The Hershey Company Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Hershey Company Reviews

Updated 9 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
The Hershey Company CEO Michele Buck
Michele Buck
140 Ratings
Pros
  • "really great people to work with and great atmosphere(in 51 reviews)

  • "Good Benefits, cars, paint, clothing etc(in 34 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Candy Land Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Replenishment Planner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hershey Company full-time

    Pros

    Amazing people, amazing brands, the headquarters feels like you've walked into Willy Wonka's factory

    Cons

    Often sacrifice sales for supply/demand forecasts

    The Hershey Company2019-12-07
  2. "No Longer The Same Sweet Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Hershey Company full-time

    Pros

    Challenging work and many opportunities to learn; free on-site candy

    Cons

    Ongoing re-organizations and layoffs have created a very tense and unpleasant work environment; benefits are not as competitive; poor management; no career advancement

    Advice to Management

    Concentrate on selling more product; current philosophy to sustain growth metrics is harming worker morale

    The Hershey Company2019-12-09
  3. "Category Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Manager in Hershey, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    smart, friendly, and driven atmosphere

    Cons

    If you are in sales you will have to move to advance your career

    The Hershey Company2019-11-20
  4. "Nice Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Director in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hershey Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good place, good wage, relax time

    Cons

    Too stuffy, and annoyingly strong smell

    Advice to Management

    Keep working!

    The Hershey Company2019-11-05
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hershey Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company really believes is "One Hershey" Really good team engagement

    Cons

    Opportunities for growth is not a wide range it is a very straight path

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to feedback

    The Hershey Company2019-11-18
  6. "Production supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at The Hershey Company

    Pros

    A very good place for growth

    Cons

    Good management and good place to work

    Advice to Management

    They fair

    The Hershey Company2019-11-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Supply chain specialists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supply Chain Analyst in Austin, TX
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Hershey Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunches at amplify snack. Good healthy care.

    Cons

    Toxic work environment. I started a year ago, and there are more than 20+ people quit since i started. And many of them left no 2 weeks notices. It is toxic work environment. I have been guilt trip because i needed to take a sick day for my daughter’s surgery. And got in trouble for going to doctor appointments and reported to HR, nothing has changed. Abusive manager and many people reported to HR and HR still did... nothing to solve the issue.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please provide employee a positive environment. Employees are burned out and over utilized. management are so abusive and driving quality hard working employee away.

    The Hershey Company2019-11-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Technology in Hershey, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very collaborative, good work-life balance, competitive compensation

    Cons

    Passive culture, risk adverse, resistant to change

    The Hershey Company2019-10-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Ownership mindset"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director in Hershey, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Transparent, agile leadership, supporting an ownership mindset down through the organization. A great place to be if you want to make a difference.

    Cons

    hard to find any as long as you can reconcile yourself to the rural location

    Advice to Management

    stay focused, continue to be selective with M&A and Innovation.

    The Hershey Company2019-09-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hershey Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company has had a flexible schedule, competitive salary and let’s you work independently

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for career growth

    The Hershey Company2019-09-03
Found 793 reviews