The Toro Company Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Toro Company Reviews

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 137 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
The Toro Company CEO Richard M. Olson
Richard M. Olson
25 Ratings
  1. "Very good place to learn."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Toro Company

    Pros

    They take care of their employees no matter hourly or salaried.

    Cons

    nothing as such. I enjoyed my experience there

    Continue reading
    The Toro Company2017-04-28
  2. "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Toro Company full-time

    Pros

    It was great i loves it o my gosh so great learn about lawn care and you know stuff like that its just so great you know bc grass

    Cons

    well you know sometimes you get tired of doing the same things on the same machines but thats only after a long time

    Continue reading
    The Toro Company2017-04-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sr. Engineering IT Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Toro Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is above national average.

    Cons

    Management can have a tendency to micromanage

    Continue reading
    The Toro Company2017-04-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company & people that care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Toro Company full-time

    Pros

    Very stable company and a positive work environment. A lot of good things coming in the pipeline for customers and employees. The amount of people that have worked at Toro for over 30 years is quite impressive and after working here a few years I can see why that is. Many of our leaders are included in that, such as the CEO. The leaders care about employees' careers and lives, and employees generally care about the products the company produces.

    Cons

    Being an older company there can be some things that become "The Toro way" of doing things and seem hard to change. This seems to be changing though and continuous improvement and calculated risk appear to be a strategy now.

    Continue reading
    The Toro Company2017-03-21
  5. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Toro Company

    Pros

    It's like a big family. You all get along, have some laughs. But there's the one sibling who is a pain.

    Cons

    Some of the challenges are trying to get some of the management to listen to the people that are on the floor. The ones who know what is actually going on. The ones who know what needs to happen to solve issues.

    Continue reading
    The Toro Company2017-03-21
  6. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Welder in Beatrice, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Toro Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits. Some people do care about each other and what they do. Could be better. Heard the tuition assistance is good. May go back to school on their dime.

    Cons

    LEAN is NOT the answer. Common sense and manufacturing expertise are what is valued. CONSTANT failures means not working. Try something else!

    Continue reading
    The Toro Company2017-03-13
  7. "If you don't have teeth, you'll fit right in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Toro Company

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. If you don't work 1st shift, its less chaotic. Best time of the day is after 4pm!

    Cons

    Lots of buck passing when problems arise. Lots of micro managing. They have this "LEAN" bullcrap. It may be good, but they will NEVER have more than 1 of anything that is high failure. They want effectivesness, like most jobs, but this place operates as if it just started building mowers last year. They are very unorganized. The support for 2nd & 3rd shifts for repairs or engineering is a joke, meaning, there is 1 MAYBE 2 people on these shifts. The place is huuuge and the equipment is even crappier.

    Continue reading
    The Toro Company2017-03-08
  8. "Web Content Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Toro Company full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, relaxed environment, good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Slow moving environment, very specialized roles, not much upward movement available

    Continue reading
    The Toro Company2017-02-16
  9. "Decent place of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Filler 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Toro Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Working in the warehouse doing orders is a lot of independent work, good competitive wages, mandatory 9 or 10 hour shifts in the summer. Walked about 6 miles a day in the warehouse almost daily and there is some lifting. Monday through Friday work hours.

    Cons

    The employees can be a bit clique-y. The environment is like your typical warehouse so there is dust and dirt which is to be expected.

    Continue reading
    The Toro Company2017-01-16
  10. "I love working here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Toro Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees at all levels of the organization work hard to operate in alignment with our culture and values. They treat their employees with the utmost respect and my manager does a great job of including me in conversations that I can benefit from.

    Cons

    There is opportunity to enhance the way we use our social media outlets to share the Toro experience publicly!

    Continue reading
    The Toro Company2016-12-30
Found 137 reviews