The Open University Employee Reviews about "career progression"

Updated 3 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Open University Vice-Chancellor Tim Blackman (no image)
Tim Blackman
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Relaxed work culture and excellent work-life balance(in 16 reviews)

  • "Very friendly and relaxed working environment(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management are very political(in 13 reviews)

  • "Career progression not always open and fair(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "career progression"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Great company

      23 Sep 2019 - Research Assistant in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good work environment great work/life balance good communication

      Cons

      career progression is quite slow

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Nice work if you can get it

      3 Aug 2020 - Business Systems Analyst in Decatur, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generous holidays and agile working options Lovely campus with good facilities and clubs Friendly ethos

      Cons

      Career progression not always open and fair Too many layers of management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Super friendly staff

      30 Apr 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      31 days holiday + 10 christmas closure days + bank holidays

      Cons

      Lack of career progression but that's it really

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee

      A terrible employer - the OU is on the decline

      17 Jan 2017 - Student Services 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This used to be a great company to work for but all the Pros have gone. Most staff are looking to leave because of the changes and the OU is running itself out of business!

      Cons

      There are NO career progression opportunities anymore. Annual "staff satisfaction" survey results get worse year on year. A very arrogant, draconian management culture that imposes bad decision making and refuses to listen to staff who actually do the job and could recommend an enhanced way of working. Lots of downgrading of jobs, increased workload and 6 day work-shift patterns which is resulting in a massive turnover of staff. The OU is in the process of closing 8 Regional Centres across England making approx 1000 knowledgeable staff redundant. At this rate the OU will go out of business over the coming years.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Ou as employer

      18 Jun 2015 - Associate Lecturer in Sheffield, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The students are very motivated- you feel you are making a difference in their lives, it fits round other jobs/life events/ you can teach on-line from home

      Cons

      you are expected to keep up with IT with no support whatsoever- so when they brought in eTMAs we had to buy software. to be fair they did give some training but it has meant a lot more work for no more money. It is very IT based and I don't like to ask for help as everyone else gets on with it. It can be very isolating as you don't normally meet colleagues at all. No real career progression- there are staff full-time- incredibly few- and we part-timers are all fighitng over a very few jobs- although you could move to other universities.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Insecure and chaotic, but rewarding work

      28 May 2017 - Associate Lecturer in Milton Keynes, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get to teach earnest, conscientious students, mainly home based so flexible as work to own timetable, occasionally get to meet students at face-to-face tutorials, fee waivers for university study, free access to online journals

      Cons

      Really isolating as work solo, rarely get to meet colleagues and discuss work; no career progression in fact the opposite as increasing redundancies; in 7 years still in the same position teaching the same module regardless of effort; career development opportunities non-existent; expected to do a lot of work unpaid.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Flexible working, friendly environment

      19 May 2016 - Editor in Milton Keynes, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working including home working Good pay Friendly staff Approachable management

      Cons

      Bureaucracy Lack of career progression (in academic related posts) Top heavy management Dubious recruitment practices - pretending to be fair and transparent but a bit of a 'who you know' culture

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work for

      7 Oct 2015 - Support Staff in Milton Keynes, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Pay - Holiday allowance - Opportunity to study - Beautiful Campus - Not micro managed and trusted to get on with my own work - Shop on site

      Cons

      - Limited career progression - Change can be very slow

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      I really loved The Open University before I worked for the company.

      23 Mar 2015 - Administrative Assistant in Milton Keynes, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Holiday is generous and the company will support you financially to study towards an open degree.

      Cons

      Bullying culture, micro-management, not a lot of support and no opportunities for career progression. I worked very hard for four years and my performance always rated highly but my manager often shouted at me in front of the office, belittled me and humiliated me. My manager offered to apply for a re-grading for my role and then kept "forgetting" about it (over a year). I became ill and management was unkind and unsympathetic and forced me out of my role. This may have been specific to my small department but there wasn't anyone I felt I was able to talk to about it in the company at the time.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Review of the Open University

      3 Mar 2018 - Lecturer in Milton Keynes, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility, particularly if you have young children/caring responsibilities Opportunities for developing writing skills/production skills Some excellent colleagues

      Cons

      Lack of career progression Current climate at the Open University demoralising - VC talking about the coming biggest programme of cuts at any university in the UK with pride! Most regional centres already cut. Comes from BBC and not interested in day to day work of the university in delivering teaching across a wide range of subjects just in being at the forefront of media developments Micromanagement Lack of resources being devoted to the production of what used to be first class materials Pace of change in a big and complex UK wide institution - difficulties in managing student expectations in the face of the often irrational changes Managerialism and lack of support for staff Isolation - little effort to support staff working in isolated situations and largely at home since the closure of the regions. Big workload

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Open University Job Seekers

    Associate Lecturer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Associate Lecturer Services Assistant
    Learn About the Job

    Work at The Open University? Share Your Experiences

    The Open University logo
    or