The Range "staff discount" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Range Employee Reviews about "staff discount"

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 200 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
28%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
The Range CEO Chris Dawson
Chris Dawson
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team of staff, Good training, 25% staff discount, 5 weeks paid holiday(in 11 reviews)

  • "Good staff discount policy and plenty of opportunities for progression or transfer(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "This means they often paid you below minimum wage(in 15 reviews)

  • "Long hours, poor pay, bad management(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Retail Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in East Kilbride, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Range part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team of staff, Good training, 25% staff discount, 5 weeks paid holiday.

    Cons

    Management do not communicate with one another. Not enough flexibility with working hours.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more with management. More flexibility with shifts.

    The Range2019-05-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Don't bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Rhyl, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Range part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wage OK staff discount OK staff ok

    Cons

    The first day we started had two weeks to stock the shelves due to new store after the first 3 days of my employment I got called to the office to get my week's notice verbally they said that they will present me with a written notice but still waiting the notice finished the day before it opened I was working my bum off getting everything sorted for open day pricing etc and was told by them that I was not pulling my...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop using people to do your dog work it's not fair

    The Range2018-04-02
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Surrey Quays Store is not a place you want to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Range full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a staff discount (on certain items). I can't think of any other pros.

    Cons

    The environment is very toxic, management do not know how to manage. They encourage demeaning and bullying behavior from certain members of staff by not doing anything to stop it and also playing Chinese whispers when you do approach them with a problem. Management often walk around the store speaking and arguing in their language, in front of staff and customers. Supervisors have a hard time doing their job...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff more. Get more training. More compassionate towards staff and get to know them more, this will help with the respect they give to management . A simple hello in the morning to the staff that are slaving away to make you look good on store visits is not going to kill you. Manners costs nothing.

    The Range2017-11-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great if you have no choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Range part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get good breaks and good staff discount.

    Cons

    poor management minimum wage Repetitive work Ridiculous rules - no making friends with other staff, no taking breaks with other staff (different departments too), no talking during working hours unless its about work, girls must wear ballet pumps - boys can wear whatever they want, girls "encouraged" to wear skirts)

    Advice to Management

    Speak to each other

    The Range2017-10-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Queensferry, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Range full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    25% staff discount off most items. Or just walk out with it if you're a manager.

    Cons

    Minimum wage, hours not guaranteed, constantly asked to changed rota at last minute, no additional pay for late night working. Ridiculous workload as run on skeleton staff.

    Advice to Management

    Managers to spend more time on the shop floor to understand workload pressures. Pointless reports and bulletins just waste time. Pay a decent hourly rate and staff might just stay.

    The Range2017-08-20
  6. "Retail Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Gloucester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Range part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly members of Staff Flexible Adequate breaks Discount for staff

    Cons

    They think you can do a three man job on your own Will change your rota at short notice and they think they can do it on that day or when you arrive back to work from your day off. Wages

    Advice to Management

    The Range should give their staff members better pay.

    The Range2017-02-08
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Okay for temporary role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Christmas Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Range

    Pros

    Flexible adequate breaks discount for staff

    Cons

    No training given Was given no uniform for the entire time I worked there (the manager never got around to it) There was alot of 'politics' that I didn't like, you would always witness it. The manager talking about the supervisor to the staff and then the supervisor doing the same and there was just a lot of division and not a lot of leadership

    The Range2016-08-17
  8. "The Range"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Range full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good staff discount policy and plenty of opportunities for progression or transfer. Growing company with good job security and prospects.

    Cons

    Low rates of pay - the management salaries which were low to begin have not increased in line with national living wage . The gap between pay rates is now very small. Very little training offered.

    Advice to Management

    Increase management salaries to attract better people to the business particularly in some areas of the country. Provide more structured, robust training packages.

    The Range2016-06-16
  9. "Poor manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Worker in Gateshead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at The Range

    Pros

    Good comradeship among minimum wage staff, good staff discount on limited items, good breaks if you can get them

    Cons

    management team, ruled by store manager who oversees every detail, no structure for staff welfare, bullying by manager

    The Range2016-07-16
  10. "Hard work but best job I've ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Adviser in Rotherham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Range part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff are really friendly and lots of nights out to keep morale high. Staff discount on most stock. Very busy but makes the day go quick if you prepared to work hard.

    Cons

    Basic wage, hard work, sometimes very understaffed so need to master most departments and be able to jump on to a till to serve when needed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep morale high with regular boosts in briefing to tell the team how well they are doing etc.

    The Range2015-11-13
Found 200 reviews