The Mark Travel Corporation Reviews

Updated 27 Oct 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 156 of over 161 reviews

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
The Mark Travel Corporation Chairman, President, CEO, and COO William E. La Macchia (no image)
William E. La Macchia
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Core Values are true to who the organization is(in 18 reviews)

  • "Awesome team members and managers(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Mandatory overtime which is NOT optional(in 19 reviews)

  • "A lot is expected of team members(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      The company that was.....

      29 May 2020 - Customer Service Supervisor in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I started with the company Bil Sr was in charge. It was a good company and it just got better over time. Travel benefits were outstanding! Medical and vacation benefits were superior. I was there nearly 20 years and I saw things change dramatically. Note my reviews are of the time I was there, before the down hill slide

      Cons

      HR personnel were all replaced (or quit) . They were caring people then they put in short sighted idiots. By looking at the review responses I can see Jennifer is one of them. And Bill Jr couldn't ever run a company the way his father did. I have heard they sold out. Probably the best move that could have been done. It seems like they went down the same road that many do into corporate crapsville. Appears that maybe the kids took after their mother and became self serving minions Too bad they took that road. though I am sure they lives of luxury.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Okay overall company

      27 Oct 2020 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay was very competitive.

      Cons

      No real room for advancement

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      What happens when your no longer a family owned business.

      12 May 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really some of the best coworkers ever.

      Cons

      Merger changed everything. No longer the same company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Call center employee

      16 Jul 2019 - During Travel Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overtime provided, stable full time work

      Cons

      Holidays off aren’t realistic, mandatory overtime is draining, difficult to get time off

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best Company I've Ever Worked For

      26 May 2017 - Anonymous in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The chain of management in my team is awesome, all the way to the top. There's so much communication, dedication, support, and appreciation. No one is ever too busy (yes, everyone's busy) to take time to answer questions, have a teachable moment, address an issue, or share gratitude. As one who thrives in a positive environment, The Mark Travel Corporation (TMTC) is my place. My opinion, my voice, my work, and my wellness is valued. We have so many wonderful programs around team member wellness that I look forward to and actively participate in. Management supports me in my innovations and my desire for growth. If you walk into TMTC with a positive attitude, ready for engagement, and can embrace change, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised at the outcome. Our core values aren't just words. They're the directions we live by. Be well, work well, live well.

      Cons

      The company expects a lot from team members? I love staying engaged and progressive at work so I guess that's an upside for me, but I could see where it might be too much for others. If you want to work for the best, you must perform at your best.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Professional and Prompt Interview Process

      4 Aug 2016 - Group Service Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was always kept informed. I was surprised to get emails from the office within an hour of an interview, and even when there was a waiting period between my in-person interview and a job offer, Lindsay followed up with an email letting me know when she believed she'd have an answer for me. The phone interview was a basic coverage of my resume and the in person was more situational based. They asked me to give examples of time management, organization, and conflict resolution, that kind of thing. But the company has such a great culture and interpersonal work relationships that it felt more like chatting with friends you are getting to know! I think my favorite question that I was totally unprepared for was - tell us a few things about yourself as a person outside of work! It's great to see a company that values their people as people.

      Cons

      The Groups department works hard, and sometimes that falls above and beyond the 40 hour work week. What's good is that my hire was a capacity expansion, so management is aware of this problem and is working to bring it into balance.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      YOU should be here!!

      29 Aug 2016 -  in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been with the company many years now, and have seen firsthand many instances of how much the owners care about the team members and the company itself. I've never seen a company so invested in the core values - it makes me proud to say I'm a team member. From the benefits, to the vacation plan (which, compared to other Milwaukee companies, is very generous), to the wellness program - team members mean a lot to the company. I can also tell you that I'm not the only one who feels this way. For each person who has negative things to say about the company, there are 10 more who feel the opposite. We have such longevity and knowledge throughout the teams and you can see the passion for the products we sell and for the customer. We try to treat each other like family here - we may not always agree on things, but we all care about each other.

      Cons

      Teams require a lot from their team members and they hold their team members accountable. Although we have fun, we still expect a high quality of work from everyone. We have our own operating system which can take some adaptability (but is useful once you get using it). Keep in mind none of these are really negatives, but you have to be willing to get your hands dirty and do the work.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      The Mark Travel Corporation Response

      SVP-Human Resources and Corporate Counsel

      Wow thank you! I hope everyone both prospective, current and past team members take the opportunity to read this. You are right, it is a family around here - quite literally - but it's not just the La Macchias who treat the company as if it's their own, that's true for every one of our dedicated team members. The pride in the company and one's work differentiates us not only from others in travel industry but from other companies in the regions where we operate. It's because of our team and a shared vision that we have been consistently voted one of the top companies in Wisconsin. I'm grateful for your review, I hope that you will continue to share your feedback - the good or the bad - with us. All the best, Jennifer La Macchia

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      500 Customer Support Team

      11 Nov 2016 - Customer Support Team 500 Club in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined the company a little less than a year and half ago with no travel background at all. I'm so grateful to have a wonderful team of trainers, supervisors, managers, and co workers that have always offered me guidance and support in each of my roles. In the short time that I've been with company I've really established a strong sense of pride in our end to end vision and what our customers mean to us. The company is very wellness oriented and offers a number of great resources to its employees year round. We have our own Wellness Ambassador that everyone knows by name. We have wellness action day once a year which is the company's way to allow us to focus on our wellness and show their appreciation for the work we do. We have an annual Benefits Enrollment meeting in which our HR department takes the time to sit down with every employee to educate them. I think one of the company's biggest strengths is Management. The group of supervisors and managers in Milwaukee our all so hard working and dedicated, they never shy away from helping no matter what the issue may be. They set the bar for customer service which has allowed me to learn and grow as team member within LME.

      Cons

      Peak season is a majority of the year and requires long hours. However, that was made clear during the interview process. There is flexibility with your extra hours so you have the option to manage your schedule during peak season.

      1 person found this review helpful

      The Mark Travel Corporation Response

      SVP-Human Resources and Corporate Counsel

      Hi and thank you for your feedback. I apologize that I've been so far behind on my replies. I am happy to hear that you feel so supported here at LME. I am grateful that you've shared this as I truly believe that is what we are about as a company. I said down in another reply, being so busy is a good problem to have but it can make things very difficult for our team members. We can always improve how we operate and it's important for our team's voices to be heard. We are looking into ways how we can operate more efficiently, with more flexibility for our team members without sacrificing the industry-leading customer service we provide to our customers and travel agents. What we need more of to do this is to hear from our team directly. Suggestions, concerns, ideas - we need them. Sometimes our team members think that nothing will come of it, but we can point to many areas we've improved because our team members made an effort to voice their concerns and ideas. We can only improve when we know what the issues are. Keep talking to us and we hope that you continue to feel the same way you did at the time you wrote this! All my best, Jennifer La Macchia

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Work hard and move up!

      17 Jul 2017 - Sales Manager in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Family Owned - Open positions = advancement opportunities - Yearly raises for hard working team members. If you don't work hard then difficult to expect a merit increase. -Travel opportunities - Strong technology = stability in the marketplace - Acquired new company = growing - 401K match - Leadership gives you the tools you need. It is up to you to use them effectively - Expectations of position are very fair. I don't feel micromanaged but I am held accountable for quarterly goals/projects. - Vacation time is off the charts. But more importantly, Mark Travel encourages you to use it! Vacation is accrued based on time with the company. -Salary is competitive with the market -Wellness is an important and motivated core value. I am always encouraged to participate in different activities to promote my well being. The Biggest pro is that I love what I do. I have the opportunity to talk about travel all day long with our travel agent partners and co-workers.

      Cons

      - Turn around time on new hires is longer than expected. Mark Travel does thorough background checks then can take time to find the ideal candidate. -Health insurance certainly isn't the worst or most expensive but could improve in a couple areas.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Love my job.

      4 Feb 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working for The Mark Travel Corporation. During my hiring process, there was a heavy emphasis put on the "culture" of the organization. Everyone talked about the "culture" as being what sets the company apart from all others. It was not until I was hired, and was immersed in this culture, that I really could see the difference. From management to front line team members, it is obvious that everyone has a vested interested in everyone else. The people here really do care about everyone around them, and really want to see each other be successful. I feel valued every single day, and I see the value that I do add. I love knowing that I make a difference, and that I am appreciated. I am treated with respect, and the ideas that I have, are really listened to and considered. I know that I have room to learn and grow, and I know that if I work hard, it will pay off and be recognized.

      Cons

      I really do love my job- and there are not many things that I would change. However, some decisions need to be made by taking into consideration all perspectives and ideas, and not just having one person at the "top" making the final decision.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Mark Travel Corporation Response

      Human Resources

      Hello, Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so pleased to hear that you love your job and appreciate the culture at TMTC. It is great to hear that your leader embodies the core values - be sure to let him or her know you think that! We're always open to hearing team member feedback so feel free to share anytime if you have any additional thoughts. Thanks again!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 156 Reviews

    Work at The Mark Travel Corporation? Share Your Experiences

    The Mark Travel Corporation logo
    or