The Open University Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated 14 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Open University Vice-Chancellor Tim Blackman (no image)
Tim Blackman
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Relaxed work culture and excellent work-life balance(in 16 reviews)

  • "Very friendly and relaxed working environment(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management are very political(in 13 reviews)

  • "Career progression not always open and fair(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "senior management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Brilliant company to work for

      11 Mar 2020 -  in Milton Keynes, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very supportive and excellent training. If you show motivation and drive they will support you and encourage you to grow. Direct managers work closely as do senior - everyone is present in the office so great for networking. Being a large organisation there are opportunities everywhere - I stated in student recruitment with no goals - they have helped shape a career and in just over 3 years have moved up 3 grades! Brilliant holidays (45 day I think), and great office attitude (no blame only train!), they hold lots of office events like BBQs , bake sales, PIZZA, even trip abroad! I love working here so much I bought a house up here! Also AMAZING pension contribution at 19% ! I could go on!

      Cons

      Whilst we have excellent gender equality with many women in senior management roles, this goes down once you get to more senior roles The east campus canteen (run by an external company) is hilariously frustrating! If you want to buy something expect to wait about 5 minutes whilst the staff unpack milk and have a catch up in the kitchen!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Not a place to stay

      14 Jan 2021 - New Student Advisor in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Met some lovely trainees and the training officer was lovely

      Cons

      Manager they put me under was a nightmare wanted us to work the way that she did and even rearranged our desktops to suit her. Went for an internal interview and she wanted to know all the questions that we had been asked and attempted to get me to show the questions to her but I didn't have them. Didn't particularly like me or others and lied to senior management with regards our work and stated that senior managers had made decisions regarding the things that we needed to do but when I asked one of the senior managers it was made clear that It was the managers decisions not theirs.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Good but poor leadership

      7 Oct 2020 - Head of Infrastructure in Milton Keynes, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Close to home for me

      Cons

      Senior management are very political

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Poor Senior Management

      13 Jun 2019 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff support, holiday entitlement

      Cons

      Poor senior management, overspending, no accountability

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      OU Ruined by Poor Senior Management

      10 Aug 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great students to work with. Lot of flexibility in how you allocate time to supporting students.

      Cons

      Disorganised constant quest for change. Clueless senior management have ruined a once great institution. Poor reward for a lot of work. Rely too much on goodwill of employees without any corresponding respect from senior management.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Used to be a great place to work.

      25 Jul 2015 - Technical Project Officer in Milton Keynes, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent holiday entitlement, flexible working hours, good local management.

      Cons

      I had the best years, and pleased to leave with an enhanced voluntary severance package and pension. Too much pruning of funding has cut science research, student fee increase has cut student numbers. Senior management does not have any idea how to motivate people. The OU has lost it's shine as an employer, and most folk that I used to work with now demoralised and looking for out.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Losing its way

      8 Sep 2017 - Academic in Milton Keynes, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Potential to keep alive its original core mission for social mobility and justice

      Cons

      Senior management fail to embrace the mission or to understand the complexity and special features of how we operate, and make decisions that are flawed, sometimes fatally. There is a lack of a culture of incubating good ideas that arise from the practice of OU teaching and research.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Stay away

      3 Mar 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good holiday allocation and a nice campus. The OU continues to do some great work delivering on its social mission.

      Cons

      Massive change over the last few years, delivered without meaningful staff consultation/inclusion, means the OU went from being a happy, positive and supportive working environment to one in which most people are either job hunting or hanging on to retirement/redundancy. There is little trust in the senior management (the academic union passed a vote of no confidence in the VC) and people feel insecure and undervalued. Student numbers are nose-diving.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Headless chickens

      4 Jan 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Milton Keynes, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      relaxed environment, autonomy in the role, Holidays and pension great ethical social cause that you can really get behind

      Cons

      Senior management like headless chickens too much silo working but those at the top in individual units not willing to change despite the current restructuring project bullying by particular senior individuals Been here for over 10 years and had enough and want out now Systems are terrible

      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Troubling times

      4 Jun 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generally lovely people, feeling of working for an employer who can make a difference for people.

      Cons

      Lack of communication, senior management making sweeping changes without consulting the people who actually do the jobs. Uncertainty of future of locational offices, jobs etc.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Open University Job Seekers

    Associate Lecturer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Associate Lecturer Services Assistant
    Learn About the Job

    Work at The Open University? Share Your Experiences

    The Open University logo
    or