’s best for your insureds.

    The Hartford2020-01-12
  8. "Excellent Support from my company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Service Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I am so thankful to work for a company that is really invested in my future! The student loan repayment program is just one amazing benefit they offer! To actually know that I now have a chance to actually pay down my student loan is a piece of mind I never thought I would ever have!

    Cons

    I don't have any at this time

    The Hartford2020-01-10
  9. "Great company but completely mismanaged aetna acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Traditional hartford claims employees care about each other and the work they do for the most part.

    Cons

    lack of leadership or strategic vision in regards to acquiring a very different and entitled aetna claims organization. This has severely negatively impacted employee experience from a people standpoint and a claims system standpoint. Put simply, no one stepped up to put our new employees in their place or to prevent them from treating hartford employees like they treated their aetna employees. I cant express how disheartening this is. Aetna leaders are not driving Hartford behaviors and nobody is doing anything about it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have made a lasting negative impact on your long-standing hartford claims employees. Whether you believe it or not, it's true. You need to be more active in driving hartford behaviors from the former aetna employees. You have lost a tenured successful employee because you have demonstrated money is more important than culture at this time. Do better. My skills, talent and experience will now be utilized by a competitor.

    Show More
    The Hartford2020-01-24
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CCA 
    Recommends

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time

    Pros

    Good salary Weekends off Vacation time is reasonable

    Cons

    Busy, change, abundance of information,

    The Hartford2020-01-06
Found 1960 reviews