The Open University Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Jan 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 395 reviews

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
The Open University Vice-Chancellor Tim Blackman (no image)
Tim Blackman
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Relaxed work culture and excellent work-life balance(in 16 reviews)

  • "Very friendly and relaxed working environment(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management are very political(in 13 reviews)

  • "Career progression not always open and fair(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    1y

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,871

    959 Comments

    Teachers

    129.7K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=The Open University~37653
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "senior management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Brilliant company to work for

      Mar 11, 2020 -  in Milton Keynes, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very supportive and excellent training. If you show motivation and drive they will support you and encourage you to grow. Direct managers work closely as do senior - everyone is present in the office so great for networking. Being a large organisation there are opportunities everywhere - I stated in student recruitment with no goals - they have helped shape a career and in just over 3 years have moved up 3 grades! Brilliant holidays (45 day I think), and great office attitude (no blame only train!), they hold lots of office events like BBQs , bake sales, PIZZA, even trip abroad! I love working here so much I bought a house up here! Also AMAZING pension contribution at 19% ! I could go on!

      Cons

      Whilst we have excellent gender equality with many women in senior management roles, this goes down once you get to more senior roles The east campus canteen (run by an external company) is hilariously frustrating! If you want to buy something expect to wait about 5 minutes whilst the staff unpack milk and have a catch up in the kitchen!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Not a place to stay

      Jan 14, 2021 - New Student Advisor in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Met some lovely trainees and the training officer was lovely

      Cons

      Manager they put me under was a nightmare wanted us to work the way that she did and even rearranged our desktops to suit her. Went for an internal interview and she wanted to know all the questions that we had been asked and attempted to get me to show the questions to her but I didn't have them. Didn't particularly like me or others and lied to senior management with regards our work and stated that senior managers had made decisions regarding the things that we needed to do but when I asked one of the senior managers it was made clear that It was the managers decisions not theirs.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Good but poor leadership

      Oct 7, 2020 - Head of Infrastructure in Milton Keynes, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Close to home for me

      Cons

      Senior management are very political

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Poor Senior Management

      Jun 13, 2019 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff support, holiday entitlement

      Cons

      Poor senior management, overspending, no accountability

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Senior Project Manager

      Apr 26, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working for a high profile university with good social ethics. Free OU courses and qualifications for staff. Good campus facilities. Friendly people.

      Cons

      Demotivated workforce due to constant and seemingly inefficient change. Senior management disconnected from main body of staff.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      An fabulous institution having a few hiccups

      Apr 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Milton Keynes, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      social mission, students, people, materials,

      Cons

      Senior Management Team and Vice Chancellor

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Changes at the Open University

      Jan 9, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Enjoyable team working, excellent support from line managers

      Cons

      Disconnected senior management, lack of communication over big changes in OU

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Headless chickens

      Jan 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Milton Keynes, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      relaxed environment, autonomy in the role, Holidays and pension great ethical social cause that you can really get behind

      Cons

      Senior management like headless chickens too much silo working but those at the top in individual units not willing to change despite the current restructuring project bullying by particular senior individuals Been here for over 10 years and had enough and want out now Systems are terrible

      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Losing its way

      Sep 8, 2017 - Academic in Milton Keynes, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Potential to keep alive its original core mission for social mobility and justice

      Cons

      Senior management fail to embrace the mission or to understand the complexity and special features of how we operate, and make decisions that are flawed, sometimes fatally. There is a lack of a culture of incubating good ideas that arise from the practice of OU teaching and research.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee

      OU Ruined by Poor Senior Management

      Aug 10, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great students to work with. Lot of flexibility in how you allocate time to supporting students.

      Cons

      Disorganised constant quest for change. Clueless senior management have ruined a once great institution. Poor reward for a lot of work. Rely too much on goodwill of employees without any corresponding respect from senior management.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Open University Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at The Open University? Share Your Experiences

    or