The Hartford Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Hartford Reviews

Updated 22 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1876 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
The Hartford CEO Christopher Swift
Christopher Swift
677 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some added benefits of working at The Hartford include the work/life balance(in 191 reviews)

  • "They have remote if you lucky to work from home that is a option(in 120 reviews)

Cons
  • "The work/life balance can be hard on occasion(in 94 reviews)

  • "If you are customer-facing just assume that you are going to be treated like a sweatshop call center employee(in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Service delivery analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Hartford part-time

    Pros

    Identify automation opportunities by: Review of functional processes, discussions with Operations teams and review of industry trend and standards.

    Cons

    Gather in-function and cross functional management support for projects is not working in the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure adherence to delivery timelines and software quality

    The Hartford2016-07-29
  2. "Oracle Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for. Flexible working. Ability to contribute to change in the team. Good bonuses and pay rises.

    Cons

    Seemed to be a lot of promoting to senior management of internal staff that were there the longest and were "yes" men rather than the most qualified.

    Advice to Management

    Continue what you are doing. Look at hiring for senior roles outside of the organisation rather than just hire those that are willing to agree with the loudest voice

    The Hartford2015-04-13
  3. "The hartford is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Claims Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Supportive development, great opportunities, great company

    Cons

    Dental health care would be good

    The Hartford2013-03-08
  4. "Productive and collaborative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Technician in Plantation, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great compensation benefits and discounts

    Cons

    High production environment, pay could be more

    Advice to Management

    Align employees to roles who identify with the appropriate experience and skill

    The Hartford2019-07-22
  5. "Great company culture, rocky sales organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Agent 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. The Culture. The people are great. The company spends a lot of time, energy and resources cultivating an inclusive and fun environment. They do this through ERGs, volunteer opportunities, company outings and department contests. 2. The Training, both new hire and ongoing. Again, The Hartford puts a lot of effort into making sure their employees are informed about changes in company policy, underwriting guidelines,...

    Show More

    Cons

    1. The compensation plan. Oooh, the compensation plan... In just one year, Personal Lines Sales has changed their compensation structure 4 times. The first compensation plan was a joke. You had to sell 60-70 policies before you were even eligible for commission, and then the commission could barely cover an electric bill. Then the second comp plan came out, and it was mildly better, as it focused on efficiency over volume....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I will not believe your desire to become a sales organization until you stop looking for ways to pay your sales people less.

    The Hartford2019-07-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Still a Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      I returned to the Hartford recently and am so glad that I did. I felt engaged and valued from day 1.

      Cons

      Not company specific, but health insurance has totally gotten out of control.

      The Hartford2019-07-15
    • "Great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Hartford, CT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Hartford full-time

      Pros

      Been here for 18+ years. The people are what make our company a great place to work. You are not just a number. Great benefits and 401K plans.

      Cons

      Since I am a remote worker, sometimes you miss being in an office and seeing people. But we do use Skype and all have cameras, so you at least get to see folks when attending meetings and huddles!

      The Hartford2019-07-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great company / poor computer software / very little bonus for hard long sales."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at The Hartford

        Pros

        Happy work environment with nice people. Integrity selling. 401k match. I give the company 4 stars because it’s a good product and service from a consumer perspective.

        Cons

        Push to sell on first contact with old people clients. Ancient software/ software issues. Extremely long calls to bind simple policies. Terrible bonus structure. Anything that could be done easily here is made difficult. Pay is not rewarding for the job. This Information is coming from a top performer with good attendance. The company is hogging up all the potential bonus for themselves. Pay the people well who sell and...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Pay bonus to existing reps instead of paying to hire new people when we quit. Get a profit share or some type of reward for binding these long policies. No middle man bonus. Only top 10% make all the bonus. Stop making excuses as to how and why your SIP program is working when it isn’t.

        The Hartford2019-07-11
      • "Excellent career growth opportunity"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Director in Hartford, CT
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        * Great career growth opportunity * Fantastic compensation with both yearly bonuses and long-term incentives * Generous 401(k) match * Solid ethics and corporate sustainability

        Cons

        * Commuting into the City of Hartford is a challenge. The city doesn't plow its roads, for example, and there are frequently traffic snarls compared with commuting to a corporate campus in a suburban setting on the outskirts of Hartford.

        The Hartford2019-07-10
      • "Amazing Company That Cares!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Regional Director in Clinton, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        The company is very supportive of employee growth and development, providing employees with many career opportunities. The company is focused on employee engagement, work-life balance, and takes community involvement seriously.

        Cons

        Same as with any company, there can be a lot of change sometimes, but it's all a part of providing the most advanced products and services to customers.

        The Hartford2019-07-10
      Found 1876 reviews