The Loft Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Loft Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
The Loft CEO Sylvie Prud’Homme   and  Dave Osborne
Sylvie Prud’Homme and Dave Osborne
0 Ratings
  1. "good training, too quiet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at The Loft part-time

      Pros

      good training offered to upskill staff, I found this most beneficial. good team spirit as well. God tips which helped a lot.

      Cons

      The hourly rate wasn't very good, hours often cut through the week so you ended up short of money. ften called in at short notice and frowned upon if you couldn't make it.

      The Loft2017-01-20
    • "Poor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Perrysburg, OH
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at The Loft part-time

      Pros

      I enjoyed making women look and feel great and being able to be creative putting together outfits for them

      Cons

      The managers were unkind, I was told I would be hired for at least 10 hours a week (I was a student at the time) and I was never given more than 4 hours a week.

      Advice to Management

      Be more kind and understanding. Do not hire people if you do not need them. It should be more inclusive of new people.

      The Loft2017-09-15
    • "Cocktail Waitresss"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cocktail Waitress in Columbus, GA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at The Loft part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very eclectic and very talented musicians frequented the upstairs recording studio! it is located in downtown Columbus, GA so you get a vey diverse clientele from hippie art university students and faculty to businessmen and military. It taught me to be flexible and accomodate. wide variety of customers.

      Cons

      The late night hours (until 4 am) did not fit well with my senior college hours. I am graduated with a free schedule currently.

      Advice to Management

      Cut the floor earlier so sections were larger and more money could be made!

      The Loft2017-06-24
    • "Hostess"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at The Loft

      Pros

      Great time, fun staff and environment, plus good foos

      Cons

      Busy in the summer, long hours

      The Loft2017-02-28
    • "Great Company to Work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at The Loft for less than a year

      Pros

      Manager's care about your development

      Cons

      Customers can be difficult when making a return without a receipt.

      The Loft2016-09-15
    • "Working at LOFT"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at The Loft

      Pros

      I really enjoy the discount and the people I work with. My manager works with our schedules and is very accommodating when time off is needed. As a student, this is a great place to work. I feel as if I know trending styles from working here.

      Cons

      It's all about getting people to sign up for the credit card and getting customers to spend money, which is why I frequently want to quit. I understand tender share and dollars per transaction, but the amount that it is drilled into us makes me sick. I received a good employee review; however, it was not as high as it could have been due to my inconsistencies with getting people to sign up for a credit card. The company...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Provide coachable moments for other aspects of retail, don't harp on the credit card as much, be positive and encouraging to your associates. Your attitude and work ethic influences our attitudes and work ethics.

      The Loft2016-08-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in Columbia, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at The Loft

      Pros

      I love the work environment and the clients. I am very into fashion and clothing and have broaden my skills/ knowledge with fashion thanks to this job.

      Cons

      I have no cons for this job.

      Advice to Management

      keep up the great work ethic and high standards for the job its self and the employees

      The Loft2016-03-17
    • Helpful (2)

      "Sales Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at The Loft part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I really like working here. It is the best most satisfying job I've had. If you like being around positive upbeat people, helping people, fashion, and organizing, you will most likely enjoy working here. I really love this brand because it encourages women to be confident and to be themselves. I also love (most) of my coworkers and bosses. My boss I have currently is great. She always says hi with a big smile on her face...

      Show More

      Cons

      The starting salary isn't that good, but it depends on your boss. I started at $9.50 as a sales associate over a year ago and have never received a raise. My coworkers who have worked at other locations other than mine have told me that employees get raises if the store does well but it is only a couple of cents. However, the new manager has been starting people at $10+, so it depends who hires you and how much you've...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Pay your employees better. The more they earn, the more they will appreciate the job and do better work as well as be nicer to customers. Also, verbal positive reinforcement makes a huge difference. Employees want to feel appreciated and want to know that you are watching.

      The Loft2015-10-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Sales associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chestnut Hill, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at The Loft part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Excellent promotion on work relationships and a brand that caters to the comfy yet stylish woman. Met some very nice young ladies while I worked here. Discount on clothes is great too! Flexible hours.

      Cons

      Change in management directed me to resign. Work was no longer fun to come to and the new store manger was quite rude. The register system could use some updates for transactions to go smoother. Need more staff to cover fitting room adequately to ensure loss prevention.

      Advice to Management

      Important not to micro manage. When you are stressed everyone can feel it and you set the tone for the day. Don't talk about customers negatively especially when they can hear you. Senior management was non existent.

      The Loft2015-09-20
    • "The loft"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at The Loft full-time

        Pros

        Flexible hours, fun gals and good discount on clothing and great chance to stock the closet with cardigans.

        Cons

        Holiday craziness - but all retail sees this. A few team members were better to work with than others but overall management team was great

        Advice to Management

        You should try to be transparent. Keep and reward good team members, don't overwork them. It can be tiring working with the same slackers

        The Loft2015-07-20
      Found 18 reviews