The Hartford Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Jan 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 133 of over 2,721 reviews

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
The Hartford CEO Christopher Swift
Christopher Swift
1,086 Ratings
Pros
  • "great work life balance and good mentorship(in 228 reviews)

  • "Work schedules and work from home is very flexible(in 134 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "For claims, work-life balance is always a constant struggle(in 111 reviews)

  • "I felt like i was stuck in my current role and the upper management did not share my enthusiasm for growth(in 39 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work from home"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Decent

      Jan 5, 2021 - Associate in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home is great

      Cons

      Busy days but not on fridays

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent Company

      Jan 4, 2021 - Underwriter II in Lake Mary, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for, they are interested in helping you advance your career Great PTO time off Work from Home Opportunities

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. What people are saying about The Hartford

      Join the conversation on
      Join the conversation on
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good people, slow culture

      Jan 14, 2021 - Product Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      benefits, pay, security, people, work from home

      Cons

      old fashioned, slow, not tech driven

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent pay and PTO. Very repetitive work and work process could be improved

      Jan 13, 2021 - Long Term Disability Claim Manager in Lake Mary, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is decent for new grad/early career PTO is great and they match 401k to small % Room to grow in company Work from home

      Cons

      Work can be tedious and stressful Have to apply for WFH and it's only offered a few times per year

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Benefits, hit or miss opportunities

      Jan 12, 2021 - Inside Property Adjuster III in Windsor, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great corporate benefits, work from home opportunities and it feels that they are pushing limits on benefits that will improve the lives of many employees.

      Cons

      The company culture was not consistent with its written word. There is clearly pay discrepancies between men and women. Visionary employees were not always embraced and often management did not know what to do or how to support ambitious employees. Leaders were not trained on how to develop and invest in staff members to continue their growth.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Nothing but a number

      Oct 5, 2020 - Sales Representative in Penn, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Able to work from home - Generous PTO - Employees were good quality people

      Cons

      - Micromanagement (you are literally glued to your desk for hours on end taking back to back calls and I can’t even step away and use the bathroom without someone demanding to know where I am, even if it’s only been 2 minutes) - High expectation of sales quotas the majority of quote prices are $1,000’s+ what people pay yet they expect you to sell a minimum of 57 policies a month. I would track my calls every day and some days I only had 4 calls to work with and would sell 2-3 of those calls. What more could I do? - Being fired in the middle of a pandemic due to not meeting sales goals is a low blow. Most people calling in were needing to save money just like everyone else due to not working or just trying to lower their costs. But Hartford gives such crazy premiums or declines everything under the sun it makes it hard to sell. But losing my job in the middle of this is just crazy to me I dedicated 7 years of my life to this company and they just let me go as just a number. - Sales metrics they literally have 10 metrics you need to meet and follow that just revolve around what your selling and how much. Just too much to keep track each day. You go in do the best you can with what calls you have to work with and go home. I have no control over what calls I get, the premiums or people’s choices. But yet Hartford stresses to focus on things within your control but in reality majority of the job is not in my control.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good company

      Aug 24, 2020 - Programmer Analyst in Alpharetta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home set up.

      Cons

      Bad work life balance .

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Its Just Okay

      Sep 2, 2020 - Sales Associate in Penn, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stable company and its work from home

      Cons

      Commissions is low and they ding you for everything. As one reviewer put it, you're not a sales agent but a strict underwriter

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      First stepping stone, but nothing more.

      Sep 18, 2020 - Senior Data Scientist in Hartford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Downtown headquarters give access to restaurants and things to do after work. Some flexibility to work from home (telework). After you quit, you will feel liberated! :)

      Cons

      No work/life balance, most work 10-12 hours a day. Little opportunity for personal development. 'You are as good as your last project' kind of culture. Very aggressive project timelines with no sufficient resources (people, servers). Very little opportunity for career advancement.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    11. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Crazy production goals

      May 29, 2020 - Senior Premium Auditor in Hartford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home. No boss underfoot

      Cons

      They want you do to 650 audits a year . Not bad if they were small to medium. Have a dozen large accounts at a time that take 10 to 20 hours each. And that is a constant load. Would have to work 80 hrs a week to make their production goal. And the quality reviews are so picky . No raise in years. Leaving.

      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 133 Reviews

    Work at The Hartford? Share Your Experiences

    The Hartford logo
    or