The Travel Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Travel Corporation Reviews

Updated 29 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
The Travel Corporation CEO Brett Tollman
Brett Tollman
111 Ratings
Pros
  • "TTC is a very welcoming company, with the majority of people who are employed here friendly and always willing to help each other(in 20 reviews)

  • "Work/Life Balance, Great management team(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "High Pressure/Low Pay To Make A Sale(in 10 reviews)

  • "Something that really never sat well with me after I started working at TTC was it's approach to supporting women in the workplace(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - People & Culture Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Travel Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    TTC is a very welcoming company, with the majority of people who are employed here friendly and always willing to help each other. The recent office refurbishments have made a big difference and given the office a brand new feel. This is a family orientated business and we regularly recieve updates from CEO updating us on all business aspects. There is a huge focus Corporate Social Responsibility, with constant reminders on how we can have a positive impact on the world. This makes me as an individual think twice and respect the environment more both in our professional and personal lives as much as we can.

    Cons

    Pension contribution could be improved.

    The Travel Corporation2019-08-22

    The Travel Corporation Response

    September 5, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback on your experience so far with The Travel Corporation! The family culture within our company is definitely a factor that is valued and driven by our CEO. This is also demonstrated by the care and investment in our recent office refurbishment which has and continues to enhance our employee experience. Our CEO puts great effort and focus on our CSR, not only raising employee and guest awareness on issues like single-use-plastic and eradicating it from our offices and guest experiences, but also demonstrated by the numerous projects delivered by our TreadRight Foundation. Thank you once again and I wish you a successful future with us! Iva Simoes Head of People & Culture

    Continue reading
  2. "good to get experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Travel Corporation full-time

    Pros

    good location and nice colleagues

    Cons

    low salary and strict rules

    The Travel Corporation2020-03-14
  3. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior QA in London, England

    I have been working at The Travel Corporation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Non-toxic culture, employees tend to stay long.

    Cons

    no recognition, not many benefits.

    The Travel Corporation2020-02-20
  4. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Travel Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team environment, and good ideas Good perks and team environment

    Cons

    Slow growth Old ways to do the jobs

    Continue reading
    The Travel Corporation2019-10-29

    The Travel Corporation Response

    November 18, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your valuable experience with us. It's brilliant to hear that you value the team environment, collaboration and benefits.Due to our set up and managing of multi brands we do have some tried and tested processes. Although in our efforts for continuous improvement we have taken the team%E2%80%99s feedback onboard and we currently are looking at areas we can evolve and have more energised efficiencies.If you wish to discuss further, please do reach out to your manager our People & Culture team.Thank you,Iva Simoes %E2%80%93 Head of People & Culture

    Continue reading
  5. "Nice people - too much nepotism."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Administrative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Travel Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the staff are genuinely lovely - can be exciting during peak season. London office refurb much better now than before.

    Cons

    Company has LOTS of brands (almost too many) but short staffed and somewhat chaotic / outdated processes - don't pay enough for very long hours and weekend work during peak season. Needs modern approach and new eyes / fresh meat - feels slightly stagnant yet so busy there's little time to properly implement any change. Senior staff completely pander to CEO - seems to be an air of fear = lot of time spent focusing on wrong things / politics.

    Continue reading
    The Travel Corporation2019-08-29

    The Travel Corporation Response

    September 5, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback on your experience with The Travel Corporation in London. Our teams really are our greatest asset and we certainly have amazing people that drive our family culture feel, which is driven by our CEO. I'm glad you appreciated the London office refurbishment. This has been a huge worthwhile investment made by the Tollman family to provide a greater environment for our teams. We do have many brands, but as you will know, each of them have their purpose and target markets and no brand is the same. We do have busier times during our peak season, but we also ensure our teams are supported. New eyes can bring benefits and we certainly have that within our business but also nurture a culture of career progression and talent retention. There are areas that we need to develop and agree that continuous management training and development is the way forward. If you would like to share more detailed information with us please don't hesitate to get in touch with the People & Culture team. Wishing you all the best, Iva Simoes Head of People & Culture

    Continue reading
  6. "Fantastic Workplace Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Travel Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Salary - Benefits - Work/Life balance - Private Ownership

    Cons

    No cons to report on

    The Travel Corporation2019-08-07

    The Travel Corporation Response

    August 22, 2019

    Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We’re pleased that you appreciate the fact we are a privately owned, family run business, which reflects our family culture and collaborative teams. Although you report no cons to working at The Travel Corporation, you will know that we are always striving for continuous improvement so if there is anything you would like to share in more detail in what we do well or any areas of improvement, please do not hesitate to get in touch with your People & Culture team. Wishing you all the very best in your career with us! Iva Simoes, Head of People & Culture

    Continue reading
  7. "Caring but chaotic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Travel Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly family run company, who genuinely care for their staff.

    Cons

    IT department needed a serious overhaul at the time I left as it was very poorly managed and funded.

    Continue reading
    The Travel Corporation2019-07-21

    The Travel Corporation Response

    August 26, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you feel you had a bad experience, as a company we continue to make changes and investments in the right areas to meet the requirements for our guests and travel agent partners. Since you left we have invested to improve our offices at Grosvenor Place. We now have a fantastic kitchen, large enough for colleagues to socialise. We also have additional meeting rooms and breakout areas for teams to work together. Our tech stack modernisation is well underway and we continue to invest in new technologies and tools. Feel free to get in touch should you wish to discuss anything further. Best regards, Gunjan Verma, CTO

    Continue reading
  8. "Senior Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Travel Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Family owned collaborative management who cultivate talent

    Cons

    Not for someone who doesn’t want to use initiative or wants an easy ride

    The Travel Corporation2019-04-26

    The Travel Corporation Response

    April 30, 2019People & Culture Manager

    Thank you for your feedback on your current experience at The Travel Corporation as a Senior Executive. We strive to create a collaborative environment that cultivates talent at all levels of the business, so it is great to hear that you have experienced this firsthand. If you have any further comments, feel free to reach out directly to your People & Culture team, and thanks again for taking the time to share your experience! Sincerely, Jacob Counts People & Culture Manager TTC USA

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Could be so much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Travel Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hard to find any pros to list.

    Cons

    Lack of progression Low salaries, unless you are senior management Managers who can't or don't know how to manage staff Blame culture / Pass the buck culture

    Continue reading
    The Travel Corporation2019-02-15

    The Travel Corporation Response

    February 19, 2019People & Culture Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your current experience at The Travel Corporation. We are sorry to hear that you do not see room for progression, and that you have a concern with your manager. We always aim to, and prefer to hire and promote from within the organization, and want to ensure that you are aware of the opportunities in 2019 to do so. Some of these opportunities include leadership training days, department mixers, soft skills building, and more. All training and development opportunities are posted internally, and can also be found by reaching out to your People & Culture department. These opportunities will give you the skills and network to progress your career with The Travel Corporation. Additionally, all open positions are posted internally to give our team the chance to apply before external candidates. We truly value your feedback and would love to hear more about your specific experience. Please feel free to reach out to your People & Culture department, as we want to ensure you have the right tools and that we can address any concerns you have. Thank you again for the feedback, Your USA People & Culture Team

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Travel Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In some departments things work very well, it all depends on the management. The new offices are nice.

    Cons

    Low pay, no real opportunities to grow, bullying culture by management. People are allowed to insult and make offensive comments and even after being reported to HR several times, they will be promoted as they're friends of the managers. No clear organisation, no pay for extra hours. No real travel perks or benefits for such a big company.

    The Travel Corporation2019-01-03

    The Travel Corporation Response

    January 15, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to hear that you appreciated the new offices and the efficiency of some of our departments. Any concerns or grievances raised to HR are treated seriously and followed up on to ensure a culture of wellbeing and fairness within our teams. A bullying culture is not tolerated within TTC, so I'm sorry to read of your experience. We are currently working on bringing our benefits to life and create awareness of what is available to employees. We have some great perks including up to 100% travel discounts with our TTC brands, a social event per month, private medical health insurance paid for by the company, amongst many others. Being part of a global family owned business, there are numerous opportunities to grow and develop in a career with TTC and this is, where needed and relevant, supported with sponsorship by the company for work related courses which may aid in an employee's career development. Thank you once again for your feedback, we truly appreciate it and take it on board. Wishing you all the best for the future. Iva Simoes, Head of People & Culture

    Continue reading
Found 196 reviews